We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we could have stayed longer”
Review of Hotel Waldmann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Waldmann
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wished we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We booked into hotel waldmann on a one night stopover in Schwangau to visit the castles Neuschwanstein and hohenschwangau whilst travelling around europe.
It is a quaint bavarian guest house, with picture postcard views off the mountains, upon arrival we were greeted by the owner of this family run business, who was so friendly and couldn't be more helpful.
We had a twin room with two very comfortable single beds, ample wardrobe and drawer space, a nice bathroom with shower and a balcony overlooking the mountains. If you require a bath tub there is also a separate bathroom with a large tub for anyone in need of a hot soak.
Breakfast was included in the room price, a continental breakfast with a good choice of cooked meats and bread brought to your table along with tea or coffee and fresh juice, also was a choice of fresh fruit,yoghurt and cereal, with excellent service and warm, friendly atmosphere.
There are ample car parking spaces which are free and the hotel is an approx 10 minute walk to the castles ticket booking office,which saves on paking close by as all are 5euros minimum charge.
The hotel restaurant is closed on a wednesday (open for breakfast only),but there are plenty of alternatives close by.
This is not a luxury hotel by any means, but for a clean comfortable friendly stay you couldn't wish for anything better, and great value for money.

Room Tip: Twin rooms with balconies very comfortable with great views in a peaceful location. single rooms al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    90
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
90
106
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a no-frills hotel, but very clean and the staff are super friendly. You can almost walk to the castles, but better to drive and park as close as you can as there is a LOT of walking up to both castles. The hotel serves a lovely breakfast and the restaurant itself has excellent meals in the evening. In fact, we tried to return here for an evening meal as the first one had been outstanding! You just cannot go wrong with German hotels. They are clean, budget friendly, and the breakfasts are unbeatable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We only stayed for 1 night. My email liaison was efficient and extremely friendly. On arrival they were warm and friendly. The room was rather tight having had an extra bed put in for my son, but the room was clean and warm.

Room Tip: If you wanting to see the Castles you have to drive, park then walk. Walking from this Guest house i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Speachless - Me and my fiancee went to this hotel last week for a long weekend. ITs perfectly located between the civilitation and the fairy tale place. You got the castles a 30 -40 min walking, other 30 min and you will have Schwangau, where you can rent a bike for 8€ /day and ride the whole day

If you are a young couple and you don't want to spend too much money this is your place, I recommend this for families too as the rooms and the guesthouse well equiped.Our Rooms had a proper bathroom.

Don't expect a super mega sweet hotel, This is a guest house, and as such, is homely and cute, not luxus and posh.

I will come back!! :)

Room Tip: Room 11, where you can see Newschwanstein from the bed! :o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurinha89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

A very traditional guesthouse that is a must to try when staying in Bavaria. Comfortable 2 room family suite that suited us perfectly. Breakfast was a great start in the morning. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Sorry we could not stay longer. Great views in the winter from the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimAus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I stayed here for one night, rather by coincidence than on purpose, but as it was getting late when arriving at Neuschwanstein and without having booked any other accommodation, I decided to give it a try. The reception was really welcoming and they gave me the last available room with a 'shared' bathroom, which no one else was using, though. The room was no-frills (a small sink though) but pleasently clean and for the price of 40 EUR there was nothing to complain about. Staff & Owner were extremly friendly and in case you have a chance to eat dinner in their restaurant you'll have to try the venison with spaetzle, which is worthwhile the stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinInSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed there for one night. We received the last room they had available, which was on the top floor. We had our own bathroom (which I think other rooms did not) and a great little balcony where we could see the castle. The bedding was nice, but the bed was not too comfortable. This was a no-frills room, but we were pleased with the cleanliness and the staff were wonderful. Would definitely recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tldani2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
0.3 mi away
Landhotel Guglhupf
Landhotel Guglhupf
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
330 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#3 of 16 in Schwangau
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
424 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
655 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hanselewirt
Hotel Hanselewirt
#9 of 16 in Schwangau
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldmann

Property: Hotel Waldmann
Address: Parkstr. 5 | Alterschrofen, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Waldmann 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LOCATION of your cosy holiday home is a delight! Close to everything, wonderfully positioned just below the "King's castles", near the Schwansee and Alpsee lakes, surrounded by unique natural mountain scenery. There are plenty of walks and opportunities for cross-country skiing on your doorstep. The Tegelberg cable railway and the shops in Füssen are just 2 km away. And there are no limits to the leisure facilities you can enjoy nearby. A holiday full of variety is waiting for you here! THE HOTEL in Alterschrofen near Schwangau has a great tradition! Enjoy the atmosphere of warm hospitality and personal attention in a relaxed family setting. You'll be captivated by the view of the mountains and castles. Children's playground – plenty of parking. Enjoy a blissful night's sleep in our single, double or spacious multi-bed rooms. We offer bed and breakfast or half-board accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Waldmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing