We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abismal”
Review of Hotel L'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel L'Europe
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Boppard
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I went on a school trip with my year and as we got to the hotel it seemed nice but as i got to my room i went for a shower and the shower head fell on me knocking me out cold for a few senconds and i found my self laying in a pool of dirty sewage water. I also got acused of breaking a screw on light bulb because i touched it and it fell off and smashed. The owner stared at me awkwardly when this happened she hurt my eyes! The food was terrible and i dont fancy having hairs in my soup every day for breakfast. Id rather eat the clay of the tennis court next to it. When we were on the boat we all had bananas that we chucked off the boat whilst the teacher wasnt looking. The beds were like sleeping on rocks i felt like fred flinstone.Mine was a metal one which squeaked whenever I moved I was forced to sleep on the beetle infested floor!

Room Tip: Dont go, or good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 109 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed here in July 2013 with school for a week. It was alright, but the staff seemed a little 'pissed off' with a school being here. There was only about 40 of us and 7 teachers. The food was horrible. Every day we would always nag are teatchers to get us out so we could buy pizzas, ice creams etc. in the local village. The rooms were not nice. (I would never stay there with my family!) but I think they were fine for schools like us to stay in as it was not like we were going to some fancy 5* place! Apart from the food, staff and terrible decor the rooms had very nice views if you were in the back of he hotle but the front had a REALLY loud train go past every so often! But luckily at the back and it was really nice.

The tv dident work :( and we weren't aloud to open the widows and it got really hot, there was no air cons etc but as I said, it wasn't 5*!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel as it has the nicest views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonesRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel does not make the best of itself it's position is outstanding, as usual in Germany very clean, The breakfast was good and plentiful. The rooms let them hotel down the fixtures and fittings were broken and old in the bathroom. The bedroom furniture was old and worn, the decor austere and dated. The bed was excellent. A little spent on the rooms would transform the place

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickTGargrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice and it never stops to amaze me the staff are excellent and the rooms are clean and the food I had was very good even as I was with a school group the drinks are cheap I can't wait to go again as I loved the view right on the rhine the only downside to it is the train track is just across the road

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I went to this hotel on a school trip and was looking forward to it a lot. However, there were a number of problems. Firstly, we had no light in the bathroom and after waiting three days we were able to shower and use the bathroom while able to see. Once we could see we saw that the bathroom was dirty and that there was a layer of dead bugs on all the shelves. A day later, our room was infested with bugs and we had to move. The food was terrible and it seemed like they were just feeding us what they found at the bottom of the fridge. We had bread rolls for breakfast lunch and dinner for seven days and there was often not enough to go around. Honestly, I saw few good things in this hotel but had an amazing time in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tsobunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is absolutely fine. No, it's not the height of luxury but I'm not sure what some people were expecting. It's perfectly set up for school groups - the dining area is buffet style and just what students are used to in their school canteens - they collect their food and clear up after themselves. There was always a salad option and a couple of main course options each time, all perfectly acceptable. The staff were efficient and friendly, coping admirably with the swarms of British school children.

Can't say I noticed anything wrong with the toilet paper and we had no problem with flies even though it was very hot. There were shutters on the doors to the balconies which seemed to keep the bugs out. Don't let some of the other reviews on Trip Advisor put you off if you're on a school trip - we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

From the outside the hotel looks like a wonderful escape to paradise, with the river gleaming in the background and the lovely flower pots situated across the land. However, looks are deceiving. This hotel is Rubbish! After entering the main "hotel", you get the lovely aroma of Wee and cigarettes. After Being glared at by two freaky old german twins, we had to go up a stairs which were a perilous fire hazard. Our room was minusule and obviously was meant fot 2 people, but they added two extra "beds" in. The beds, if you can call them that, were just a mattress on the floor with what looks like curtains as duvets. The hotel is populated with fake flowers, dust and a horrible aroma, proberly coming from the food. The food was dog meat infested with hair and fat, lacking any nutritional values. Nobody wanted to eat. However, we were forced to due to a stern man checking our plates. While we were away, the hotel broke into our rooms and "cleaned up" by throwing our belongings under the bed. Dont get me wrong boppard is lovely, the hotel however was a different matter. BEWARE OF THE TWINS!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shaniqua b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boppard hotels
0.8 mi away
Bellevue Rheinhotel
Bellevue Rheinhotel
#2 of 19 in Boppard
608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gasthaus Rheinlust
Hotel Gasthaus Rheinlust
#11 of 19 in Boppard
209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rheinhotel Lilie
Rheinhotel Lilie
#3 of 19 in Boppard
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Boppard Hotel Ohm Patt
Boppard Hotel Ohm Patt
#4 of 19 in Boppard
152 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Hotel Bad Salzig
Park Hotel Bad Salzig
#6 of 19 in Boppard
97 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jakobsberg Hotel- & Golfresort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Europe

Address: Mainzer Str. 4, 56154 Boppard, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Boppard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Boppard
Price Range: $60 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'Europe 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel L'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing