We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Sleep”
Review of Hotel Helmerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Helmerhof
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia USA
14
Reviewed July 3, 2006

They gave us a room right above their banquet room and they had a wedding the night we were there. The band played until almost midnight and I had to go down a complain bacause my family could not sleep. I e-mail the owner and ask that they adjust our bill, but they have not replied to my e-mail

Stayed: June 2006
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Helmerhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 201 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2006

We've been to Horn on a previous trip and stayed at the Hotel Rubezahl and had a great time. On this trip I wanted to stay at the same place, but the price difference to stay at the Hotel Helmerhof was almost 80 Euro per night LESS than the Rubezahl. We decided to go with the Helmerhof based on the one and only review here (which was positive) and the significant price savings. I can't tell you how happy we were with this decision. The Helmerhof was just a stone's throw from the Rubezahl (same great location). The Helmerhof looked very new and neat-as-a-pin clean! Our family room was huge with 2 bedrooms, living/dining room and fully functional kitchen. All of this for 80 Euro per night less than the Hotel Rubezahl. And a wonderful breakfast was included, too. We had 2 great dinners in their dining room and the staff were all pleasant. I just can't say enough good things about this place. If you choose to stay here you can save a lot of money AND have a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2006

This hotel was wonderful! It's clean and modern yet obtains is quaint chalet, Bavarian Alps feel. The location is great with only a 5 minute drive to Neuschwanstein. The previous review says it all! Helmerhof is a fabulous place to stay and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChicagoHollyanne79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
316
Reviewed August 17, 2004

This hotel is one of the finest in Schwangau. We loved everything about this hotel from its quaint Bavarian charm to the hospitality of the owners and its staff. We couldn't have been more well pampered. We felt at home and welcomed from the second we walked into the pristine lobby. We rate this hotel highly because of the excellent food, the quality of the rooms, the central location and for the value pricing of the rooms.

Firstly, the hotel itself has a large ample parking lot directly across from the hotel. It also has a large, open "yard area" to the side of the hotel that has a park bench and playground toys for children. It is a wonderful place to catch a relaxing moment staring at the magnificent mountains directly in front of the hotel. The lobby itself is an informative place. Mrs. Helmer has taken the time to obtain and provide brochures and guides for the entire area. This is a big help because their is so much to do in this lovely and fascinating place.

The hotel has a wonderful restaurant. Because breakfast is included (in the room rate) for all guests it does not serve a menu breakfast. This is true of all hotels in the area as far as I am aware. It serves an excellent cold buffet breakfast with rolls, mountain cheeses, breakfast cold cuts, yogurts, cereals, etc. You have a choice of breakfast beverages and coffee of course. Dinner is quite an experience complete with waitress dressed in traditional Bavarian clothing (reminds me of something in a Disney fairytale movie). The list of wines and beers are extensive. They also make their own ice cream and the desserts are heavenly and come served in a 5 star hotel fashion.

Secondly, the rooms are sparkling. The rooms have a typical european style bathroom, meaning that it is not large but more than sufficient and ultra-clean. The bathroom has only a shower (not bathtub). This is also also standard in Germany. We appreceiated the little extra touches in the bathroom like plenty of towels, Dove hand shop dispensers, shampoo and conditioner dispensers in the shower (especially if you forgot it), etc. The amenities include internet via the TV, digital safe, small table and chair complete with wine glasses (in sitting area), balcony with mountain view, sitting area and armoire with shelves for your clothing. We were also personally shown to our room and we asked if she could make us a dinner reservation in the hotel, and she simply asked us what time and our table reservation was set! Upon arrival, we were quickly seated at "our" table.

The hotel is located at the bottom of the Alps and has a nice view of the Neuschwanstein Castle. The wintergarten cafe is surrounded by all windows that give a direct view of the mountain. It is simply breathtaking. During our stay after a short rain, we saw the most vibrant rainbow coloring the sky!

The average price for this hotel is about 48 Euros per person, per night. This is quite a bargain (by about 30 Euros or $40.00) in comparison to the average rates of the hotels around it. We stayed in another hotel for part of our stay for more money and it didn't even come close to the Hotel Helmerhof. We enjoyed our stay so much and we can't wait to return back!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PensionIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank willi952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank herbert_sauter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landhotel Guglhupf
Landhotel Guglhupf
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#5 of 16 in Schwangau
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmerhof

Address: Frauenbergstr. 9, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Schwangau
#7 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range: $122 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helmerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Helmerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmerhof Hotel Schwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing