We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for school parties”
Review of Hotel L'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel L'Europe
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Boppard
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Excellent location in which to explore this beautiful area. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are excellent. The toilet roll was poor but take your own - no big deal!! The food was very good. The downstairs room where we had a disco and bingo was an excellent facility. The lady of the hotel is very strict and a bit unrealistic of what teenage childern are wanting to do, but maybe it is because we are to liberal? The overall price of this trip gave good value. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank malpasnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 109 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

We took just over forty 11 and 12 year olds here for four nights. I read the reviews and took toilet rolls which I was glad I did. I must admit though the rooms were clean with towels, hot clean showers and hot radiators when you turned them on.
The food was salty but we had fresh mashed potato and also homemade soup on 3 of the four nights. The chicken was really nice and moist and being a former chef I could't complain. I did find it strange to have rice with every meal as well as chips, mash and pasta. Fresh salad was also available each night. We also has gammon one night which had no fat on at all and was very tasty.
Now for my moan. Greta the owner, whilst advertising for school parties was not accommodating at all to the staff and when we arrived I was given a big list of rules for the hotel. On our last night we had prize giving and a talent show the pupils were so well behaved and we we disappointed when Greta came in and moaned that we were all up too late and could we be quiet. I think we had amazing children who behaved impeccably and they didn't deserve to be treated by this lady who obviously preferred middle aged German visitors to us.
After we got the children in bed and quiet, there was nowhere we could all go together to have a chat about the plans for the next day. The restaurant was shut, the bar shut apart from a German party one night, so we ended going to one of our rooms and bringing in chairs so we could all sit down together.
Boppard is a beautiful town to visit and the Rhineland is a must to explore especially Fantasialand. Turners coach company at Chumleigh looked after us wonderfully and our driver Jay was great with the kisand joined in with us which the kids thought was great fun. Greta must however either not advertise for school parties or if she does she needs to make herself more accommodating to them

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Golbalfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My Daughter recently returned from this so called Hotel, she stayed there for five days and four nights whilst on a school trip.
She had to endure a small room with four other students, they were not allowed to open the windows or use the balcony meaning the room was very stuffy.
The toilet rolls provided are like using old newsprint!
No Towels provided
Mouldy carpet on the floor in the shower
Food is of a terrible standard
instant mash with nutmeg and lashings of salt
Soup with lashings of salt
all meat was dry and overcooked
same yellow rice every mealtime
breakfast choice of cornflakes or bread rolls everyday
Very Rude staff in the dining room who take no notice when saying you dont want something put on your plate, they just slop it all on and shout at you in their own mother tongue.

All this for £460 what a bargain .........
Even if the hotel charged £200 per person, my daughters room would have generated £1000 for 4 days which is what you would expect to pay in a 4-5 star Hotel in a Alpine resort or large city not a outdated grubby little hotel in a small town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bernerlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

School visit. We were there last year as well and wrote a long positive review. We would just like to say that we were once again very pleased with the highly organised staff and the rooms. The food is excellent for school groups - very worthwhile going and finding out what the system is before taking your group in so that it runs smoothly. One think that I didnt mention last year is to teach the students how to use the windows so that they dont have them fully open (needs to be on the risk assessment really as it's a potential hazard if they have them fully open and lean out). We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My son stayed here on a school trip last weekend. Salty food,hard beds and even harder toilet paper.
He and his room mates, 5 in total found dirty socks in drawers and cupboards. Bits of food from the previous occupants on the floor and had to spend most of their money on food in boppard as the food was so salty it was impossible to enjoy.
The bathroom was small and cramped with a shower curtain so short the bathroom got flooded everytime they used it.
They have the cheek to charge a 10 euro deposit per child for the rooms. They should be paying the children for staying in such a run down hotel. They say if the rooms are not left clean the children will not get their deposits back. what a joke!
This trip cost £350 per child. What a rip off !!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelhoundwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

If you are staying with a school group beware of the following
All must be in bed by 22.00
No towels given to students
No bar facilities available
No meeting room made available after 22.00
Everything closed by 22.00
Do a major inspection of the bed rooms for damage before the students occupy their rooms. The mattress lifts up from the base for extra storage .Make sure to check this area as we were stung.
The town is lovely and the rest of the tour was fantastic but would not go back to this hotel again

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank duffyhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

This hotel had very good food and rooms everything was perfect in this hotel the staff were very kind and helfful intact they were the best. Staff at any hotel iv been to the only thing I would recomend is to bring your own toilet rol because theirs was like sand paper

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miagi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boppard hotels
0.8 mi away
Bellevue Rheinhotel
Bellevue Rheinhotel
#2 of 19 in Boppard
603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boppard Hotel Ohm Patt
Boppard Hotel Ohm Patt
#4 of 19 in Boppard
151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rheinhotel Lilie
Rheinhotel Lilie
#3 of 19 in Boppard
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Pension Roehrig
Pension Roehrig
#10 of 16 in Boppard
1 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Ebertor
Hotel Ebertor
#7 of 19 in Boppard
227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jakobsberg Hotel- & Golfresort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Europe

Address: Mainzer Str. 4, 56154 Boppard, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Boppard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Boppard
Price Range: $60 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'Europe 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel L'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing