We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views of the castle and very good food.”
Review of Hotel Hanselewirt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hanselewirt
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
581 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“great views of the castle and very good food.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were visiting the area and the castles and found this hotel on booking.com and got quite a good deal.
The welcome was friendly and the rooms were comfortable and very clean.
They have a roof top restaurant / bar with great views of the castle. The food was excellent - despite the huge portions.
We had a room over the front door and there were street cleaners/rubbish removal early and they are noisy....
The only let down was the internet. You need to sign in and the provider sends a text with a pass number to your mobile... if you don't have a mobile that works in German you can't get online....
I would definitely recommend it if you are exploring the surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An_Expat_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    52
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
24
73
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Nestled beneath Neuschwanstein castle, the hotel hanselewirt was quaint and quintessential German. Cows outside outside your front door and castle views from your window!! The food was very good and service excellent!! Expect a few locals in the restaurant. Walking distance to the castle, great spot to launch your castle tours

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbst5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The room has a great view of Neuschwanstein castle. Room is large with lots of windows. Excellent internet service. Beds are comfortable. The staff has been great. Dinner was such a pleasant surprise. You have to try to cheese dumplings with grilled onions and any salad with the sour cherry dressing. Be AWARE, you will be served too much very good food. We feel very lucky to have found this hotel. Our thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: Room 3 is large upstairs room with excellent view of the castle and balcony. Bathroom is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Everett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here without a reservation and the staff were nice. Our room was very small but served our needs. It snowed the entire time visiting and this didn't affect service in the least. We ate twice in the pub and it was pleasant. Breakfast was typically European though we enjoyed having boiled egg as an option. The shower was tiny and bed was pretty hard but all else met expectations.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsNomadicSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was one of the best 100 euro hotels I have ever stayed in. The room was large, modern and very clean. This hotel is really secondary to the restaurant below which is large and popular, serving mostly locals. The food excellent and has things different from your usual German food. In September we had fresh cepes [mushrooms]--a special, not on the menu. We ate there both nights and that is something we seldom do. The castles are a five minute drive away and the Wies church is 20 kms. We loved it and wanted to stay another day but the hotel was booked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogcarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Very clean and very fresh rooms, castle view from the windows, free parking and WiFi, middle of Schwangau. Freshly baked rolls for breakfast just added to its lovely atmosphere.
Strange smell of cows in a hallway - didn't affect the rooms though, high dinner prices and not very talkative staff were the weak points but would stay there again and can honestly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malakir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

The hotel was very quaint, and suited us just fine for a brief stay in the equally quaint village. We loved the Bavarian feel to the town, complete with dairy cows wearing bells walking down the street right in front of the hotel. The room was small, but comfortable, and the bathroom was nice. Both were very clean.
Breakfast was lovely and a great way to fuel up before hiking up to the castles. We also dined in the restaurant for supper, and my husband thought it was one of the best meals he had in all of Germany! He raved about the pork cordon bleu!!
We also appreciated the free internet connection!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ_14_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schwangau hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#3 of 16 in Schwangau
288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Landhotel Guglhupf
Landhotel Guglhupf
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#8 of 16 in Schwangau
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#5 of 16 in Schwangau
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hanselewirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hanselewirt

Property: Hotel Hanselewirt
Address: Mitteldorf 13, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hanselewirt 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gasthof Hanselewirt is a small, family-run guesthouse at the foothills of the Bavarian Alps in the picturesque town of Schwangau. We are a few minutes drive from Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castles. We have a popular restaurant serving Bavarian specialities as well as international favourites. We have a play area for our younger guests and a roof-top terrace offering spectacular views of the Bavarian Alps and Neuschwanstein Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Hanselewirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Hanselewirt Schwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing