We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sonnenhuegel
Nearby Hotels
Villa Thea(Bad Kissingen)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Weisses Haus(Bad Kissingen)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Laudensacks Parkhotel(Bad Kissingen)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Parkhotel Cup Vitalis(Bad Kissingen)
$168
$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Astoria Hotel(Bad Kissingen)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pension Nordland(Bad Kissingen)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Villa Spahn(Bad Kissingen)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
25
69
42
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
69
42
23
14
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 173 reviews
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed here for a marriage conference for 2 nights. Our room was in Haus 3 which is the farthest away from the main building. I have back problems and have trouble walking long distances. We asked for another room closer to the main building and they said that everything was booked and would not help us. The carpet in our room looked like the outfits that Maria Von Trapp made for the children in the Sound of Music. The rooms were freezing at night. We had to put towels down on the floor in the bathroom to walk on the tile, it was just too cold without them. The buffet restaurant was nice and had a good variety of food. The indoor pool was nice but on the chilly side. It was a typical European room with twin beds. Yes, twin beds for adults!! They had a pull-out couch for my son but did not have a crib for my infant daughter. I was not crazy about this hotel and will not recommend it unless they update the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Teacherandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2006

This hotel is large, ugly and out-dated and does not deserve it's four star status. The prison block appearance is very offputting and unattractive. The buildings and decor are very dated. (Great if you like 70s and 80s style).Most facilities are old and tired. Don't be fooled by the website photos !
The pool is new but was very cold. The public rooms are fine and the restaurant was good, plenty of choice and the food was good quality . Drinks were very pricey but as captive cutomers there is no choice but to pay the prices charged. On the plus side everything was very clean and the hotel staff did their best to be helpful .I would return to Bad Kissingen but not this hotel. The area is worth exploring and there are lots of lovely cafes and resturants round about.Germany is beautiful but the Hotel Sonnenhugel is not.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Lorelei3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

the hotel is made up of big ugly concrete buildings (400 rooms), resembling more a multi story car park than a hotel. it is located high up on a hill, too far to walk into the town in the evening after dinner. the rooms are very clean but dated, dial telephones and push button tvs, bright orange 70s light shades, although efforts have been made to smarten up the rooms they are definately not 4 star quality. the walk up to dinner and breakfast every morning took us about 5 minutes from room to restaurant, if it was raining you had to go through the underground tunnel through the buildings to get to the main reception (quite creepy). The terrace was big, but bare and paint was peeling off the walls and ceilings, again the bright orange sun loungers dated from the 70s. The gardens around the hotel had no seating or loungers, you could only lounge around the outside pool (but you needed to go through the inside of the building, through the indoor pool to get to this area). the swimming pools were beautiful, but the water is so cold, not good for non active swimmers or children, the water is heated up to 29 degrees, which sounds a lot , but it isnt when you are in the water, and when you are sitting still in a jaccuzi. the restaurants were nice, breaksfast was great, dinner was nice too, although the starters could have been a little bit more varied, and the empty trays filled up quicker. the drinks at the bars were expensive, so if you didnt want to go into town you didnt really have a choice about paying the high prices. the animation team were good, and had different activities arranged if you wanted to take part. the staff in the hotel were very very friendly and did their utmost to help in any way they could.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tedlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
west-vlaanderen,Belgium
15
Reviewed November 11, 2004

The stay was very nice. We had a great summer
The hotel was nice and beautiful and the staf of the hotel were very friendly
The food was simple very good and varies
The swimmingpool was a little bti older but clean and nice for the little ones.
We were with 2 persons and 2childeren (5 years & 8 years)

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2004

Hello,

We've had a very nice stay in the studio. everything was very clean and neat. We'll come back

3  Thank Carindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews