We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Weinbauer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Weinbauer
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel had availability even though my travel companion and I arrived after 10 pm with no reservations. Room was clean and comfortable, and the view out the window was jaw dropping beautiful. I wish that I didn't need to leave so early the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumnsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    101
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
76
131
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Replacement cost of the key was 60 Euros. Nothing fancy about the key fob -- just a clear plastic box with the number of the room embedded in it. Certainly not worth 60 Euros.

In general, the hotel is adequate for a one night stay while visiting the castle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our room had an amazing view of the castles. It was quaint and charming. The staff was as good as it gets. They were friendly, helpful and very accommodating. The restaurant was not part of the hotel but attached. The food and service was great as well. The only small caution is the room has no AC and it was a little warm, but more than bearable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralph s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our room had a balcony which was nice but we didn't have much of a view. I'm pretty sure rooms with views cost more. The room itself was okay but not spectacular. My wife had particular problems with the flow bee hairdryer system, but I don't use them so it didn't bother me. The breakfast was disappointing and consisted of cold cuts, sandwich/deli cheese, and what seemed like fruit cocktail right out of the can. Parking was a little difficult as well, but free. The location is awesome though for hiking, biking, castle views, and various outdoor activities. It really is perfect for visiting the castles w/o breaking the bank to stay in Hotel Muller or something in that area. About a 5-10 minute drive to the castles. We ate in the hotel restaurant one night and it was very good, worth trying especially if you are staying more than one night. Internet is free. There is also a little Italian restaurant across the street (Giovanni's) that surprised us and had really good pizza. There's also a little supermarket across the street. There is no mini fridge though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSmythes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Rooms were great and were recently updated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and probably one of the best we had on our 6 week trip throughout Europe. The wellness centre was really nice and a lot better than I was expecting. It has everything you need to relax in a good atmosphere. There is also laundry service avaialble for very cheap. 1 euro to wash and 1 euro to dry, which is rare from what I have seen. Parking is in abundance and the location is very close to everything. The restaurant attached to the hotel is really good, but a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harps13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

You could not find a better location for visiting Castle Neuschwanstein (visible from our outdoor patio) if only for the location. Breakfast was very good and included lox on Sunday morning. In the basement was an outstanding spa that included a steam room and sauna for our use. Visiting multiple castles and hiking down much of the mountain from the tram up in one day left us in need of some pampering and the hotel provided it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Plc1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torino
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have staied in Schwangau (near Fussen and the Neuschwanstein castle) in June, with my husband, for 4 nights. The hotel is on the main street toward Fussen, in the contest of the Romantic Strasse and near the Forgensee lake.
The hotel is a 3stars with a SPA and an independent tipical German Restaurant.
Near there are, also, two Italian Restaurants and some Pubs and brasserie.
The personal is very ospitally. The room where I have staied , at first floor without elevator, is a large double room with a desk, a sofa and a table with two chairs. There is a big wardrobe and one small with some furniture for TV. The floor is carpeted. The single room is not so different.
The bath has, in addition to the sanitary (shower), a mirror and a hairdryer, two big and small towel.
There was also, a balcony with a sightseeing to the caste with a table and chairs.
The breakfast is full of salty food (cheese, ham, eggs, salami, butter…) or marmalade,Nutella, orange juice, honey with two/ tree varieties of bread….coffee, tea..
During my stay It rained and it turned into a hailstorm. I did not hear any noise with all windows closed.
I didn’t hear the traffic on the main road at night because there are few cars. Schwangau isn’t a big city.
I think that I will return in this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samalaTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
0.9 mi away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Landhotel Guglhupf
Landhotel Guglhupf
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#5 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weinbauer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weinbauer

Property: Hotel Weinbauer
Address: Fuessener Str. 3, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Schwangau
#2 Spa Hotel in Schwangau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
#3 Family Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Weinbauer 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Weinbauer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weinbauer Hotel Schwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing