We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantic hotel on the Romantic Road”
Review of Landhotel Guglhupf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Landhotel Guglhupf
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Most romantic hotel on the Romantic Road”
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Landhotel Guglhupf is ideally located in Schwangau, being on the main road but the rooms are further back off a courtyard. Plenty of free parking. M. was super and gave us good advice as to where to eat dinner (down the road 3 km in Fussen) and where to drink hot chocolate (across the street, a few steps away). Room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was incredible with homemade bread and jams. And the lovely L. added a cheerful touch :-). Very close to the fascinating Neuschwanstein Castle. Our best hotel experience in Bavaria and yes, we would love to come back again to the Landhotel Guglhupf!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treebreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    72
    7
    2
    8
See reviews for
74
212
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Monika runs a great place! The Guglhupf in Schwangau was the choice of our tour guide, and she could not have done a better job. Right down the mountain from Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castles, the Guglhupf was modernized, clean, comfortable, and convenient. Monika lays out an AMAZING breakfast spread, with homemade bread and jams, hot dishes and cold. All the staff we encountered were very friendly, the rooms and bathrooms were cleaned daily, and the location very central for traveling around Bavaria. Even if I was not there with a group, I would absolutely stay there again. Very close to nearby Fussen if one is need of shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebp03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

A wide variety of choice during breakfast time and super delicious home made bread, cakes and marmalades (all prepared fresh on a daily basis). The owner was very helpful, friendly and knew English well. She made us feel as part of the family. Excellent location for romantic walks and within easy reach of the famous Neuschwanstein Castle and Hohenschwangau Castle and the city of Fussen (if the ladies want to do some shopping). I definitely recommend this hotel and would love to go once more.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgann74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Spacy, modern and cosy rooms. A lot of parking space. Very friendly reception.
About the breakfast: I've been in many hotels for my job, but I've never had such a huge breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Guglhupf is situated in a little hamlet on the main road between the villages Füssen and Scwangau. The valley floor is flat, but from several rooms you can look up on the castles in the hills above. They are illuminated at night, and our room even had a balcony overlooking them.

The room was very comfortable, with a huge, modern bathroom with both tub and shower enclosure, plenty of hot water and good water pressure in the shower. There is sattelite tv with hundreds of channels and free broadband internet (but not wireless - bring a cable).

For a b&b/small hotel they served a breakfast with an enormous selection. Many items were home made or locally produced. Deliciously served, highly recommended!

The breakfast closes at 10 o'clock, which felt a little early for the teenager in the company. But it might have a connection to the castles. When we got up there around eleven, there were already long queues. The access to the castles is limited to a certain number of visitors every day, and if you get there after noon, you might miss it.

Guglhupf has free parking right outside the door. The patron(ness) was nice and helpful.

It found it a little expensive. It's very close to the castles, but the hamlet is not old and cozy, but consists of new villas and a few other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brainspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2009

This hotel is placed near Fussen and the Neuschwanstein Castle.
Very clean and comfortable, and not too expensive if you choise to stay in double-triple bed room. Good international/bavarian breakfast.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stefdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

This is a small hotel. If you are looking for a late night bar, or room service, or even someone at the front desk after 10 PM, don't stay here.

If however you want a VERY clean, new hotel at a fair price, this is a very good choice.

Everything is new. IT seems of recent construction, so everything works. The furnishings are modern and of high quality. The breakfast is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomL_Philadelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
602 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#3 of 16 in Schwangau
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhotel Guglhupf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhotel Guglhupf

Property: Landhotel Guglhupf
Address: Fuessener Str. 107, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Schwangau
#2 Family Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cozy country lodge is located in Schwangau, home of the castles Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau. Enjoy the GUGLHUPF specialties such as home-baked bread and home-made marmelade at the delicious breakfast buffet every morning. Despite the central location (distance to the castles approx. 2 Km, to the austrian border about 3 km) all rooms are very quiet and comfortably equipped with bathroom, king-sized bed and high-quality wood furniture as well as balcony/ terrace, TV and telephone. Wifi is complimentary. Your hosts Monika and her children Daniel and Ulrike are looking forward to your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Landhotel Guglhupf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhotel Guglhupf Schwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing