We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful location at a hotel with local flavor”
Review of Hotel Ruebezahl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ruebezahl
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We just spent 2 nights at the Hotel Ruebezahl with 2 young children (ages 8 and 5) and 2 grandparents. You can't beat the location for getting the castles and for enjoying the Bavarian countryside (the cow bells are ringing in the field in front of the property). The staff were very helpful and kind. They also offer picnic lunches you can take with you! Although the rooms don't have air conditioning, they cooled off in the evening and sleeping was comfortable. The food is very good but the dining room became warm when it was "peak times" but if you eat a bit early or late - it is more comfortable and you can take coffee out on the terrace. The "dark" beer is great with most any dish! Also, note that the English and German version of the meal schedule do not match - the German schedule is accurate. Finally, if you are there on an evening when they have a 5-course dinner and want everyone to arrive at the same time - if the hotel is busy - come at a later start time otherwise there will be long lags between courses. A very nice place at a very good price!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhanaWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 627 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2010

We were impressed by the hotel and the staff. They were very helpful with questions and our rooms were clean, the beds good and views from the hotel were tremendous. The breakfasts each morning were delicious and the 1 evening meal we enjoyed was very complete and good. The live music during dinner was a nice extra. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bead55lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Hello Giselle and Staff:

My wife, son, mother-in-law, and I had a wonderful stay at your hotel from 21-23 June. This was our return to your hotel after my wife and I visited there in 2000 (we were, in fact, engaged in Schwangau during that visit in 2000 and I proposed to her on your balcony outside of our room). During this recent visit we stayed in one of your apartments and the visit was most enjoyable; we were particularly impressed with your new Roman Spa which my wife and I visited during the evening of 22 June. We look forward to visiting the Hotel Ruebezahl again in the near future and to seeing the results of the renovations you plan to begin later this year!

Vielen Dank!
-Stan Alger

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StanAlger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Outstanding staff - very friendly and accommodating. Comfortable, quiet and spacious rooms. Beautiful location. Very good restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saumeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed here in Aug 2009. As others have said, it’s in a good location with a great castle view. It is in the countryside, surrounded by farms, and there is no car noise. Our room was quiet and had a balcony. There was a small welcome bottle of champagne for us on arrival. The bathroom had a large bath with overhead shower, but no shower curtain.

We had issues with the restaurant. The big problem was the sheer number of flies inside. I understand and accept that the hotel is surrounded by farmland with lots of cows, and that these attract flies. However I could not understand how the staff could remain oblivious to them, even with all the doors closed, and especially when they are claiming to offer a gourmet experience. Reception said that it was just the time of year. The flies were bothering everybody at breakfast, and were at our table and all over the breakfast buffet. We're not just talking one or two flies here, rather at least 20 all the time. It would seem to cost nothing to put up some fly paper in a discreet corner of the restaurant, and that would make things much more comfortable.

There were other problems with the restaurant. For example (as mentioned by others) it was a hassle trying to shift to another table. We had a lousy initial table and asked to move to another. The tables on the outside were much nicer but we were told that they were reserved. However we saw casual passers-by simply come up and take them. We booked the gourmet meal on the Friday and Saturday nights and were ‘expected’ to start dining around 18:00-19:00, meaning that our meal would be finished by around 21:30. The serving staff were flat out and apparently disorganised, and it took ages for some of the dishes to arrive. I had a side order turn up for one of my courses, after I had finished that course. We saw diners at other tables walking out, or walking up to the cashier to attempt to get service. Some of the dishes were pretty salty but that is the central European style.

It has to be said that the service and food on Saturday were much better. However this time we were seated by the kitchen doors.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubbles4352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We spent a total of two nights at the Hotel Ruebezahl. The staff arranged for our tickets to the Neushwanstein Castle tour. After a very cold and rainy afternoon touring the castle, we could not wait to get back to the hotel to relax in the spa. We used the jetted hot tubs, sauna and just simply relaxed in the spa area.

After 10 days traveling thru Germany/Austria, some of our best meals, especially dinner, were at the Wellvital Hotel. The first night, we ate off the buffet for soups and salads and ordered an entree off the menu. Superb! The second night, we were offered a choice of two dinner options off the gourmet menu. We both chose the Pork Saltimbocca - excellent.

The staff was fantastic and the owners are exceptionally great! Looking forward to visiting one day again in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Yes, it's a very upscale place. I knew this because we had stayed on a previous occasion. This year we brought a group of 14 most of which were teenagers. I had emailed several months earlier and asked for a group quote. Their original quote was too expensive so I declined and made reservations at the neighboring Helmerhof. However, I've also been to the Helmerhof on a previous occasion and knew that they only had 3 or 4 bicycles and the hotel charged for their use. The Ruebezahl has a whole garage full of bicycles and they do not charge for using them.

Several weeks before our departure I emailed the Ruebezahl again and this time the quote was much more reasonable. After factoring in bicycle rental charges from the Helmerhof the two hotels were actually about the same price so I accepted the Ruebezahl's second and less expensive offer.

The hotel is very nice and very upscale. The food was very good as usual. However I found it just a bit unfriendly whenever we went to get a bicycle that only 2 or 3 were ever available even though the garage was full of bicycles with RUEBEZAHL printed on them. They would never give us more than 2 or 3 at one time. The rest of the bicycles, they said, were reserved or did not belong to them. Somehow I don't buy this story.

Nevertheless we had a good time. Upon checkout we asked if they would provide us a ride in their "free shuttle" service to the train station. The answer was "No" because they had no driver even though we had clearly asked the night before for a definite time of departure.

This hotel is nice, and I would probably choose it again. However some of their policies are a bit strange and unfriendly. I should point out that the young lady at the reception desk was ALWAYS very very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
0.8 mi away
Das Koenig Ludwig Wellness & SPA Resort Allgaeu
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#8 of 16 in Schwangau
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
308 reviews
1.7 mi away
Landhotel Huberhof
Landhotel Huberhof
#13 of 16 in Schwangau
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruebezahl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruebezahl

Address: Am Ehberg 31, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Schwangau
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Schwangau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
#4 Family Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range: $268 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ruebezahl 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rübezahl - a special romantic hotel with a royal view of Neuschwanstein Castle and Hohenschwangau. Individualistic and romantic, the hotel is located right in the middle of the Bavarian Alps. As a member of the renowned Hideaways Hotels Collection, the Wellness and Gourmethotel combines discreet luxury with an alpine lifestyle. Creative and regional delicacies from the exquisite gourmet kitchen, combined with alpine-inspired spa treatments with an outdoor pool invite you to relax and pamper yourself. Near Munich and Innsbruck (Austria). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ruebezahl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellvital Hotel Schwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing