We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family run hotel on rhine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rheinfels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rheinfels
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sankt Goar
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family run hotel on rhine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Although this may only be rated as a 3 star hotel, we found it to be very clean and comfortable,in a perfect location. The owners are very warm and helpful.I needed a doctor whilst staying there and was escorted to the clinic, by the owner , and his daughter on rollablades, They kindly took me to reception and explained what I needed. I agree with other reviews, the breakfast was excellent, the whole atmosphere warm and friendly. I would definitely recommend this to anyone

Room Tip: We had only booked a room at the back but upgraded to a room overlooking the river and ferry termina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linrob00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    73
    23
    0
    4
See reviews for
44
107
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

For us this is the best type of hotel where not only do you get a great breakfast with hot food (no toaster though) but the WIFI works and it has a fantastic view - all at such a great price.

We were only there for one night so not really much else to say apart from ask for a riverside room - Sankt Goar is gorgeous!

FOOD TIP: Those of you that need to eat something other than German food, there's a good-enough little Asian (Chinese/Thai/Viet mix) restaurant. Just walk down Heerstrasse and you'll see the sign for it. It was just so refreshing to have stir fried vegetables!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a riverfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank safiaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent service, good breakfast. The rooms were clean and the hotel owner was very responsive to any questions or room issues. Would certainly stay here again.
The town of Sankt Goar is well positioned for exploring the area. The river ferry lands just about 50 meters from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HVTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel worked out great for our family. We got a "family room" which actually had a sort of side room with a twin bed for our 11 year old, while we had a roomy space with queen bed. Our room had a balcony, which was so worth the extra money. That was really the best part of this hotel - its location right on the Rhine. It was also a very close walk to the train station, which was important to us as we were traveling by train, including day excursions to nearby places up and town the Rhine. Our teenage boys had a room with two twin beds, no view (why waste our money when they consider a "nice view" to be a clear line of site between the bed and the tv) and it was clean and had a bathroom and wireless so they were happy, too. Omi had a single down the hall, beautiful view, no balcony, but big windows and she loved it.
Be prepared for some stair climbing, and if this is a problem make sure the owner knows when you book the room so you don't end up on the third floor.
This hotel has free wireless - a rarity in Europe. YEAH!
You can catch the boat (for exploring up and down the river) right across from the hotel, which means you can sip your drink on the hotel porch right up till you have to hop across the road and get on. Couldn't be easier. To explore by train with a family get the day pass ticket from the machine at the station. Otherwise you pay each trip individually. Takes a while to figure out the machine, so give yourself a little extra time before the train comes. There is not a ticket counter to help you out- its just you, the machine, and either a load of coins or a credit card that works in European machines (if you don't know what "the chip"is - and we didn't - find out if your card has one before going. If it doesn't, you will have trouble at ticket machines).
I was concerned it would be noisy - not at all. Saint. Goar is very quiet at night.
Full breakfast was excellent - you can really fill up on lots of great food - in a pretty dining room.
We really liked this hotel and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Balcony, or at least a Rhine view, so worth the extra money. Best "family room" we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErieMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
215 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rheinfels for 3 nights. First - The location is GREAT - just 2 minutes from the train station (virtually around the corner), which was a relief from dragging luggage. Also the K-D cruise ships for Rhein River Cruises is directly across the street. Many eating places nearby. We also walked to the castle.
Since this was our home base for the Rhein area portion of our trip, we were easily able to catch the train to other Rhein villages (Bingen,Rudesheim, Bacharrach etc.) and also day trip to Mosel River villages (Cochem, Burg Eltz castle, Beilstein etc.). The owner was very hospitable. He even let me borrow a transformer, after I had misplaced mine and gave us a daily weather update. The highlight of our trip was the balcony room. We sat out there in the mornings for cofee/tea and in the evenings after returning from sight-seeing. It was well woth the extra expense, my wife loved it. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctm7944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Firstly, there are more pluses with this hotel than issues, but a few to sort out. Firstly, the location was perhaps the best of our entire vacation. We had a room with a balcony that looked over the Rhein and directly at the the Burg Castle across the river. Our room was large by American standards and simply spotless in every way. We also enjoyed a great breakfast. However, we were struck by the lack of having someone behind the desk. We arrived early afternoon and the desk was literally manned by a small boy who spoke little English. Thankfully my german was basic enough for a conversation, but he ended up getting a parent eventually. We also came back from dinner (early evening) and realized we had left one of our keys (we had three rooms since traveling as a family) and there was no one at the desk. I went through some doors and called out and finally someone came. I do realize this is a family run hotel, but it was unnerving having no one at the desk that could help and it didn't came across as professional. Note: if you are trying to decide between staying in St. Goar or Bacharach I would say hat St. Goar has the best views of the Rhein from the hotel, but Bacharach has quainter shops and restaurants. Shopping was quite limited in St. Goar, but visting the castle, taking a short Rhein cruise, and the views were simply wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBCFan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We highly recommend this excellent family run hotel - the riverfront room with balcony was huge, with views of the Rhine River left and right, views of Burg Katz, and the fairytale setting of the Rhineland in the background. The river cruise stop is directly out the front. The breakfast room has huge windows overlooking the Rhine, and the breakfast was German style. The rooms are spotlessly clean as is the whole hotel. Located only meters from St Goar train station, but the trains cannot be heard, only the sounds of the river meandering by. Many lovely restaurants / cafes very close by.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sankt Goar
0.0 mi away
Rheinhotel St. Goar
Rheinhotel St. Goar
#1 of 14 in Sankt Goar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schloss Rheinfels
1.8 mi away
Weinhotel Landsknecht
Weinhotel Landsknecht
#5 of 14 in Sankt Goar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Loreleyblick
Hotel Loreleyblick
#9 of 14 in Sankt Goar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof
0.2 mi away
Pohl's Rheinhotel Adler
Pohl's Rheinhotel Adler
#2 of 2 in Sankt Goarshausen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rheinfels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rheinfels

Property: Hotel Rheinfels
Address: Heerstr. 69, 56329 Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Sankt Goar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sankt Goar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rheinfels 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rheinfels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rheinfels Hotel Sankt Goar
Hotel Rheinfels Germany/Sankt Goar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing