We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only stay here if you are on the top floor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Frankenland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Frankenland
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bad Kissingen
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Only stay here if you are on the top floor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This wouldn't have been my first choice in hotels (based on some of the other reviews here), but I was in Bad Kissingen for a wedding and this is where they did the room block. We paid the premium to stay in a junior suite, which was more spacious and had air-conditioning. Although the rest of the hotel looked like it was from the 80's, you could tell that our room had been recently renovated, but the materials they used were cheap (i.e. in the bathroom and other locations they used faux stone with a textured veneer, rather than the real thing).

I'm sure that if I stayed in one of the standard rooms, I probably would've given this place only 1 or 2 stars.

There is no valet parking here -- instead, you have to self-park (for a fee) in an underground lot with really cramped spaces (so try to get a small rental car if you plan on parking there).

Breakfast was ok, but on the morning that we had left, there was nobody attending the dining area.

The front desk staff were friendly and definitely tried to be helpful, but you can tell that they were young and not really that experienced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m3linda_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    70
    52
    26
    17
See reviews for
16
80
15
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I would agree with most of the review of serene 4848.Skimpy towels is an understatement mine was so threadbare you could see through it. The sort of quality you usually find in a no star hotel Pool and spa area were on the other hand 5 star with lovely sauna area ,separate sauna for women if you are not quite ready for the German fabric free unisex. Only complaint is they allow smoking right by the pool which seem the antithesis of healthy It would be very easy to create a non-smoking zone. Upgraded one night for a superior room Not worth the extra even if the towels were better. Service was horrible We had to argue to pay the bill for our extra night that was not covered by the conference When we asked for sparkling water not still in our room it took a management exception. Extraordinary since the cheaper room had sparkling water. Customer service is not a priority Clearly this hotel caters mainly for tours and it shows. Could not recommend it for an independent traveler

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toffeenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

I had the pleasure of attending a conference in this beautiful town.

The public space is beautifully designed. Bright and spacious hall leading to the rooms. There is a bar/lounge off the main lobby.

My room was larger than your typical European hotel room. Pleasant minimalist decor. A drawback - no air conditioning and it was unseasonably hot.

The food was incredible. Always buffet style with great selections. I didn't try the restaraunt or clubs on site. I didn't partake in the spa but the pools and spa areas were raved about by others.

My only major complaint was the conference venue. The rooms were far flung in different corners of the hotel and it took time time to master the rabbit warren halls to find specific rooms.

Another drawback is you have to subscribe to t-mobile for the Internet. Although I was only there for four nights, it was more cost effective to purchase a month access. Regardless, it is a rip-off.

These points aside, it is still a 5 star property.




  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pentangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Lots of 60+ crowd. Food was excellent and included with my conference. Workout area was quite good with dedicated lap pool, several each of stair steppers, elliptical, stationary bike, and weight machines. One excellent treadmill. Very sunny which can make it a little warm. I wouldn't choose to go to this town, but for a conference I wouldn't dread it, except for the wifi. I paid 45 euro for a month of wifi from Telkom, and I had to stand in the bathroom to get a signal. Hotel really needs to install the routers so that there is sufficient signal in all the rooms.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank aaronfmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Was there for a conference which included all meals. Very limited parking for 8 euro/day~we used the Theatre parking around the corner for 3 euro/day. Staff quite friendly and spoke english well. Our room had a balcony which we were unable to use as the sliding glass doors would not open making the room a bit stuffy. View from the 4th floor of a church was nice. Room was clean with thin euro type pillows/duvets. Minibar/fridge empty~you must order what you would like it stocked with 24 hours in advance. Bathroom had skimpy towels and the crazy shower "door" opened in 3 "stages" and we always managed to have the floor soaking every time. The bath/room amenities were non-existant except for small soap and tiny bottle of shampoo. Did have a good hairdryer and the reading lights in the room was good when one of you wanted to read and the other sleep.

Breakfast was typical and the staff were quick with the coffee and pleasant. Lunch and dinner was buffet style due to the conference and was "institutional" in it's presentation and quality and lacked freshness/flavor. The bar downstairs was nice and open and though their selection of wines was small it was ok and the prices were fair.

You had to pay by the hour for wifi or use one of the 2 computers they had for their guests. I did not use their "spa" facilities so can not comment on them but the pool area looked well kept.
It is very close to the walking areas of Bad Kissingen and their Hauptstrasse (walking/shopping zone) which was very convenient and pleasant to walk early in the morning or evening.

It was an ok experience for a conference but lacked the ambiance/quality of a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serene4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Texas
Level Contributor
315 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

The Hotel Frankenland is a good choice for a conference. The hotel is neither charming nor quaint, but it is run efficiently. Our room was rather spare (white, gray, black color scheme), but it was large and clean. The bathroom was equipped with modern fixtures and was fastidiously clean. Our breakfast, lunch, and dinner were all part of the conference package and were tasty and abundant. Especially notable were the cook-to-order items at lunch (fish, stir fry). Eating on my own for lunch in the hotel's informal restaurant, I found their kase spaetzle were excellent, comparing very favorably with the absolute best I have ever eaten. The meeting rooms were large, and airy. Snacks provided during breaks featured a wide variety of fresh fruit, cakes and pastries. The workout room was small for a facility of this size. Finally, there are on-going renovations throughout the hotel, with much use of a light palate (gray, white, chrome and white marble). There are still areas of the hotel that use a color scheme from the '80s ( the unique German penchant for orange, green, and brown). These areas look very dated and are probably the route cause for some of the criticisms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asta365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Friendly staff at the reception, but barely spoke English.

No wifi internet anywhere in the hotel (only two computers in the lobby, free of charge).

Very spacious room, but was cold on arrival, with outdated furniture and facilities.

Empty minibar.

Terrible soundproofing.

Good central location.

Has the potential to be a very good hotel, after a lot of renovations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Konstantinos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bad Kissingen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Kissingen hotels
0.2 mi away
Dappers Hotel | Spa | Genuss
Dappers Hotel | Spa | Genuss
#3 of 31 in Bad Kissingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Cup Vitalis
Parkhotel Cup Vitalis
#1 of 31 in Bad Kissingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Bad Kissingen
Wyndham Garden Bad Kissingen
#5 of 31 in Bad Kissingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kaiserhof Victoria
Hotel Kaiserhof Victoria
#22 of 31 in Bad Kissingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laudensacks Parkhotel
Laudensacks Parkhotel
#4 of 31 in Bad Kissingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sonnenhuegel
Hotel Sonnenhuegel
#10 of 31 in Bad Kissingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Frankenland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frankenland

Property: Hotel Frankenland
Address: Fruehlingstr. 11, 97688 Bad Kissingen, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Bad Kissingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Bad Kissingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Frankenland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Frankenland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing