We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably would only stay here!”
Review of Mercure Hotel Hamm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Hamm
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Hamm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We travelled to Hamm recently for a 1 night stay and were recommended the Mercure by others travelling on the same weekend. Safe to say that the area the hotel is situated in is not exactly plush, and the other hotels I passed were not places I would stay in voluntarily (perhaps if you had a gun to my head I might consider it). The hotel is modern, smart, clean, comfortable and the breakfast was really nice too! I can honestly say if you are not a fan of slumming it then book this hotel! I wouldn't stay anywhere else!
Only point I would make to you guys at Mercure if you read these reviews... please get new pillows! They are fresh, crisp, clean and soft, but my god they are thin! It's like sleeping on A4 paper.... so thank you for providing us with extra ones when we stayed :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura_Galey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 290 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Centrally located hotel near the shops, with ample parking in heated underground car park. The reception staff are not overly friendly but professional. The bar is cosy and well stocked, but the restaurant is expensive and my experiences there weren't very favourable - better to go to a local restaurant nearby. The decor is good and the newer rooms are well-appointed. I stayed in one of the older rooms during winter and the heating wasn't working. It took a while to organise a portable heater. All in all I'd recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a relatively decent hotel with good range of facilities in Hamm, but it's not ideal for families.

Room Tip: Try to get a newer room, and book early if you want a twin, as they don't have many and they go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balvennie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank demua
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Close to the centre of Hamm, this hotel is deadly situated. It is modern, and the room we had was large and airy. Unfortunately the air conditioning Did not work, and we were unable to keep the window open all night due to the traffic early in the morning. Nevertheless we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manfromguernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

At departure we were not very pleased to hear that the special internet offer we used to stay two nights in the hotel included breakfast. In the offer it wasn't mentioned. Neither it was at arrival.....Thank you very much!
When we ordered a taxi at the reception, we were also very surprised that it was not possible to call us in our room on arrival, but we had to come downstairs to wait for the taxi...
Very amateuristic reception staff! Not to be recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burnie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here when Münster was full during a conference. The train station is 4 minutes walk. And the bigger cities are 26 minutes away by train. Good out of the way location.

Breakfast was very good. Nice and fresh. Room was enormous. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

My only gripe is I couldn't get wifi in my room because of poor signal coverage. Nevertheless I will give them 4/5 because it really is a nice hotel, and a 3/5 might scare off people. Definitely worth a visit.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We only stayed for one night whilst travelling through Germany. Check in was smooth with no problems. Parking was in a secure car park under the hotel. It cost €7.50 per night, which was quite reasonable.The room was adequate with good free wifi connection, a free safe and a comfortable bed. We didn't have dinner in the hotel as we wanted to look around the town and visit my old British forces school in Soester Strasse. There didn't seem to be much going on in the town so we eventually dined at the Alte Mark near by old school.
My impression of the hotel was that they mainly catered for the business trade as besides people like us who were passing through, the town didn't really offer much. The hotel is in the centre of Hamm and whilst we were staying there was quite a lot of devlopment taking place.
The breakfast was very nice and set us up for the day. There was plenty of hot and cold choices.
In conclusion, we enjoyed our stay but wouldn't rush back - not so much because of the hotel but more to do with the town itself.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rojo447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamm
0.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Hamm
B&B Hotel Hamm
#3 of 17 in Hamm
35 reviews
4.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Rhynern-Nord
1.7 mi away
Hotel Alte Mark
Hotel Alte Mark
#7 of 17 in Hamm
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Herzog
Hotel Herzog
#11 of 17 in Hamm
17 reviews
6.1 mi away
Gut Kump
Gut Kump
#2 of 17 in Hamm
68 reviews
9.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Kamen Unna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Hamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Hamm

Address: Neue Bahnhofstr. 3, 59065 Hamm, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Hamm
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Hamm
Price Range: $95 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Hamm 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In each of the 142 newly renovated rooms at the Mercure Hotel Hamm, you will find free WIFI, tea and coffee making facilities and a modern flat-screen TV. The 4-star hotel boasts eight conference rooms and a large conservatory for events for up to 450 people. The hotel is right next to the train station and the adjacent pedestrian zone. The hotel also features a sauna and a massage team. If you are traveling without a computer, you can use our Business Corner. Reach us by car via the A1/A2 and use our indoor car park. Dortmund Airport is 19.9 miles (32 km) away.Just a few decades ago, heavy industry with its coal mines and steel works shaped the face of Hamm. But the city on the eastern edge of the Ruhr region has evolved since then: Today the local economy is dominated by modern industries and logistics companies. Because of its history Hamm is offering sights of the “Route Industriekultur” which stretches all through the “Ruhrgebiet”. You can become a witness of 150-year old industrial history combined with nature and attractive events located in this industrial background.For cycling tourists Hamm is directly connected to the cycling tour Römer/Lippe and can be part of the cycling tour “route industriekultur” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Hamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing