We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel Ruebezahl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ruebezahl
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were here for three nights from the 25th September 2013. The views from our room were amazing. The food was lovely with very helpful service and excellent English. The spa area was also wonderful. The only complaint was the expense of the drinks but this seems to be the norm for hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 624 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Since 3 years now, we choose this hotel and it is always a pleasure to come and visit them!
Nice people, nice place and nice view.
Rooms are an enchantment, with lot of charm!
See you next year again !

Room Tip: room with view on castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

With the Hotel Ruebezahl, you get what you pay for. The price is high but it is justified by the room, amenities, food, service, etc. I would recommend you consider this place when staying in Fussen or Schwangau. We even lucked out: our room faced the Castles. If the weather had been better, the view would have been spectacular. Still, it was a top-shelf experience.

Room Tip: Request a castle-view room. They can't promise unless you reserve a mini-suite but with a regula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSUkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed for the third time for 2 nights in September. This hotel is in the top three hotels on our favorite list. The staff are excellent, the food wonderful, the location perfect. A new lounge staffed by Kerstin is a great addition. Our room 36 was perfect. Bathroom was painted as if you were outside in a garden. We cant' wait to return . Don't miss the Hotel Ruebezahl if in Southern Germany. It's a family run operation and you can see the care taken for their guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pellanconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Are stay was a fantastic 3 days of total relaxation. Staying in the romantic suite was spectacular with everything we could have wanted or needed. The hotel setting is perfect with staff who made you feel welcome from the minute you walked in the door to the moment we left. I have stayed in some luxuriash hotels but this has topped them all. Cannot recommend the hotel and staff/family enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALANTRIPSLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just retuned from Bavaria and a weeks stay at Hotel Ruebezahl in Schwangau. The weather was mixed but the hotel, facilities, food and service more than made up for the weather. The location and views to the castles were great and it is great location for exploring the local area if you have a car. We used the spa and pool on several occasions and couldn't fault these facilities. The choice at breakfast was fantastic as was the food in the restaurant. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. There are fantastic walks and cycle rides all around and if you need a relaxing place to stay and unwind then we recommend this hotel with out any hesitation.

Room Tip: We had one of the standard rooms and were very comfortable and we had a direct view of the castles f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frosty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nothing but pleasant surprises here. The biggest mistake on our part was only spending one night. Our original plan was to spend 3 nights in Munich and do a day trip down to the Bavarian Alps. Then I found Ruebezahl and decided a view of the castle would be nice for a night. I thought the price was a little high, but did it anyway. In the long run the hotel is actually a very good deal. Since breakfast, lunch, afternoon cake and dinner are included the cost for the room was actually an average cost to other places we stayed. Food was excellent. We arrived before are room was ready, and was ushered into a lovely lunch buffet, and when we finished out lunch, our room was ready. And what a beautiful room! Best of the trip.

Only caveat is all drinks are not included, so we did walk away with a small additional bill, but it was well worth it and costs for drinks were comparable elsewhere.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wstender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
0.7 mi away
Das Koenig Ludwig Wellness & SPA Resort Allgaeu
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#4 of 40 in Fussen
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruebezahl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruebezahl

Address: Am Ehberg 31, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Schwangau
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Schwangau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
#4 Family Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range: $276 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ruebezahl 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rübezahl - a special romantic hotel with a royal view of Neuschwanstein Castle and Hohenschwangau. Individualistic and romantic, the hotel is located right in the middle of the Bavarian Alps. As a member of the renowned Hideaways Hotels Collection, the Wellness and Gourmethotel combines discreet luxury with an alpine lifestyle. Creative and regional delicacies from the exquisite gourmet kitchen, combined with alpine-inspired spa treatments with an outdoor pool invite you to relax and pamper yourself. Near Munich and Innsbruck (Austria). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ruebezahl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellvital Hotel Schwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing