We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in central Hameln”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Christinenhof
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hameln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Really lovely hotel-- medieval on the outside, modern on the inside. Within the central mostly pedestrianised core of Hameln so easily accessible to everything by foot, but also easy to get to by car with its own private car park. Free wi-fi, decent bathroom, friendly staff, good breakfast (with a self-serve espresso machine that was very welcome). The pull-out sofabed for the kids was not too comfortable as one of the folds hit right across their backs, but not a problem if you are not using it, and you can only ask so much of a sofabed anyway. The hotel is composed of two buildings, and we were in the annex, which was across the car park from the lobby and breakfast room. Quiet, isolated, easy to come and go. Great choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 127 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2010

This is a lovely hotel in the centre of the old town. The location is perfect: peaceful yet very close to the shops and restaurants.
We stayed here for five nights. Our room was on a non smoking corridor as requested, although I'm not sure that smoking was permitted in the hotel as there were the occasional smokers (guests) outside the back door. The room was of a good size and although there was only liquid soap/shampoo provided- no other freebies, that was fine.
We had a very comfortable bed, mini bar to keep drinks cool, decent amount of storage space, the window opened wide and everything was spotless. What more could you ask for?
Of course, the breakfast............... I think it was served from 7.30am until 10am. There was a wide variety of good quality foods from cereals, yogurts to cooked eggs, bacon and sausages. It was beautifully laid out and there was no rush to clear away at 10 o'clock.
We used the tiny swimming pool and sauna on three occasions. Luckily there was no-one else using it at the same time as it is very small. The jacuzzi type jets did not seem to be working but it was still a relaxing half hour after a day out. You can borrow bath robes from the reception and there are extra towels by the pool.
We hired bicycles from reception,10 euros a day, and spent a very enjoyable day cycling along a level track by the side of the river , nothing too strenuous!
The staff were friendly and helpful. So all in all a hotel to be recommended.
Hamelin town is very pretty. The central part is being rejuvenated but it is only a small part of the town and does not interfere with your wanderings. We had travelled there by train from Hanover airport and did not have a car so had pretty much exhausted the touristy sights after 5 days! We enjoyed not having the hassle of a car and took the local bus to Bad Pyrmont one day. By the way, if you did have a car there would be no problem parking at the hotel.
As you will realise we enjoyed our holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulY55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We recommend this hotel to travelers who want to be in the center of town within short walking distance to all things. The hotel building, like most of the structures in town ,dates back to the 1600s, however inside is fully restored with all of the normal modern conveniences. There is plenty of parking in a courtyard behind the hotel. The room was clean and in good working order. The staff was friendly and spoke English well. The breakfast buffet which was included had rolls, eggs, cheeses, fruit, meat, yogurt and drinks. We recommend this to couples and families looking a great get away to a historic town without a lot of tourists. Note about the town: There are many shops and restaurants nearby, but on Sunday almost everything is closed. And be sure to watch the glockenspeil performance, which is offered several times a day.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suerdieckreise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

Visited Germany with several of my company team members. Hotel is in a very good location just a block from the shopping district. Very clean and excellent breakfast selection. Front desk was very responsive. I needed an electric adaptor and they did not have one. The front desk manager offered to go home to get it for me!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mike474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

As we live in Berlin, we decided to have a week-end-getaway only a couple of hours' drive with our 2 teens last august. We settled on Hameln (home of the piped Piper legend and known as "Hamelin" and "Hamlin" to the English speaking world) and on Quedlinburg (under UNESCO protection).

We chose the hotel Christinenhof because of its central location in the old town and the fact that it is part of the "Historical Hotels International" chain. But don't forget: Hameln is very tiny so even if your hotel is not in the "middle" of downtown, you'll be able to reach all that's to be seen by foot.

As we were travelling with the kids and booked our room very last minute, we got a large double room at the Christinenhof with a very, very comfy usual european-size bed (2m x 2m), big and modern bathroom, little tv-set. This was in the "new" part of the hotel's 2 buildings. For my husband and I, the bed was very comfortable but for our children, not so really. As I mentionned, we booked last minute so the only way our kids could be accomodated was with a sofa bed, which is ok for small kids but not for our 2 teens, 1m80 and 1m60 tall... So it was quite "quint" for the 2 of them to sleep on a sofa-bed that basically was big enough for one adult... But I suppose that if one books well in advance, something like this wouldn't happen as the hotel has bigger rooms. The kids could live with it for one night but more than that would have been problematic. We stayed only for one night in Hameln before moving on to Quedlinburg.

The typical half-timbered hotel is approx 300 years-old and completely renovated to the Nth degree. There are no traces of anything old in those buildings which is sad.

Cleanliness of the room (with carpet though) and hotel was perfect, reception was efficient and competent as expected in this country.

Breakfast was fantastic, with a wide choice ranging from the typical german muesli breakfast to scrambled eggs, to a wondeful choice of rolls-cheese-sausages and excellent coffee.

Unlike by usual trips, we didn't use or need the internet during our stay at this hotel. I do not know anything about it.

Convenient: the Christenhof has a couple of parking spots behind its 2 buildings for those travelling with their own cars. A large pedestrian-shopping street is very close to the hotel. You'll find everything there.

Nice: the tiny heated countercurrent swimming pool at the hotel, located in the basement of the main building. Our kids had a blast to swin against the stream. There is also a sauna for those interested.

To recommand: the large Biergarten on the Island, die Insel Hameln, accesible through a bridge over the Weser river. A lively, jam-packed with Hameln residents Biergarten. A strong contrast to some of the restaurants around the hotel that seemed to be only visited by non-German speaking tourists willing to pay exhorbitant prices for average food.

It seemed to us that the hotel's main guests are busloads of elderly travellers which pretty much guarantees that the place is ideal for a quite night of sleep ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xaxalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2006

Booked a suite in this hotel. not much really including B+B about £75. Massive suite with leather settees and big space all over. V comfy and amazingly clean. The breakfast buffet was very nice, typical German fare. Cute little swimming pool and sauna nice additions. Location superb. Highly recomended especially for the money

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ferdinand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marieanne_jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hameln hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Hameln
Mercure Hotel Hameln
#2 of 12 in Hameln
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#5 of 12 in Hameln
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stadt Hameln
Hotel Stadt Hameln
#8 of 12 in Hameln
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel An der Altstadt
Hotel An der Altstadt
#4 of 12 in Hameln
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zur Krone
Hotel Zur Krone
#9 of 12 in Hameln
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zur Boerse
Hotel Zur Boerse
#10 of 12 in Hameln
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christinenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christinenhof

Address: Alte Marktstr. 18, 31785 Hameln, Lower Saxony, Germany (Formerly City Partner Hotel Christinenhof)
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hameln
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hameln
Price Range: $140 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Christinenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Christinenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing