We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate business hotel close to Dusseldorf Messe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relexa Hotel Ratingen City
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Ratingen
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate business hotel close to Dusseldorf Messe”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I stayed here with colleagues visiting the DRUPA show at the Messe in Dusselfdorf. Hotels during this show are in very high demand. This was an adequate hotel for this purpose. Service was polite and efficient. The rooms had comfortable beds and were very clean. Two significant shortfalls were that there is no air-conditioning except on the 'De-Luxe' 4th floor, though the window opens and desk fans can be provided) and the shower cubicle was almost unusable for a bigger person as the bulky mixer tap has been installed so that it protrudes right to the middle of the cubicle. I don't know if the showers are also different on the 4th floor. The bar area was small but clean and efficient. Service was very polite and friendly though rather understaffed at busy times. Breakfast was good and the dinner meals we had from the restaurant (though we were served at the bar as our preference) were some good, some rather plain. The short taxi ride to the Messe made up for most of the shortcomings. Don't confuse this Ratingen City Relexa with the other Relexa Airport hotel on the other side of town.

Room Tip: Choose the De-Luxe 4th floor for air-conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    81
    46
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
24
16
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I agree with the last reviewer. The Hotel does everything it should but nothing exactly blows your socks off.

The place is very clean. The service is very efficient. However, for me, the place is overly formal and has no atmosphere.

The bar had so little atmosphere that I did not realise it was where the bar was until I checked out. Fortunately the location is fantastic. Within about 2 minutes walk there are loads of bars & restaurants which are all teeming with atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Burrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This hotel is a bit like a Volkswagen...it does everything it should, but it is not going to set your heart racing. Staff are efficient, but a bit formal, rooms are very clean, but no soul. Bar serves drinks and restaurant serves food, but without the "va, va, voom". One thing that I cannot get my head round is that I booked a double room with single use and I had a double bed with a single duvet..... strange !!!!.
This hotel is convenient for both Dusseldorf and Ratingen and I must admit that the short walk to the lovely town centre of Ratingen is a real plus as you can find several nice traditional German bars and restaurants.
I would use this hotel again on business, but if it was for pleasure I would try one of the hotels in central Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JS031951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

The hotel was very nice, the staff were very friendly and the location was good.

But this hotel caters to business travelers that can expense the costs. If this is for vacation, find somewhere else: The breakfast, while nice, was very expensive. The charge for internet was also on the high end.

The room itself was pretty nice but the shower was tiny and almost impossible to maneuver in.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzypuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Nothing special, just a regular 4 star hotel. In some minutes driving to Dusseldorf or Cologne. My wife said, the hotel is designed for business men.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr17ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
215 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip to Ratingen. The hotel is nice, on a main road and is easily accesible. But i think the price of the hotel is a more compared to the quality of stay. Even the restaurant i found was a bit expensive and had a very limited menu. Although the breakfast is nice and the tea selection they have here is awesome.
I would recommend this people on business and not for many days also.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawansahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We arrived at Duesseldorf Airport at about 10 am.We noticed check in was at 15:00,therefor we asked if we could leave our luggage somewhere secure at the hotel and the Staff told us they note our arrival.On arrival our Room was ready to vacate! The Staff was more than helpful during our stay! Provided us with a local map and when we asked for an Iron they delivered it straight away to our Room and left it with us to our use for the whole stay.
I can not fault the Staff at all.Reception and Bar staff very friendly.Hotel clean and modern,close to town of Ratingen.
All in one a nice stay and would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ratingen hotels
2.1 mi away
Relexa Hotel Airport Dusseldorf-Ratingen
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Breitbach
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zum Barbarossa
Hotel Zum Barbarossa
#10 of 24 in Ratingen
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tryp Duesseldorf Airport Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premiere Classe Hotel Dusseldorf-Ratingen
3.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dusseldorf Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relexa Hotel Ratingen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relexa Hotel Ratingen City

Property: Relexa Hotel Ratingen City
Address: Calor-Emag-Str. 7, 40878 Ratingen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Ratingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Ratingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relexa Hotel Ratingen City 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relexa Hotel Ratingen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relexa Hotel Ratingen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing