We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely base”
Review of Mercure Hotel Hamm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Hamm
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Hamm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Hamm itself is undistinguished, but pleasant enough and a convenient centre from which to visit the region. The Mercure is handily situated a short walk from the station and close to the main pedestrian streets. The rate charged compared favourably with other hotels, given that it included an excellent breakfast (complete with joke of the day!) The room was well appointed, though in my room the hairdryer was not working - though this was not a problem for me. Tea and coffee making facilities provided - bring your own biscuits. Reception happily provided the access code for free Wi-Fi, which worked well. For British visitors a special attraction was that the TV offered not only the (tedious!) BBC World found in most places, but BBC 1 and 2 and ITV! Friendly helpful staff completed the picture. The only evening I was free was the Sunday, when the restaurant was closed, so I cannot comment on that. Somewhere I shall happily visit again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Still_Artnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Hotel Hamm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 282 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

I last stayed at this Mercure in 2007 and had the opportunity to renew my acquaintance with it this month. I am glad I did! It is modern hotel with good facilities. It is about 200 metres from the railway station and the town is very much a rail centre with frequenty intercity services to Berlin, Köln (Cologne) and Hannover as well as most other cities in northern Germany. The staff were pleasant, helpful and welcoming. My bedroom was large enough with a large double bed, a couple of chairs and a work area. The wi-fi in the bedrooms was excellent. The television was a modern flat screen with a wide range of channels including BBC1, BBC2, ITV1 and ITV2 (my first experience of these channels in Germany). The air-conditioning was a bit iffy on what was quite a warm March day. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided. There is no minibar. On the 7th floor there is a pool with scenic views and a sauna with towels provided. There are several bedrooms on this floor if you want quick access to these facilities.
I took breakfast on each of the 4 days I stayed and it was great. The hot option was scrambled eggs sausages and bacon. There was a huge range of cereals, cold meats, cheeses, fruit, yoghurts, rolls, croissants. It was worth the visit and highly recommended to others.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, choose the 7th floor if you want to be near the pool and sauna
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed here and needed a family room so booked one of the suites. They are very reasonably priced I got a newly refurbished two room suite with great finishes. The layout and architecture is very quirky and modern with a large glass atrium over an open plan restaurant and bar on two levels. It is quiet and comfortable, catering maybe more to the business traveler but I was very happy there with children. The staff are great and were able to deal with any request with smile. The breakfast is well worth sampling with the restaurant fare not spectacular but very well prepared. All this added to the fantastic location in town with a great rail connection to Dortmund airport and beyond makes this hotel hard to beat in this area..

Room Tip: The suite had a sofa-bed in a separate living room, go for this rather than two rooms if travelling...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeniVidiBibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here as I wasn't prepared to pay €300 per night in Dortmund and this hotel was about thirty-five minutes drive from my meeting the next day. The hotel is conveniently located, within walking distance to many restaurants, and looks to be completely refurbished very recently ( the date inside the lift was the clue to the original build date). My room was furnished to a high standard, clean, quiet, comfortable and (fast) WiFi and breakfast was included with the room. Breakfast was well presented and ample (nice to see decent crispy bacon and well-cooked eggs). Underground parking at reasonable rate is also available without reservation needed.
Recommended!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Whirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We travelled to Hamm recently for a 1 night stay and were recommended the Mercure by others travelling on the same weekend. Safe to say that the area the hotel is situated in is not exactly plush, and the other hotels I passed were not places I would stay in voluntarily (perhaps if you had a gun to my head I might consider it). The hotel is modern, smart, clean, comfortable and the breakfast was really nice too! I can honestly say if you are not a fan of slumming it then book this hotel! I wouldn't stay anywhere else!
Only point I would make to you guys at Mercure if you read these reviews... please get new pillows! They are fresh, crisp, clean and soft, but my god they are thin! It's like sleeping on A4 paper.... so thank you for providing us with extra ones when we stayed :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura_Galey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Centrally located hotel near the shops, with ample parking in heated underground car park. The reception staff are not overly friendly but professional. The bar is cosy and well stocked, but the restaurant is expensive and my experiences there weren't very favourable - better to go to a local restaurant nearby. The decor is good and the newer rooms are well-appointed. I stayed in one of the older rooms during winter and the heating wasn't working. It took a while to organise a portable heater. All in all I'd recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a relatively decent hotel with good range of facilities in Hamm, but it's not ideal for families.

Room Tip: Try to get a newer room, and book early if you want a twin, as they don't have many and they go...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balvennie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank demua
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamm
0.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Hamm
B&B Hotel Hamm
#3 of 17 in Hamm
31 reviews
4.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Rhynern-Nord
1.7 mi away
Hotel Alte Mark
Hotel Alte Mark
#8 of 17 in Hamm
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Gut Kump
Gut Kump
#2 of 17 in Hamm
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Herzog
Hotel Herzog
#11 of 17 in Hamm
17 reviews
9.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Kamen Unna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Hamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Hamm

Address: Neue Bahnhofstr. 3, 59065 Hamm, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Hamm
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Hamm
Price Range: $95 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Hamm 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In each of the 142 newly renovated rooms at the Mercure Hotel Hamm, you will find free WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities and a modern flat-screen TV. The 4-star hotel boasts eight conference rooms and a large conservatory for events for up to 450 people. The hotel is right next to the train station and the adjacent pedestrian zone. The hotel also features a sauna and a massage team. If you are traveling without a computer, you can use our Business Corner. Reach us by car via the A1/A2 and use our indoor car park. Dortmund Airport is 19.9 miles (32 km) away.Just a few decades ago, heavy industry with its coal mines and steel works shaped the face of Hamm. But the city on the eastern edge of the Ruhr region has evolved since then: Today the local economy is dominated by modern industries and logistics companies. Because of its history Hamm is offering sights of the “Route Industriekultur” which stretches all through the “Ruhrgebiet”. You can become a witness of 150-year old industrial history combined with nature and attractive events located in this industrial background.For cycling tourists Hamm is directly connected to the cycling tour Römer/Lippe and can be part of the cycling tour “route industriekultur” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Hamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing