We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel, with the best restaurant!”
Review of Bei Weirich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bei Weirich
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked this hotel because of the reasonable price in high season and its perfect location (5 minute car drive to the 2 castles - Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau - and Füssen).
We were very happy about the hotel: price quality is good, breakfast included and everything was clean.

But the best surprise was the restaurant: The (friendly) owner cooked us the most delicious meal of our 3 week vacation (again, for reasonable prices).
If you stay in the area, in this hotel or an other, you must eat in this restaurant!

Rating of the hotel: good
Rating of the restaurant: EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 58 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

We booked this hotel because it was cheap, but we were very pleasantly surprised. We were greeted by the owner, who is a very friendly English-woman, and she gave us a room on the top floor with a balcony and little living area, which was an upgrade! The room was clean and comfortable, the only thing that worried me a little was that there seemed to be a lot of noise coming from the road next to the hotel, but that quietened down by night time and didn't disturb us at all.
It is in a wonderful location, extremely close to the castles; schloss neuschwanstein and schloss hohenschwangau... i think it took us about 10 mins from the hotel to the car park at the base of the castles. Beautiful surroundings and very friendly staff.
But the real highlight of this hotel is the restaurant, even if you don't stay there, you must eat there! This was the best meal we had the whole time we were in Germany... the food there is cooked to perfection... you have to wait a little while for it to arrive at the table, but that's how it should be when your food is cooked from scratch, fresh to order. We were very satisfied customers and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We have been welcome from the back door, entering in a smelly stairs. Room was quite large with two separate bedrooms, but bathroom was with just an (used) soap, and some towels. Extremely noisy, balcony needs to be painted.
Even if it was fo two adult and two childs, price of 113 euros is not fair. Last problem: only cash accepted without any prior advise. There are many better hotel in the same area, leave it. No grazie.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed here for one night during September 2011. We were looking for a basic, budget hotel, really just a bed for the night........Bei Weirich seemed to fit the bill as it was fairly cheap (I think approx 60E per night including breakfast) and the reviews on 'bookings.com' and 'trip advisor' were ok.

The owner was very pleasant and the hotel was ok, quite basic, certainly nothing special, but our room was clean and it was acceptable for a last minute overnight stay. There was a group of 4 people in the dining room having dinner when we arrived - this area and the bar area were quite run down and not really very inviting. When we went back down to get something to eat (approx 8pm) we couldn't find anyone to serve us. We had a look through into the kitchen and it looked very old and run down, after seeing the kitchen we weren't too keen on eating at the hotel so we decided to go elsewhere for dinner.

There was a car parking area available at the back of the hotel and we were only a 5 minute drive from the Neuschwanstein Castle and Hohenschwangau Castle...........which was ideal as we had planned to visit these the next day.

Unfortunately I was suddenly very ill during the night and at midnight had to go to hospital............there was no information pack in the hotel and no emergency contact information. This was not a nice situation to be in as we didn't speak German and did not know the area or any emergency contact details (we'll not make that mistake again!! Will now always keep a note of phone numbers for emergency services for the country we are in!). My fiance tried to find the hotel owner but could not get any response, luckily we had sat nav in the car and just entered 'nearest hospital', Fussen hospital was only a few minutes drive away thankfully. I ended up getting kept in hospital overnight so can't comment on the breakfast at Bei Weirich! (the hospital care & food were first class however!! :) )
My fiance spoke to the owner about the situation the next morning so hopefully there will be emergency contact information in the rooms now(?).

We'll hopefully be back in this area again as we never made our trip to the castles. Although the Bei Weirich Hotel was ok I probably wouldn't stay there again, with a bit more planning I'd rather pay a little extra for something a bit nicer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lotrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The oweners of the place are very nice but their hotel was not as expected. Yes there is parking place and yes our room (n 10) was facing the castle, but it was not clean enough.
We found spider web beside our bed and in the bathroom. There was no place to open our suitcase so we had to use the floor of the room (not easy). We ate at the restaurant once. Food was average. Service was ok but not good.They definitely need to renovate their property if they want to keep it functional.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NIMA_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Yes, it is located at a busy street, but it woeks for a night or two. The owners are charming and breakfast was wonderful. The hot chocolate was to die for. A great place to spend the night while visiting the beautiful castles nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

My friend and I stayed here on a backpacking trip through Europe last year. We absolutely loved staying here. The owners are an elderly couple, Bei Wierich is the name of the man, and they make your stay completely enjoyable.

Food-They cook your breakfast (included in the nightly rate) and serve lunch and dinner for a fee. The food was delicious and they had a great selection of wine. The only problem was that for us, two vegetarians, all the entrees include meat so we ended up eating fish. I have to recommend the hot chocolate in the morning, we stayed there three nights and I had it every morning, it was delicious.

Location-We were here in April and there was still snow on the ground. It was the most beautiful place I've seen in the world. You are surrounded by mountains, the most beautiful and majestic mountains. You are a 20 minute walk from the nearby town of Fussen and to the castles about a half hour. At night the castles are lit in the mountains, it's just stunning. There are many bodies of water nearby that are so clean, they are green glacier water. I fell in love with this place and took hundreds of pictures.

Staff-Like I said the couple who runs this place are so friendly and nice. They are German but speak English very well. My friend left her camera in the taxi that brought us there and they arranged for her to meet the taxi driver and get it back. It was so nice of them because we do not speak German and the taxi driver did not speak English. They also helped us out immensely for where to go and what to see. They had plenty of maps and gave them to us to get to the castles and also to Fussen. They had the train schedules which were great. They are such interesting people who have traveled all over, you could go here just to meet them and it would be worthwhile!

Rooms-The room we stayed in was on the third floor and was cozy but small. We didn't mind as we were not in the room often. The beds were nice, two singles, the bathroom is small but clean and functional. It is more than you expect for the price. They do not provide toiletries so make sure you have your own. The view from our window was beautiful.

If you go in the summer time there are a lot more activities like biking, swimming and hiking but we didn't mind being there while it was cold. The snow was beautiful and the sun was shining. The air here is so clean.

Overall we absolutely loved this place. I dream of going back. It's such a quaint old time village and the service here is great. You will instantly become friends with the owners. And best of all it is easy on your pocketbook.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bffchic22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schwangau hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#7 of 16 in Schwangau
261 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Schwanstein
Hotel Schwanstein
#16 of 16 in Schwangau
68 reviews
0 mi away
Landhotel Guglhupf
Landhotel Guglhupf
#3 of 16 in Schwangau
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Das Ruebezahl
Hotel Das Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
641 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hanselewirt
Hotel Hanselewirt
#11 of 16 in Schwangau
123 reviews
2 mi away
Landhotel Huberhof
Landhotel Huberhof
#12 of 16 in Schwangau
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bei Weirich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bei Weirich

Address: Fuessener Str. 108, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Price Range: $83 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bei Weirich 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bei Weirich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing