We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most dissapointing stay in a hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Konigswinter
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed one night in a suite at the Steinberger Hotel Petersburg Konigswinter in Bonn (Germany) using a bongo bon "dream weekend" for 500 €. This is the first time ever we write a review, but our stay was so dissappointing we absolutely wanted to help other people to avoid such an experience.

1) When we arrived our reservation was not recorded in their system and so checking in took a long time.
2) The suites are completely outdated and urgently in need of a renovation and redecoration
3) The walls were dirty
4) The seats were discolored with age and there were burn marks on it.
5) The doors, cabinets and carpets were all damaged by wear and there were stains on the linen of the pillow
6) The TV had an outdated CRT screen instead of an LCD screen
7) there was always a very disturbing noise in the room (probably from the airco)
8) We had absolutely no sense of luxury in the suite.
8) There was also no drink provided on the arrival regardless of what was in the minibar (a bottle of sparkling water was brought only hours later).
9) There was no water kooker, tea or coffee to drink in the room.
10) There was only 1 pillow per person provided and there were no extra pillows in the room
11) the bed was made ​​up of two twin mattresses
12) We ate a four course meal in the à la carte restaurant, but this dissappointing considering it was a five star hotel.
12.1) We had a long wait at the door before someone came to our table to offer.
12.2) The waiters had absolutely no feeling for the necessary etiquette
12.3) The first waiter filled the glass for white wine with water. The second waiter poured white wine the glass already filled with water
12.4) It was very quiet in the restaurant. There were only 7 tables and there were 4 waiters available. Nevertheless, our empty wine glasses not refilled on time and we always had to ask to have them refilled. The bottle of wine was waiting at the table in an ice bucket. We could not do it ourselves without getting wet.
12.5) When the bread was finished, this was not replenished for the rest of the evening.
12.6) The food was below
expectations. The goose liver terrine was still frozen. The tomato soup was too spicy. The chicken was much to salt and deep fried.
13) The sauna and steam bath in the wellness center were not functioning. There was no one present in the wellness center. After calling the front desk for help it came only half an hour later. By the time the infrastructure was on the right temperature we were an hour further.

You may be sure that we do not exaggerate. Our goal is to prevent other couples of having such a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Khepaw P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 944 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

We were touring this region and felt we had to stay in this historic hotel. Fantastic location. Easy to find beautiful grounds and what a view! The hotel was very quiet even on a Friday night eerily so at times. Lovely marble staircases and long corridors and interesting rooms. Pictures of all the historic moments and famous guests hung on the walls. Room large, robes and slippers provided too for trip to lovely pool and sauna area. Good shower room with music! Comfy bed. Had a meal here. It was excellent with lovely friendly service. It was pricey however as was the bar but you have to expect this. Only complaints no tea and coffee in room and unfair to charge to park....it is miles from anywhere so how else do you get to the hotel!

Room Tip: No point staying here unless you pay for a Rhine view room on a high floor. Watch the speed camera a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBristol234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were bumped up to the Presidential Suite - OMG!!! Too amazing for words. We loved the location atop a hill overlooking the Rhine River and the town below. You can even see area castles from on top of this mountain. The room was so over the top - pure luxury. Only issue we had was horrible horrible service in the restaurant. It was so bad that we will not return due to the lack of service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

The location of this hotel is simply breathtaking. Surrounded by parkland and a great view from the mountain top over the Rhine valley-simply gorgeous!

The hotel itself is classy and the staff is very friendly. I had a very nice room (though a little old-fashioned) overlooking the Rhine that was very very clean and the bathroom spotless. This is not a hip hotel, but it is very comfortable and I wish that I had more time to enjoy it. Don't hesitate to spend a romantic weekend there or do celebrate any great occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is in a fantastic setting at the top of a mountain. The food was superb, the service was impeccable and the rooms were just lovely, very large with a well-equipped bathroom. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the valley - Much better than the 'park view' rooms. Make sure you use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexiboo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Setting, and building are very nice!
Check in quick.
We booked a cheap room, it was very old fashioned.
There was no airco!!!! So we had to sleep with an open window. Donwside there was a wedding going on with a lot of loud music so we did not fell asleep until 5AM!!!!!
So we will never go back!
Had dinner in the restaurant! Nice setting but very overpriced!!!! We at fish, they overcooked it twice.
Breakfast is good when included in your rate otherwise 26.00 euro....

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holly_catBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Everything was very good but there were a few very negative features. Upon check-in the man at the reception told me and my wife that the breakfast costs 23 € per person. When we started the first morning's breakfast, the waiter came with the bill: € 26 per person. On the bill we wrote that we had been informed that the price was € 23. At check-out day two, we were educated by a woman in the huge large-German authoritative style that there was no chance that someone said that the breakfast costs 23 €. We didn't discuss with the lady as we didn't like to destroy the day, but if you go there be prepared: the staff are "perfect" and you are a fool and with no education from school.

Everything cost a little bit more in this hotel than expected. The Internet is very expensive. And the parking fee is 6 € which is a bad joke. There are no other alternatives as the hotel is situated on a mountain and the nearest car park is located 3 km away and also about 300 meters downwards.

The hotel has a great history with prominent visitors (we were surely an exception). For instance, the British prime minister Chamberlain lived here meanwhile he was negotiating with Hitler to avoid the break out of the Second World War. From the hotel’s terrace you have a wonderful outlook over the Rhine River. If you look at the river bank at the other side of Rhine, you can see Rhein Hotel Dreesen in Bad Godesberg where Hitler and Chamberlain had the unfruitful meetings. That hotel is also a good choice as an alternative to Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg. I have also been there with nice and friendly staff and the hotel can be of a genuine historical interest to anyone interested in World War II.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Someishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Konigswinter
1.1 mi away
Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter
Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter
#2 of 17 in Konigswinter
351 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kameha Grand
Kameha Grand
#5 of 79 in Bonn
1,007 reviews
19.5 mi away
Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg
Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensb...
#1 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Baynunah Hotel Drachenfels
Baynunah Hotel Drachenfels
#15 of 17 in Konigswinter
20 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ringhotel Rheinhotel Dreesen
1.9 mi away
Villa Godesberg
Villa Godesberg
#2 of 79 in Bonn
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg

Address: Petersberg 1, 53639 Konigswinter, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Konigswinter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Konigswinter
Price Range: $153 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its history as the guest house of the Federal Republic of Germany the Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg nowadays still welcomes guests by classical elegance and comfort on the highest standard, as well as the legendary view over the idyllic Rhine valley. In the middle of Germany's oldest nature reserve you may take a deep breath of the clear, fresh air and calm down from any daily stress. The magnificent architecture of the hotel's exterior is reflected in the exclusive elegance of its interior. The thoughtfully chosen furnishings and hand-picked details lend a unique atmosphere to every one of our 99 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg Hotel
Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg königswinter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing