We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Bergstrom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bergstrom
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Luneburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Really nice hotel in the Lüneburg old town. Friendly staff, very responsive. Food is also good but don't miss the restaurants in the city, much cosier. If you have time book a massage, also highly recommended...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobo1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 446 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at Bergstrom for a business meeting in Jan 2013 and was very happy with the accomodations. The hotel is lovely, made up of several buildings and we were upgraded to a suite which was spacious, well decorated and very comfortable. I loved the charm of re-furbished old factory buildings being made into hotel rooms and suites. This made for some very intersting and unusual architecture. The hotel also had several restaurants on site which while pricey, were tasty and well run. I couldn't believe how quiet my room was, I never heard another door open or close on the floor and I know they were at full capacity.

Room Tip: Rooms up high have better view. Ask for room in tower if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cd b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very good location by the river on the edge of the old town - walking distance to restaurants and shops.
Well appointed rooms, always clean. Some are small with single - typical for Germany / northern Europe - some are bigger with larger beds.
Nice staff.
Nice bar always busy.
Good breakfast.
I like the sister hotel "altes kaufhaus" better - I have to point out that the Bergstrom has more character and is mire typical.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petitfleuronvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Welcoming porter gave excellent impression and was very helpful. Car park is quite small and we were lucky to get in it- bit pricy. Great location in midst of old mills though the hum from the water turbine under our building could have been an issue in summer with windows open. Small pool but did not use as naked swimmers had taken over even though I checked with reception and they said it was a costumed pool. The city is lovely with great walks.
Mealtimes at the hotel were a bit fraught as in the mornings (especially on Sunday) they seem to find it hard to cope with numbers. There was also an incredibly rude maître d’ who made me cry with his attitude and side remarks during the special meal I had booked for us. In all the hotels I have stayed I have never had this experience before – when my partner spoke to him about it he apparently did not speak English…. Another time we might stay in the sister hotel and hope for a better response.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed in a room on the third floor of one of the buildings adjacent to the hotel. The room was large and very comfortable with the exception of the heat in the room. Te air conditioning unit wasnt ample to cool the room down and had the unit on with the windows open all night to try and cool down the room. Also there are no lifts in this building so be advised to request a room in the main hotel if you cant make the 3 flights of steep stairs. The location of the hotel was perfect and the city is nice for one or 2 nightsbut don' know what you would do there for any longer. Be aware that the breakfast is pricey and not good value for money (not much of a selection).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building as there are no lifts in the other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Hotel Bergstrom in Luneburg was fantastic - beautiful hotel with a view of the river Llmenau. We arrived late in the afternoon and were given a small room facing the building next door - we were so disappointed! We went back to the front desk and asked if there was a room with a view. The very kind desk clerk gave us keys to room 321– it was absolutely fabulous! The room was very large, clean, modern but very cozy. Nice, clean bathroom. The view overlooked Luneburg’s water front district. We were lulled to sleep by a gentle breeze and the sound of the running river. Breakfast was hosted in a sun-filled, glass-roofed room. There was a wide assortment of choices – juice, rolls, cereals, cold cuts, bacon; you could even request a made-to-order omelet. The staff was cheerful and very attentive. The hotel provided free parking. We loved our stay!

Room Tip: Room 320 (to the left of room 321??) would have an unobstructed view of the water front. There was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweets55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great location . Good restaurant . Spacious rooms .

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luneburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altes Kaufhaus
Hotel Altes Kaufhaus
#1 of 21 in Luneburg
263 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Castanea Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Einzigartig - das kleine Hotel im Wasserviertel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Garni Amethyst
Hotel Garni Amethyst
#3 of 21 in Luneburg
72 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seminaris Hotel Luneburg
Seminaris Hotel Luneburg
#7 of 21 in Luneburg
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Scheffler
Hotel Scheffler
#14 of 21 in Luneburg
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bergstrom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergstrom

Address: Bei Der Luner Muhle, 21335, Luneburg, Lower Saxony, Germany (Formerly Hotel Luneburg)
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Luneburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luneburg
#1 Business Hotel in Luneburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luneburg
Price Range: $197 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bergstrom 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historical and lovingly renovated hotel buildings form a unique waterfront setting in the heart of the medieval town of Lüneburg. The comfortable guest rooms, junior suites and suites of our 4-star-superior property are integrated in medieval water mills, water towers and warehouses all located on the historical harbour front of the 1000-year-old hanseatic city. The hotel complex, consisting of 7 buildings with 2 restaurants, piano bar, wine shop, beer garden, waterfront deck, indoor pool, sauna, solarium and fitness, offers breathing space, diversity and relaxation for all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HRS, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bergstrom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergstrom Hotel lüneburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing