We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the Rhine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Konigswinter
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“On the Rhine”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights on business in June. The lobby is well appointed, but the rooms are in need of updates. My room had a nice view of the Rhine, but found the room to be dark and dated. Curtains had wear holes with let beams of light in and bed sheet and carpet seemed dirty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaM42532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele B, Manager at Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for visiting this website and for taking the time to describe how you felt during your stay in our hotel.
We would also like to thank you for your comments concerning our curtains and carpets and can inform you that we are going to renovate the rooms step by step.

We are looking forward for your next visit at the MARITIM Hotel Königswinter and hope to welcome you soon.

Yours sincerely

Andreas Ewald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    134
    70
    23
    9
See reviews for
46
82
9
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for one evening from June 12 to June 13, 2013 in connection with the annual shareholders' meeting of one of our portfolio companies. Like last year, I found the staff incredibly helpful and courteous, the set-up for the meeting was first-class and the room comfortable. I had a view of the Rhein which was quite nice. There are good restaurants within walking distance and the breakfast was also worth recommending (especially if you can sit outside on the terrace along the Rhein). I only stay here because of the convenience to the shareholders' meeting (I would otherwise attempt to stay at the Petersberg - the former Guest House of the German federal government), but I would never hesitate to come back to this hotel. There are lots of tour groups - from Europe, Asia and elsewhere - but they tend to arrive late and leave early, so not terribly bothersome. I don't know the Maritim chain that well, but I have to believe this is one of their better hotels. German efficiency is ever present. And there is something about the Rhein that I find very impressive - a walk along the river in the evening is very cathartic.

Room Tip: I'm not sure all rooms have a view of the Rhein, but it's worth asking about it. Even withou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele B, Manager at Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for visiting this website and for taking time to describe how you felt during your stay in our hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the Maritim Hotel Königswinter very well and that you are satisfied with our services, especially the view from our restaurant terrace.

We are looking forward for your next visit at the MARITIM Hotel Königswinter and hope to welcome you soon, here on the beautiful Rhine riverbanks

Yours sincerely

Andreas Ewald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was a lovely hotel for us - spacious, clean, helpful and courteous staff. Our room was spacious and even had tea and coffee making facility as well as a refridgerated mini bar so you could keep a carton of fresh milk. We had a view of both the river and the small mountain with the castle on top. The pool/spa area was small but we never found it crowded. Usually we were the only people in the area and at most only another 2 at any one time. It was well provided for with towels for both swimming and the sauna. The food at the buffet was excellent for us, although a non fish eating vegetarian might have found the evening dinner choices a bit restrictive. This would not have been a problem at the breakfast buffet where the choice was vast. A vegetarian might be advised to book a room with breakfast rather than half board. This is not untypical of German hotels where meat features prominently on menus. There are plenty of other places to eat in the small town as we as a selection of shops and a well stocked supermarket. The location is superb, fronting the River Rhine, and with good transport links by tram, rail or river to local places of interest.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele B, Manager at Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for visiting this website and for taking time to describe how you felt during your stay in our hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the MARITIM Hotel Königswinter very well and that you are satisfied with our services, especially with our breakfast buffet. We would also like to thank you for your comments concerning the evening buffet, we have already spoken with our chef to offer more vegetarian food.

We are looking forward for your next visit at the MARITIM Hotel Königswinter and hope to welcome you soon.

Yours sincerely

Gabriele Bugge
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed as part of a group of 40 (Great Rail Journeys Holiday - Railways of the Rhine) for a five night stay, and I think we all agreed that it suited our requirements. The location was ideal - a stroll into town or along the riverbank. The dining room looks out onto the river - plenty of activity to watch whilst dining. We were a little concerned when we were told that breakfast and dinner would be a buffet - so often unimaginative and repetitive. However - what a choice, and varied. Everything was kept topped up and the quality was excellent.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable - quite a few of us found the feather pillows a little uncomfortable. Bathroom spacious, clean and plenty of hot water. Very large vestibule with lots of seating - suited our group's requirements when meeting up for the day and checking in and out.

The staff were all very polite and friendly - I mentioned at reception that the bedside light didn't work - had only been back in the room two minutes when someone arrived to sort it out.
Koenigswinter itself is quaint, with a good selection of bakeries, cafes, pubs and restaurants and a well stocked supermarket. Quite an atmosphere on Sunday - lots of families enjoying the sunshine.

A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SophieandRosieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele B, Manager at Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for visiting this website and for taking the time to describe your stay in our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here on the beautiful Rhine riverbanks and that you are satisfied with our services.
Refering your comment for pillows, in each room you will find a pillow selection map with different typs of pillows, for example a neck-support pillow, a spelt pillow or a neck roll. You can make your choice and order it at the reception free of charge.

We are looking forward for your next visit at the MARITIM Hotel Königswinter and hope to welcome you soon.

Yours sincerely

Gabriele Bugge
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
267 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a nice hotel, right on the river side. Not all rooms have a river view but ours had a nice view of the mountains and the Drachensfels 'castle'. Our room looked dated due to the dark wooden furniture but it was spotless and more 'character' than 'tired'. The bathroom was modern and like the room very clean. The 5 nights we were there (as part of a Great Rail Journeys trip) the evening meal was a buffet every night. There was always plenty of choice and it was tasty and usually hot.. Breakfast likewise was a buffet. Unfortunately the hot breakfast items didn't change at all during the five days but there was always cold meats, fruit and various breads etc. The hotel has a couple of nice bars where you can relax. It also has a gym and a pool which we didn't use. My only complaint is the internet access.There is one small cubicle in reception with a computer where you can access the internet for free but it has a glass door with a computer screen facing the reception area so it is not very private for answering emails or checking your finances etc. The internet access in the rooms is quite frankly bordering on extortionate at 5 Euros an hour. I have seen hotels at 5 or even 10 Euros a day but 5 Euros per hour in my opinion is excessive. A good test of a hotel is whether you would go back. We have already marked this down for a revisit at some point in the future, possibly during an independent tour by car. It is within easy access by train of Bonn, Cologne, Linz and other rhine cities.

Room Tip: There are a variety of room available including suites so just choose the one that suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele B, Manager at Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for visiting this website and for taking the time to describe your stay in our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here on the beautiful Rhine riverbanks.
We are delighted that you felt so much at home at the MARITIM Hotel Königswinter and that you are satisfied with our services. Refering your comment for our internet access, we can inform you, that we are already looking for a new internet access solution.

We are looking forward for your next visit at the MARITIM Hotel Königswinter and hope to welcome you soon.

Yours sincerely

Gabriele Bugge
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lommel, Belgium
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Eating outside on the terrace with rhine view is really wonderfull! When in season: taste the spargel dishes! The staff is very friendly and the breakfast buffet is very extensive. The rooms are very spacious.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Evy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele B, Manager at Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for visiting this website and for taking time to describe how you felt during your stay in our hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the Maritim Hotel Königswinter very well and that you are satisfied with our services, especially the view from our restaurant terrace and our asparagus dishes.

We are looking forward for your next visit at the MARITIM Hotel Königswinter and hope to welcome you soon.

Yours sincerely

Gabriele Bugge
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is right on the river so if you are lucky enough to get a room on the east side the views are lovely. The entire decor is typical Maritim, and as in other Maritim hotels is in need of a major refresh. The carpet along the corridors is flat, hard and faded. The rooms are all dark wood, often marked by years of use. You can tell a hotel room is old if they still have those integrated radio sets in the bedside table, usually no longer working, and here they are in the Maritim. The bathroom also needs some work (another telltale sign of the aged room is when the water in the basin leaks away because the rubber on the plug is perished or the connecting rods are bent or misaligned).

The bar is nice, good beer, food OK. It would be nice to have free WiFi these days in 4* hotels, as many do, but not here. The breakfast is plentiful and the quality good but not exceptional - for example the croissants are often crispy and dry rather than soft.

The swimming pool is really nice. Warm and spacious, with good changin facilities, sauna and a fitness room. Best thing about the hotel.

Good transport links to Bonn and beyond on the tram. You will need it because Konigswinter itself is extremely quiet and dull. Maybe February is not the best time to see it, but it's like a ghost town after 6pm.

Room Tip: East side overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aintynice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele B, Manager at Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for visiting this website and for taking time to describe how you felt during your stay in our hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the MARITIM Hotel Königswinter and that you are satisfied especially with our swimming pool area.
For using WIFI free of charge we are searching for a solution for all MARITIM Hotels during the next weeks.
We would also like to thank you for your comments concerning our rooms and can inform you that a renovation for the complete hotel is in planning. But small things, like changing the plug from the basin we can do directly. Please contact me and tell me your room number (+49 2223 707800 or gbugge.kwi@maritim.de ).
We are looking forward for your next visit at the MARITIM Hotel Königswinter and hope to welcome you soon.

Yours sincerely

Gabriele Bugge
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Konigswinter hotels
1.1 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg
0.2 mi away
Rheinhotel Loreley
Rheinhotel Loreley
#3 of 17 in Konigswinter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Haus Hindenburg
Hotel Haus Hindenburg
#5 of 17 in Konigswinter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baynunah Hotel Drachenfels
Baynunah Hotel Drachenfels
#12 of 17 in Konigswinter
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Bonn Sud Konigswinte
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bergischer Hof
Hotel Bergischer Hof
#6 of 17 in Konigswinter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter

Property: Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter
Address: Rheinallee 3, 53639 Konigswinter, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Konigswinter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Konigswinter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an exposed location on the Rhine promenade, the Maritim Hotel Königswinter awaits you with its splendid view of the passing ships and the green hills, with the famous Drachenfels. The elegant building is a favourite destination for business and private travellers and conference delegates, with its excellent connections to Bonn, to the Cologne/Bonn airport and to the trade fair centre Cologne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel königswinter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing