We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You become part of history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Konigswinter
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You become part of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

On a short notice trip to Bonn I was dismayed to find all my regular hotels booked and was "forced" to stay in this most magnificent piece of history. As you climb the hil the anticipation builds until from out of the woods emerges a stunning property.The view and ambiance are unparalleled. As i was on a business trip I did not splurge at all and had a rather basic single room, which considering the time I was there was sufficient. Had I been on a pleasure trip I most certainly would have upgraded. The hotel was not overly busy and I was allowed fairly free access to all areas that my short time allowed. It was a wonderful tour through history and a new discovery at each turn. This is a hotel the super fit would relish as there are stairs everywhere. While I was there the lift nearest my room was out of service which made for interesting entry and exit with the luggage (however it was my choice as the hotel had offered assistance).Staff at the front desk were exceptional while those in the restaurant for dinner sub par and unaccommodating. Dinner menu was interesting but expensive and certainly not very filling. However the fresh air and relaxed atmosphere were most welcome. I would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and upgrade if you will be spending any significant time at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnystone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    305
    136
    48
    18
See reviews for
126
338
27
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in June with my partner. The hotel is situated at the top of a hill, near Konigswinter in a stunning location with picture postcard views of the Rhine and surrounding areas.

I stayed in a standard double with Rhine views, the other option of a park view is basically a view of a courtyard with a bit of grass so always ask if there is a free Rhine view room on check in. The rooms, although a good size are very dated and a little tired with some stains on the carpets and the cushion on the desk chair in the room completely stained which you would not expect in a 5 star hotel in a room for which the advertised rate is 250 - 300 Euros per night. One problem with the room was the absence of mirrors in the bedroom area; there was one in the wardrobe door which I couldn't reach with my hairdryer! The bathrooms looked like they had been recently refubished and were a good size with separate bath and shower.

The communal areas of the hotel are very nice and the large circular function room is quite spectacular with its own terrace with the panoramic views of the Rhine. Breakfast is served until 10:30 and there is a selection of cereal and fruits and cold meats. The hot breakfast selection was very poor for a 5 star hotel. The sausages were tiny and not the tastiest, which you wouldn't expect in Germany, the bacon was undercooked and flaccid and fried eggs were cooked out the back although they had the facility to cook them in front of the guests and they took 10 minutes to arrive when requested. The breakfast food was also grouped in an odd way with no signs; some sweet rice pudding was in a tray next to the boiled eggs so I accidently had rice pudding on my plate instead of scrambled eggs!

The reception staff were very helpful and recommended things locally to see including Drachensburg Castle and a boat trip to Linz.

I had a very nice stay and would recommend this hotel to couples.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Just back from a five day holiday in Petersberg Hotel overlooking the Rhine valley and Bonn in Germany. We really enjoyed our stay in this luxurious five star hotel. The entrance from main road is a private hotel road for about three kilometres and the hotel is situated on top of one of the seven hills and in a nature reserve. During the break we saw on numerous occasions in the grounds hawks, deer’s, squirrels and owls. The grounds are a mecca for walkers and there are a number of well-marked trails. There are also maps available from the reception to help plan your route. In addition the hotel is full of little nooks and crannies where one can read in peace. The leisure centre is very good as well and was always quiet when we were there. Only negatives are the Food and Beverage is way overpriced and quality is basic. An example is room service breakfast can cost up to €40 per head which is crazy. Def like the hotel though and could go back if you can eat breakfast off site. You will need a car though as it is not possible through public transport and taxis are very expensive into nearby Bonn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velbert, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We chose the Steigenberger Petersberg for our one-a-year getaway without kids and were really looking forward to our night out with a three-course-dinner at the famous Rheinterassen Restaurant.

Our room was nice, but nothing special, no coffee-making facilities, for instance, which I thought were standard for a five star. But really most disappointing was the evening. Due to an event, we couldn't have our three-course dinner, sitting back and enjoying a freshly cooked, nicely decorated meal brought to the table. Instead we had to stand in line for a dry and really basic dinner menu. And the worst: They seated us in the breakfast room which nowhere near as nice as the restaurant. We ate in the middle of a brightly lit room with the furniture style of a small-town ice cream parlor.

The food was really not great and the service was really poor. When we came back from the buffet with our main course, nobody had even removed our starter plates, meaning that we had to clear our own plates to be able to continue eating - in a five star??!! This is just one example of the really poor service.

This could have all been avoided with proper communication. When I booked the weekend, I specifically asked whether we could still eat our menu despite the event with the buffet and they said yes. They even confirmed the dinner with our reservation confirmation. But when we checked in they told us we couldn't have it - and not even advised us to reserve a table for the evening so we wouldn't have to sit in the breakfast room.

When upon check-out I told the staff - very friendly - how disappointed I unfortunately had been with the evening - as I say, our one-a-year getaway - the guy wasn't at all interested.

Really too bad that they seem to rest on their location!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
112 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Most of the times it is cold on top of a mountain. Would it be the same for the Petersberg hotel near Konigswinter? I am afraid so. The Steigenberger has class, there is no denying that and with class the service and staff are so much more distant and colder and that is always such a pitty. Nothing is complimentary, if you would like to use the internet, park a car and have breakfast you double your room price in a heartbeat. I never understood that and probably never will. We chose this hotel because of it’s wonderful view over the Rhine and we were not disappointed. Our room was spacious, clean and well maintained, allthough the bathroom could have been so much better if it actually contained a bath. The rest of the hotel was huge, luxurious and every now and then you might encounter another guest. But a little more atmosphere, a little more welcomeness, that could not have hurt. We compared it with hotel Buehlerhohe where we stayed about 2 years ago, a place of comparable class and reputation and we did feel much more at home there instead of this hotel. With so many hidden little costs and such cold behaviour I think I would not recommend this hotel and only give it a 3 star rating. But then again, maybe we are not the targetted customers of this hotel, so it might be very pleasing for others. Check it out yourself.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed one night in a suite at the Steinberger Hotel Petersburg Konigswinter in Bonn (Germany) using a bongo bon "dream weekend" for 500 €. This is the first time ever we write a review, but our stay was so dissappointing we absolutely wanted to help other people to avoid such an experience.

1) When we arrived our reservation was not recorded in their system and so checking in took a long time.
2) The suites are completely outdated and urgently in need of a renovation and redecoration
3) The walls were dirty
4) The seats were discolored with age and there were burn marks on it.
5) The doors, cabinets and carpets were all damaged by wear and there were stains on the linen of the pillow
6) The TV had an outdated CRT screen instead of an LCD screen
7) there was always a very disturbing noise in the room (probably from the airco)
8) We had absolutely no sense of luxury in the suite.
8) There was also no drink provided on the arrival regardless of what was in the minibar (a bottle of sparkling water was brought only hours later).
9) There was no water kooker, tea or coffee to drink in the room.
10) There was only 1 pillow per person provided and there were no extra pillows in the room
11) the bed was made ​​up of two twin mattresses
12) We ate a four course meal in the à la carte restaurant, but this dissappointing considering it was a five star hotel.
12.1) We had a long wait at the door before someone came to our table to offer.
12.2) The waiters had absolutely no feeling for the necessary etiquette
12.3) The first waiter filled the glass for white wine with water. The second waiter poured white wine the glass already filled with water
12.4) It was very quiet in the restaurant. There were only 7 tables and there were 4 waiters available. Nevertheless, our empty wine glasses not refilled on time and we always had to ask to have them refilled. The bottle of wine was waiting at the table in an ice bucket. We could not do it ourselves without getting wet.
12.5) When the bread was finished, this was not replenished for the rest of the evening.
12.6) The food was below
expectations. The goose liver terrine was still frozen. The tomato soup was too spicy. The chicken was much to salt and deep fried.
13) The sauna and steam bath in the wellness center were not functioning. There was no one present in the wellness center. After calling the front desk for help it came only half an hour later. By the time the infrastructure was on the right temperature we were an hour further.

You may be sure that we do not exaggerate. Our goal is to prevent other couples of having such a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khepaw P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We were touring this region and felt we had to stay in this historic hotel. Fantastic location. Easy to find beautiful grounds and what a view! The hotel was very quiet even on a Friday night eerily so at times. Lovely marble staircases and long corridors and interesting rooms. Pictures of all the historic moments and famous guests hung on the walls. Room large, robes and slippers provided too for trip to lovely pool and sauna area. Good shower room with music! Comfy bed. Had a meal here. It was excellent with lovely friendly service. It was pricey however as was the bar but you have to expect this. Only complaints no tea and coffee in room and unfair to charge to park....it is miles from anywhere so how else do you get to the hotel!

Room Tip: No point staying here unless you pay for a Rhine view room on a high floor. Watch the speed camera a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBristol234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Konigswinter
1.1 mi away
Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter
Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter
#3 of 16 in Konigswinter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kameha Grand
Kameha Grand
#3 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
19.5 mi away
Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg
Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensb...
#1 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ringhotel Rheinhotel Dreesen
1.1 mi away
Rheinhotel Loreley
Rheinhotel Loreley
#2 of 16 in Konigswinter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hilton Bonn Hotel
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg

Property: Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg
Address: Petersberg 1, 53639 Konigswinter, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Konigswinter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Konigswinter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its history as the guest house of the Federal Republic of Germany the Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg nowadays still welcomes guests by classical elegance and comfort on the highest standard, as well as the legendary view over the idyllic Rhine valley. In the middle of Germany's oldest nature reserve you may take a deep breath of the clear, fresh air and calm down from any daily stress. The magnificent architecture of the hotel's exterior is reflected in the exclusive elegance of its interior. The thoughtfully chosen furnishings and hand-picked details lend a unique atmosphere to every one of our 99 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg Hotel
Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg königswinter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing