We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Updated amazing Hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Landhotel Guglhupf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Landhotel Guglhupf
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Charming Updated amazing Hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I followed the ratings to this gem of a bed and breakfast. We made last minute reservations and a trip to visit the two castles. It was located about 2 km from the castles. Monika was a wonderful hostess, warm, welcoming and gave great advice on restaurants that were not tourist traps.

We had two rooms, one for hubby and I, and one for our two teen girls. Both were clean, comfortable, and big. The bathrooms were spacious, new and towels big and fluffy. And free wifi! Wow! We were in heaven.

Breakfast was wonderful. Scrambled eggs, sausages, baked goods, cereals. Coffee and teas. In a beautiful dining room that was fine restaurant quality. The plates were even china!

I would highly recommend to anyone visiting the two castles or Bavaria.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    69
    5
    2
    8
See reviews for
68
201
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel Guglhupf was everything you could want in a hotel, in fact, it was more like a B&B. The rooms were generously sized, impeccably clean and had a homely feel. The breakfast buffet (much of it baked by the wonderful Monika herself) extended well beyond any other European breakfast buffet I have experienced.
We were staying over the Christmas period and Monika cooked waffles, potato salad and some traditional bavarian meat (all free of charge, as her Christmas gift to us), she then surprised us with a plate of freshly baked cookies and a wrapped present of eggnog. She could not have made the guests feel more at home during this period, and went to every effort to ensure our comfort.
The hotel was also a leisurely stroll from Fussen (around 20 minutes) and to the castles (15 minutes), it was also easily acessible by taxi or bus from the station for those who are not driving!
All in all, we left with not one complaint! Thank you Monika!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orla6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was difficult to find as the internet says its in the town of Schwangau while in fact the town name is "HORN". Our GPS couldnt find it under Schwangau. We popped into the Tourist Information for directions.
The owner of the property was very hospitable and kind. She personally showed us to our room. We paid extra to have views of King Ludwigs castles - well worth the extra expense. There was a chocolate on our pillow which was a lovely touch. The room was very clean and modern, although the ceiling over the bed was a bit low - so we had to be careful not to bump our heads!. Spa was delightful and comfortable. The highlight of this place is the BREAKFAST!! it is a breakfast to die for - sooooo much food and all home made!! the owner gets up early and does all the cooking - 3 different types of German bread, home baked cake..... I could go on and on but I'm making myself feel hungry!! Monika gets up at 5am to prepare all this and she is amazing! I would definitely stay here again and i advise all of you who are planning to visit King Ludwig's castles, to not even bother looking elsewhere for accomodation. This place is a 3 min drive to the carpark of the castles so very very convenient. It is also a 6 min walk to the supermarket if you wish to stock up on some supplies

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get views of the castles
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiat957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed for the weekend to enjoy the Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau. The hosts left us the key in the door so we could check-in late. In the morning we were in for a delicious and hearty breakfast (although we were late for breakfast). On the day of departure we also no hurry. Wonderful service.

Room Tip: We recommend you Neuschwanstein room that have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruslan_Sch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This charming bed and breakfast was like staying at home. We drove there from Augsburg along the Romantic road. It was easy to find and a pleasure to stay. The hostess was very inviting, the accommodations were clean and comfortable. Parking and wifi were included and the breakfast was delicious! We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

More like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. Monika, her dog Lotte, and all of her staff do an excellent job. Great proximity to the castles. The best breakfast I have ever had in my life. I want to go back for Monika's bread alone. Eggs cooked to order, homemade breads, jams, and jellies. It feels like a Ski Lodge. We stayed on our honeymoon for a night and were sad to leave. We had the top floor facing the street and there was no noise from the road. We would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Any room is great. Even facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Doesn’t get much better than this wonderful hotel if you want to visit Neuschwanstein, Hohenschwangau and Toelz. It really is more of a B&B than a hotel with nicely furnished rooms with a large bed, flat screen TV, a balcony with a table and two chairs. Also, the room had two sitting chairs, a couch and coffee table plus a desk and plenty of closet space. The bathroom was modern and well equipped. Breakfast was in the rear of the main building in a nicely decorated sun room. Breakfast was fabulous and abundant, with home made breads, cakes, jams, cereal, scrambled eggs, sausages and a nice assortment of warm side dishes, cold meats cheeses, breads and rolls, yogurts, juices, and a pot of coffee. And best of all, it is included in the price.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and the owner, Monica, speaks excellent English. Lotte, the resident dog, makes sure everybody is happy and relaxed, Highly recommended all the way around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriele274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#3 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhotel Guglhupf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhotel Guglhupf

Property: Landhotel Guglhupf
Address: Fuessener Str. 107, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
#2 Family Hotel in Schwangau
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cozy country lodge is located in Schwangau, home of the castles Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau. Enjoy the GUGLHUPF specialties such as home-baked bread and home-made marmelade at the delicious breakfast buffet every morning. Despite the central location (distance to the castles approx. 2 Km, to the austrian border about 3 km) all rooms are very quiet and comfortably equipped with bathroom, king-sized bed and high-quality wood furniture as well as balcony/ terrace, TV and telephone. Wifi is complimentary. Your hosts Monika and her children Daniel and Ulrike are looking forward to your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Landhotel Guglhupf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhotel Guglhupf Schwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing