We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location!”
Review of Hotel Ruebezahl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ruebezahl
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful location!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just retuned from Bavaria and a weeks stay at Hotel Ruebezahl in Schwangau. The weather was mixed but the hotel, facilities, food and service more than made up for the weather. The location and views to the castles were great and it is great location for exploring the local area if you have a car. We used the spa and pool on several occasions and couldn't fault these facilities. The choice at breakfast was fantastic as was the food in the restaurant. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. There are fantastic walks and cycle rides all around and if you need a relaxing place to stay and unwind then we recommend this hotel with out any hesitation.

Room Tip: We had one of the standard rooms and were very comfortable and we had a direct view of the castles f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frosty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    93
    38
    16
    3
See reviews for
93
411
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blairstown, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nothing but pleasant surprises here. The biggest mistake on our part was only spending one night. Our original plan was to spend 3 nights in Munich and do a day trip down to the Bavarian Alps. Then I found Ruebezahl and decided a view of the castle would be nice for a night. I thought the price was a little high, but did it anyway. In the long run the hotel is actually a very good deal. Since breakfast, lunch, afternoon cake and dinner are included the cost for the room was actually an average cost to other places we stayed. Food was excellent. We arrived before are room was ready, and was ushered into a lovely lunch buffet, and when we finished out lunch, our room was ready. And what a beautiful room! Best of the trip.

Only caveat is all drinks are not included, so we did walk away with a small additional bill, but it was well worth it and costs for drinks were comparable elsewhere.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wstender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk england
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

we stayed here as part of our ruby wedding anniversary trip and we loved it - my wife almost cried at the romantic beauty of the place and it's setting. We booked half-board but it was actually full board as salad lunch and fabulous cakes in the afternoon were also included! The setting is beautiful - looking across the valley to the mountains bordering Austria to the romantic castle of Neuschwanstein and the older Hohenschwanstein castle. The service was exceptional from reception to the restaurant - helpful, cheerful, efficient and multi-lingual. The food was delicious and plentiful - too plentiful - but I can't complain about that!
We had an upgraded room - Maximilian suite - which was very spacious and comfortable with wonderful views from the balcony.
My only moan would be the bar - Joschi's bar - which was usually empty due to the poor choice of 'entertainment' - disco/club music does not fit with the ambience of the hotel. However, I would still give this hotel a top rating as it is so wonderful.

Room Tip: any room will be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wal4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
159 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This Bavarian Inn is located outside the village of Fussen, directly across the meadows from Neuschwanstein Castle. While this place can be difficult to find, be persistent, because once you are there you will be glad you made it.

The Inn is very quaint, and houses fantastic rooms, a great spa and wonderful restaurant. Our particular room was a "double" and it shared a very large balcony with two other rooms, to my recollection. The balcony looked directly across the open meadow to Neuschwanstein Castle and it was a spectacular view to wake up to each morning. The beds were comfortable and because I'm a bigger guy, I actually wondered if it would hold me for the night. No problem there. The beds had on them a very light Decke (down filled duvet in English) and the bathroom was of good size as well.

The morning breakfast buffet was spectacular and once again, the views were over the meadow toward the Schloss (castle). Also in the morning, directly in front of the entrance of the Inn, the road was taken over by the local farmer as he meandered his cattle from the barn down into his fenced in field. He had a bike, a stick and knew how to maneuver both to get the cattle into the right place. For a city boy from the States, this was great to see.

Truly, I've been to Fussen on three different occasions but this was the first stay at Hotel Ruebezahl. It will not be my last, I hope. :) Do yourselves a favor and book here. You will not be sorry. Unfortunately we didn't have time to enjoy the on-site spa.

Room Tip: any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiscomeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Charming hotel in southern Germany. Friendly staff and startlingly beautiful views.just minutes from castle that inspired Disney and ample opportunity for walking, hiking and biking. Hotel has bikes for you to ride.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peach4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Although not as close to the two castles as other hotels, from our balcony room the benefit was clear: you can see across the farm to the mountains & Schloss. Food was excellent as was the quality of the accommodation in one of their luxury suites.

Room Tip: A view of the mountains is the best way to make the most of this property - although the view can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chitst-deal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Arrived one night from Munich. Here to see Ludwig's castles. Beautiful new or totally renovated B&B style. Great bike trails. Five star dinner & breakfast. All inclusive with a castle tour for less than a 5 star hotel in Munich. We paid 270 euro for the package. We'd come back anytime!!

Room Tip: Facing the castles
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdHoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
0.3 mi away
Landhotel Guglhupf
Landhotel Guglhupf
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Das Koenig Ludwig Wellness & SPA Resort Allgaeu
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#8 of 16 in Schwangau
73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#3 of 16 in Schwangau
288 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruebezahl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruebezahl

Property: Hotel Ruebezahl
Address: Am Ehberg 31, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Schwangau
#1 Spa Hotel in Schwangau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
#4 Family Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ruebezahl 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rübezahl - a special romantic hotel with a royal view of Neuschwanstein Castle and Hohenschwangau. Individualistic and romantic, the hotel is located right in the middle of the Bavarian Alps. As a member of the renowned Hideaways Hotels Collection, the Wellness and Gourmethotel combines discreet luxury with an alpine lifestyle. Creative and regional delicacies from the exquisite gourmet kitchen, combined with alpine-inspired spa treatments with an outdoor pool invite you to relax and pamper yourself. Near Munich and Innsbruck (Austria). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ruebezahl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellvital Hotel Schwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing