We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel as a base camp!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Garni Guenther
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Boppard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the hotel and it was a perfect central location for exploring the area! The train/bus station is an easy 5 minute walk away, which was very handy. Our room had no frills but was comfortable and we really enjoyed having a balcony overlooking the river. We enjoyed a few evening glasses of wine out there! Having breakfast included at the hotel was great for us so we could fill up before exploring for the day. They had a selection of yogurts, breads, meats, cheeses, plus many things to spread on the bread and we always got a hard boiled egg also. Just enough to get us going in the morning! There is no elevator (that we knew of) but the stairs were no problem and we were only on the 2nd floor. The family who runs the hotel is so friendly and helpful, and had some great suggestions of places to eat! We would definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to visit the area in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaels017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Garni Guenther
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 155 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed in the Guest House, which is actually at the back of the main hotel facing onto a quiet lane. It is a short walk from the rail station and in the centre of town. There is no elevator.
The room was a very good size and there was even a sitting room. Furnishings were sparse otherwise this could be called a suite. The bathroom was well equipped although without the customary collection of toiletries.
Wi-Fi was too poor to use in the Guest House so it is necessary to log into the hotel proper in reception.
Breakfast is served in the hotel proper. Choice is adequate for a few days but would become boring.
Staff are very friendly and helpful with the added bonus of being English speaking.
Overall, a very good and economical alternative to those who don't require the river view or better furnishings of the main hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dieppois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stopped by the hotel on the advice of a family member that lives in Boppard.
What a very pleasant surprise. We were met with a hearty hello and welcome by Scott, the owner. He speaks German and English, both without an accent!
Scott took us to a room on the second floor that overlooked the street, pathway and the Rhein. The room was good sized, clean as a pin and had a balcony for people watching and Rhein viewing.

The breakfast was typical faire for the locale. Two blocks to the south are plazas and streets closed to autos that have many flavors to match your dining tastes. Two I highly recommend are Tony's for Italian food and Hahn's for authentic German food for a brunch or lunch. Their potato pancakes are terrific. The staff, Hahn and his family are tops.

The Garni Gunther met all of our needs and frankly was the nicest place we stayed in during our month long trip to Central Europe. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: For me the Rhein view is tops, there are rooms in the annex that are quieter if you are a light slee...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank affalken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We were travelling with my elderly parents and booked 2 medium rooms with balconies overlooking the Rhine.The rooms were extremely well furnished and spotlessly clean, the beds were very comfortable and adjustable. The continental breakfast is very good with plenty of choice. The owners and all of their staff are extremely welcoming and friendly and Scott is more than willing to help with any query you may have. The location is excellent, very handy for the Market Place, Train Station and landing stages for the various boat companies. We absolutely loved sitting on our balcony and watching the boats, barges, trains, cars and people go by. It also proved to be a great vantage point to watch the fireworks during the Wine Festival. This a small family run hotel ideally situated for exploring Boppard and the Middle Rhine.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne_M333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Boppard and along the Rhine, and we owe most of our gratitude to Scott, the wonderful manager/host of Hotel Garni Gunther. He spoke excellent English, and was kind and thoughtful regarding any questions or sightseeing advice we had. The location of the hotel is lovely, and it overlooks the Rhine. Fantastic hotel, wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the Rhine.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Unfortunately we arrived on a Monday for 3 nights only to find that the town only livens up on a Thursday so it was really, really quiet. However, the hotel is easy to find with the location being “spot on” ideal for the train station, landing stations for the river cruises with car parking at the front.....We had a Rheine view room which was spacious and had a balcony which was handy for watching the comings and goings along the river and on the road below. The only problem I had was the bed which I found to be uncomfortable. However, the breakfast was good especially the “boiled egg” and the owners were extremely pleasant!!
The scenery was magnificent the wine and the sauerkraut to die for ...... It was just a shame that it was so quite at night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexdyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I arrived late, very late to be honest, and I was received by a very bright eyed happy lady, who could not have done more for me. The room I was offered was in the annex with a view of the road, but that did not matter as all I wanted was to sleep. Sleeping I did and the bed was comfortable and warm- the room was spacious and very clean. The staff in the morning was friendly too, and the breakfast room was inviting and clean. Shame about the limited choice and the poor amount of butter offered, which did not even cover half a bread roll. I would have given 5 stars otherwise.

Room Tip: A room with river view would be ok for the Tourists who read this, but the annex will do as well sin...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redsilence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boppard hotels
0.0 mi away
Bellevue Rheinhotel
Bellevue Rheinhotel
#2 of 19 in Boppard
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rheinhotel Lilie
Rheinhotel Lilie
#3 of 19 in Boppard
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gasthaus Rheinlust
Hotel Gasthaus Rheinlust
#11 of 19 in Boppard
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ebertor
Hotel Ebertor
#7 of 19 in Boppard
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baudobriga Rheinhotel
Baudobriga Rheinhotel
#9 of 19 in Boppard
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boppard Hotel Ohm Patt
Boppard Hotel Ohm Patt
#4 of 19 in Boppard
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Guenther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Guenther

Address: Rheinallee 40, 56154 Boppard, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Boppard
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Boppard
Price Range: $81 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Guenther 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Garni Guenther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Gunther Hotel
Garni Gunther Boppard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing