We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Goldene Krone
Hannover, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“a place to be”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

..Good service..good price...good food. The staff are very pleasant and heartwarming. I enjoyed every single moment I stayed especially the old architectural design. Is located in the center where you can see the beautiful side of this little town :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Opeyemi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
5
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night when we attended a wedding in Clausthal.

The hotel is in a good location and it is a nice traditional building, however, the rooms are a bit dated. The furniture and carpets seem to be a bit older and there is no air conditioning. The bathroom was very dark and I had to do my make-up in the room as there was more light.
Our room was facing the car park at the back of the building and was a lot less noisy than the rooms facing the main road.

The staff was friendly but did not seem very efficient and professional. The lady who checked us in just gave us the room key but didn't explain anything. There was no one there when we wanted to check out and we had to ask for somebody in the restaurant. The breakfast room was very nice and breakfast was good.
What really shocked me was that even though the hotel knew well in advance that a wedding party was going to stay on that day, some of the rooms (including the one of the bride and the groom!) were not ready.

Considering that this hotel is in a small town, I found the rate of 95 Euros quite high and don't think the value of money was very good. You get a much better deal in many cities.



  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for an evening meal whilst on a motorbike tour of the Harz Mountains. Both our meals were excellent and very tasty. Service was very good, friendly and helpful. Will probably eat here again on the way back through.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wrlamb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

This hotel is centrally located in Clausthal and is a rather old hotel, which is charming on one hand, on the other hand is does look a little run-down at some places. My room was at the back of the hotel, which was very quiet, had a TV and a somewhat small bed, but was in general OK. At some places the paint had come off the wood and the button of one of the lights was missing (you could see the wiring), which is the reason I gave the rooms only 3 points. The restaurant below serves a very good dinner and also for breakfast there is very wide choice of bread, cheese, yoghurts, musli, meat, fruits, etc. Service is friendly and professional, free WiFi is offered. Certainly recommendable for a short business stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clausthal-Zellerfeld hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Zum Harzer
Hotel Zum Harzer
#4 of 6 in Clausthal-Zellerfeld
44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wolfs Hotel
Wolfs Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clausthal-Zellerfeld
14 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harzhotel zum Prinzen
Harzhotel zum Prinzen
#2 of 6 in Clausthal-Zellerfeld
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Picco Bello
Picco Bello
#4 of 9 in Clausthal-Zellerfeld
16 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zellerfelder Hof
Zellerfelder Hof
#1 of 9 in Clausthal-Zellerfeld
12 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Haus Horenburg
#3 of 9 in Clausthal-Zellerfeld
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldene Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldene Krone

Property: Hotel Goldene Krone
Address: Kronenplatz 3, 38678 Clausthal-Zellerfeld, Lower Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Clausthal-Zellerfeld
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Clausthal-Zellerfeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Goldene Krone 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Goldene Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing