We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Der Westerhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Der Westerhof Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tegernsee
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This is such a lovely hotel. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite which made our stay completely perfect. However even with a less glamorous room this hotel would be worth the 5* review.

The views are amazing and the gardens are beautiful. The staff are really helpful and friendly. They also speak English fluently which helps if you're an ignorant Englishman with
only limited German phrases.

The breakfast offers a good range of options, including plenty for veggies, and they have very good coffee.

It's a long way up the mountain and the walk isn't for the faint hearted but they do offer a shuttle service from the station.

We'll definitely be going back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hard_Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear guests,

thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay and thank you for your wonderful words. To say that “you loved it” means that you really must have enjoyed your stay at the "Hotel Der Westerhof” and it is such a lovely sentiment.

I am so glad, we were able to make you feel so comfortable. Indeed, with our shuttle service, we are trying to shorten distances, but “amazing views and beautiful gardens” are not so easy to find at the station or at other places further down.

I am deeply humbled by your enthusiasm on behalf of our staff members.

Thank you again and I am happy to read that you will definitely be coming back for a visit.
We hope to see you again pretty soon.

Warm regards
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    33
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
74
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Schwetzingen, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

i was there in a business meeting, rooms and catering were just great. with the calm, convenient location and the great views over Tegernsee this is a must be location for offsite meetings. i had a large room,which actually was a suite with a living room and a bedroom and a bath.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlPopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. So happy to have exceeded all your expectations during your stay and your business meeting with us.
Looking forward to welcome you back pretty soon and provide a memorable, phenomenal stay again.

Yours sincerely
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

It has an amazing look of Tegernsee. Even though getting there is a bit complicated, you have to be careful in the road.

Service is great! Breakfast is totally worth it, for other meals try to go somewhere else cause their meals are expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zairux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for choosing the Hotel Der Westerhof during your stay in Tegernsee and we appreciate your taking the time to let others know about your experience.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the amazing look over the wonderful lake.

Looking forward seeing you again when you are back in the area.

Kind regards
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel itself is set up in the hillside with splendid views over Tegernsee. Our room was very comfortable with a balcony to enjoy the view. The downside was being told by reception that the restaurant was fully booked even though we had arrived early to check in? He advised us to eat at the restaurant down the road (200 metres away). When I checked the prices of the restaurant, I was glad we had to eat elsewhere, €50 a head without any drinks!

Another plus is the breakfast buffet, well stocked and plenty of variety.

Overall a nice place to stay but their dinner menu is ridiculously priced and poorly catered for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is in a stunning location and has a lovely person feel

I had a stunning view from my room and felt as the staff all enjoyed working here and nothing was a problem for them.

Even had someone come and dig my car out the morning after heavy snow, this just happened didn't have to struggle or ask.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ME_aw_165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your wonderful review. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the location 180 meters high above Lake Tegernsee.

We really appreciate the positive comments on behalf of the hotel staff.
Personality and individuality in guest service is our utmost goal, even during heavy snowfalls.

Maybe there is a chance to return in Summer and you´ll be thrilled again by the beautiful landscape around the hotel.

Thanks a lot and looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner
Hotel Der Westerhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I have nothing to complain about this hotel and can only recommend to stay here. It is about one hour drive from Munich, they will also pick upfront the train station. Stayed here several times and will stay again, to relax work go skiing, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belgier24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear customer,

thank you very much for staying with us once again, for your loyalty and the wonderful review.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and appreciate your feedback, which will certainly be passed along to the team.

Kind regards
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner
Hotel Der Westerhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, FL
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here two nights during our recent trip and it was perfect....with regard to service, the room, THE VIEW, and the food. I really wish I got the name of the man that worked there and helped us so much....maybe he'll see this review and recall his assisting us. Once we checked in, I had several questions regarding train travel, the area and helping us organize a hot air balloon ride and this guy was so, so very helpful and kind. He walked us around once we arrived, he gave us train schedules and explained exactly how to return our rental car and catch the train in the next town over, he then made phone calls for us to the balloon company and helped organize the time and meeting place for the ride, then lastly, my husband mentioned that he likes to smoke cigars and he happened to have some there for sale so that we didn't need to go to the store in town to purchase. The room was perfect, the views ARE AMAZINGLY STUNNING and the breakfast was delicious. We made several stops during our 10 day visit in Germany and we agree....Tegernsee and this hotel were by far, the highlight!! Thank you Der Westerhof.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XOITALY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your GREAT review.
We are glad, that we could make you feel home from home and did provide all necessary information upon check-in and during your stay!
Happy to realize, that your hot air balloon trip was an unforgettable adventure, since the weather was perfect for taking wonderful panoramic pictures.
Perfect, that you were able to come to Tegernsee this September and experience some of our beautiful fall colours!
By the way, it was Mr. Niels van Meerwijk, the Director of the Hotel, who took care of you most of the time.

We do hope you find your way back to Hotel Der Westerhof - we’d love to welcome you back.

Warm regards from Lake Tegernsee!
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner
Hotel Der Westerhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tegernsee
0.2 mi away
Das Tegernsee
Das Tegernsee
#1 of 9 in Tegernsee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seehotel Luitpold
Seehotel Luitpold
#2 of 9 in Tegernsee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ledererhof Hotel
Ledererhof Hotel
#5 of 9 in Tegernsee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
#1 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bachmair Weissach
Hotel Bachmair Weissach
#2 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bachmair Hotel am See
Bachmair Hotel am See
#9 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Westerhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Westerhof Hotel

Property: Der Westerhof Hotel
Address: Olaf-Gulbransson-Str. 19, 83684 Tegernsee, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Tegernsee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tegernsee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Der Westerhof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Westerhof, formerly part of the Tegernsee monastery, is set in a sunny location in the traditional Tegernsee Tal valley approx. 180m above the lake. The old Bavarian farmhouse hosts a family-run hotel with tastefully equipped rooms. Sunbathing terrace in the park, south-facing balconies with stunning views of the Alpine foothills and the valley. Numerous hiking trails and ski slopes nearby. A playground for your kids, library and conference rooms with internet access also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Der Westerhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing