We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nestled in a valley, a wonderful, restful location!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Schwangau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gasthof am See
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Traveling with my husband, son and his family, we visited the local castles and decided to stay in this area one night. We called and reserved 2 rooms the same afternoon, and were able to enjoy a restful, wonderful evening. The staff were welcomed us and made us feel comfortable from the start. We reserved a table since we were a party of 6, and enjoyed a delicious dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The staff was so helpful, and shared their few English menus with my family. The breakfast was plentiful, and delicious as well.

I would really recommend this to anyone looking for a great value, on the shores of this beautiful lake. Definitely returning here whenever we travel to this area!

Room Tip: Courteous, welcoming staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nab800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 43 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2006

Arrived to this hotel as a walk-in guest. We were greeted but no particularly personalized outstanding reception. But I have to say that their rooms are big, spacious, clean, decorations, style are quite similar to other hotels in the area. After my stay here, I went to another hotel (4 stars) in the area (Schwangau-Horn) which was “supposed” to be much nicer but then I regret about the fact that the room standards of both hotels are exactly the same, and here I spent 63.00 euro (almost US$ 80.00) less per night.

The hotel is located by the lake Forggensee (ask for lake side when possible) not seeable from the main road (Munchenerstrasse or Romantic Road) in Waltenhofen which is adjacent to the town of Schwangau. Everything is very close so it is easy to find. There are cycling paths by the lake and the area is almost completely traffic free.

The restaurant is nicely cozy decorated and the buffet breakfast is very good, comparing to the other 4stars hotels in the area is not such a big difference (maybe a couple of choices less of tea and marmalade?)

Have to say, staff doesn’t speak much English and sometimes they response in German (a good opportunity to learn some German, no?) but staff did all possible to make our stay enjoyable. Cannot complain, even I asked for dinner at 22:30 (10:30 p.m.) after explaining them that we had a long day tour and we were served with no pulled-faces (as may happen in other places) soups and sandwiches (this one was an unexpected large sandwich with salad as entry!)

To visit the castles, the Kristall therme etc. is very easy drive, and a good place to start either southwards (Neuschwanstein castle, Fussen, Linderhof, Austria) or northwards (Romantic Road, all the way to Munich, if wanted!)

I found really good value this hotel and is very popular among German guests. I would come back to this hotel if opportunity arises.

6  Thank Tualie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Toia142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank sissi19792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer mit Seesicht sind zu empfehlen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schwangau hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Landhotel Huberhof
Landhotel Huberhof
#13 of 16 in Schwangau
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hanselewirt
Hotel Hanselewirt
#11 of 16 in Schwangau
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#5 of 16 in Schwangau
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gasthof am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof am See

Address: Forggenseestr. 81, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing