We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Weinbauer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Weinbauer
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Just a few facts:
The hotel's cat.B rooms has a very picturesque view with mountains and castles.
Schwangau village is much more quiet place than HohenSchwangau overcrowded by buses/tourists.
The hotel's restaurant seems to be the best in Schwangau.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sklifasovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    101
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
76
130
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

This hotel is in a great location just down the road from the castles everyone is here to see. The view from our room and balcony of the mountains was beautiful, and if you stretched you could see Neuschwanstein. I'm sure some rooms have a proper view of the castle. Breakfast was good. Plenty of car parking space. It snowed while we were here but the rooms were certainly warm enough. Several other restaurants around which are good as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rognrikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

This hotel is ideally situated to enjoy both the castles and the thermal baths which are right down the road. It has an excellent restaurant and is located across the road from a grocery store. Their new spa is a real bonus, steam room, sauna, heated lounges!

We had a sick child while there and the front desk was very helpful in providing a local doctor.

High speed internet and computer available in a family lounge area.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omioklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

This place was great, you can see the Castle from your balcony which was very large. The bathroom was very modern and the hotel was great. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

No complaints.
Typical German style breakfast was good.

no wifi

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Letsgoonatriphoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

We again spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel, and always look forward to returning. The room are clean and slightly above average in size for European hotels. Great location about 1 km from the ticket office for Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau Castles. Great reception, helpful, well managed. But best of all perhaps is the food. Best restaurants in the area.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tourop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

Our room came as ordered, with a wonderful view across the meadows to Schloss Neuschwanstein and was simply furnished with a newly fitted and excellent bathroom. Service was a little erratic, especially as we had booked half board but no-one seemed to know this; we ate a la carte (actually probably not a bad thing).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

This is a traditional german Gasthaus so for overseas guests, dont expect anything like an american or english hotel! The rooms are simple and clean - a little bit dated but most of these traditional places are. It is larger than it looks, it has around 40 rooms & has some good facilities - they have a free internet computer, a lounge, washing facilities, spa facilities & the pub/restaurant. Western tourists be warned...germans dont mind pets, dogs in particular, being taken into public areas & whilst we were there a couple of guests took their huge horse-sized hunting dogs into the restaurant for dinner! It made for some entertainment when 2 sets of dogs tried to fight each other in the dining room! But by the reactions of the german guests around us, this is not unusal. In fact, whilst we travelled through germany I noticed most bars/pubs/restaurants/shops had patrons with dogs.
The hotel itself is located in the next village down from the castles, so it was helpful for us to have a car to travel the 10km's to where you have to go to see the castles. If you want to be within walking distance you need to stay in hoenschwangau. But this hotel was still very convienant & quiet & I would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Moogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
0.9 mi away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.8 mi away
Landhotel Guglhupf
Landhotel Guglhupf
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#5 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weinbauer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weinbauer

Property: Hotel Weinbauer
Address: Fuessener Str. 3, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Schwangau
#2 Spa Hotel in Schwangau
#3 Family Hotel in Schwangau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Weinbauer 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Weinbauer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weinbauer Hotel Schwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing