We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, But Oh, My! A Restaurant Staff With An Attitude”
Review of Hotel Ruebezahl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ruebezahl
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, But Oh, My! A Restaurant Staff With An Attitude”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I selected Hotel Ruebezahl to be the final stop on our Bavaria vacation. The reviews on Trip Advisor seemed to confirm that this 4-star hotel would offer a lovely exclamation point to the end of our two-week journey. We planned an early evening arrival to allow us to enjoy the spectacular views featured in many descriptions. Our small room was nicely appointed and in contrast to the hotel's exterior, contemporary. The glorious views so many had discussed, however, didn't apply to our location; we overlooked the roof of a barn. Hoping that we could at least see the mountains from the restaurant, we settled in, then walked downstairs for dinner. The dining area was not busy, and the expansive windowed room which offers the exquisite scenic views of the mountains and both castles in the distance, was nearly empty. Yet, instead of being seated there, we were escorted to a side table tucked in a corner, with only a perspective of the back of the restaurant and the kitchen door. We asked the young man if we could move to the glass room, and were told all tables were reserved, He added, "These are free," a comment we didn't understand or appreciate. Having made reservations at the hotel months earlier, and our stay lasting two nights, we felt slighted by our poor "seat assignment" and regretted that we would not have the opportunity to sit elsewhere when dining the remainder of our trip.
I do not like to write bad reviews, but I must report that the truly sad surprise was what we witnessed while dining. In sharp contrast to the warm, professional, and genuine greeting we received at the front desk at check-in and each time we passed by, many of the restaurant staff appear to be tormented by their guests. Our birds-eye view allowed us to observe several patrons receiving large smiles or nods, then when backs turned, the waitress could be seen making unpleasant faces, or huddling with other wait staff to express some sort of frustration. They were often amused at themselves, walking with heads high and smiling at patrons, then turning toward the kitchen, their less than discreet antics at the guests' expense. Very disheartening to observe, I must say! Horseplay such as towels twisted and slapped between two male servers during dinner represented childish behavior in clear view, and at breakfast, simply said, one attendant deserves to be relieved of all duties. We found other reviews regarding the attitude of breakfast staff, so perhaps this is something that is just surfacing.
The owner/designer of this hotel has painstakingly created a wonderful interior. The common areas are furnished with unique flair, and the tiniest accessories and design elements placed with precision. Our room, albeit priced at the top end for the space and lack of view, was comfortable and attractive. The desk staff are well-trained, accommodating, and respectful. How sad that once one crosses into the restaurant, a handful of young employees apparently "turned off" by travelers from around the world, are in the position to ruin the Hotel Ruebezahl experience.
(I must note that our server the first evening was not among those who participated in this behavior... that I could see.)

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank getupandgonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruebezahl47, Owner at Hotel Ruebezahl, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear guest

On behalf of all of us, I would like to thank you for choosing “Das Rübezahl” as your final Bavarian Trip hotel and to be our guest.

Also many thanks for your kind words about our ambiance and the desk staff.

We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced by our restaurant staff and appreciate your comments regarding our services; it is only through comments and suggestions such as yours that we can correct fine-tune and improve our services.

We have read your comments with great concern, nevertheless we guess there was an unfortunate misunderstanding in terms of the language barrier.

The comment of our waiter who welcomed , indeed is not pleasant even so, there were no intention to offend you as even so the restaurant was not so busy yet while your arrival all tables were reserved.

In regards to the attitude of the waitress who served you that night we regret that you had the impression, that she showed some blaspheme even so we are sure that this was unintentionally.

We already took action because of the Horseplay attitude how you called it of 2 waiters and we agree that this is an absolute no go. We are really sorry that you needed to witness this kind of childish attitude.

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience with us.We sincerely appreciate the opportunity you give us to improve and look forward to see you again.

Sincerely,

familiy Thurm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    93
    38
    16
    3
See reviews for
93
411
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed Hotel Ruebezahl. If you like a good spa, saunas, jacuzzi, outdoor/indoor heated swimming pools, good food, beautiful sights, bicycling and shopping all along with a great staff than you will absolutely love this place.

Room Tip: I had a 1 bedroom suite that faced the mountains with a perfect view of the Neuschwanstein and Hohen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColonnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Another hotel we found easily without a SatNav - must use one in future! Warm welcome and friendly engaging staff. Room was lovely if a trifle strangely laid-out. We had a suite and the jacuzzi was next to the settee - nice but unusual. View from the room was wonderful - slightly spoilt by the mist and low cloud for three of the four days we were in Schwangau - but all was revealed on the last day. Food was wonderful and was more like a P&O cruise than a hotel - our 'deal' included 4 meals a day and this was called half-board! But the highlight has to be the bike rides - this area is designed for cycle riding and the difference between the half-baked UK cycle routes and the wonderful cycle paths in Germany is staggering. The castles are a short bike ride away as is Fussen (this is a lovely small town - easier to go by bike than by car). The small lake Forgensee has a cycle route encircling it and the cable car at Tegelberg is similarly only a bike ride away - if you eat as much as we did it is probably a good idea to cycle everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We love this Hotel and have been going for many years. Recently it has been totally refurbished and is now even better. We go in the Winter and the summer, both totally different experiences. It is beautiful in the snow and the sun. We can totally relax at this hotel but there is also much to do at the Hotel or around about. Shopping is good, skiing is good, visiting the castles etc are excellent. I never have one bad thing to say about Hotel Rubezahl, we have stayed in the new style rooms and the suites which have everything you need. This time we packed light, went by ryanair to Memmingham airport, hired a car and drove to the Hotel which is about 45 mins from Airport for a long weekend, to relax and recharge. The food is Excellent, I am not really a foodie but I look forward to eating here, it is an experience and the cakes are awsome. The food is so fresh and well prepared. It is a family run hotel and they bend over backwards for you. It has that lovely welcome feeling. Everytime I leave here I want to book again. Hoping to go back in February in snow.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strawberry584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Booked this motel based on reviews. We had the Richard Wagner room which was right next to the restaurant. I was a bit concerned it would be noisy because of this but we never heard a sound, and slept exceptionally well, despite me being a light sleeper. We had direct view of the castles, unfortunately it was very misty the days we were there so you could not see them so well or very often. we had dinner in the restaurant, it was divine, but huge servings. The food was lovely and fresh and this was also the same at breakfast. Would not hesitate to recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strudelgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
263 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 755 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

HOTEL REVIEW # 219 Rubezahl

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences.

LOCATION: Excellent. Has a view of the castle from the hotel and some rooms. A few restaurants within walking distance, places to bike, and fussen is a 5 minute drive away (with tons of restaurants/shopping). The hotel will try to ‘sell’ you on buying the package that includes all meals but I think this would be a bad move.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: About 1hr 45 minutes from Munich by car.

TYPE OF ROOM: Standard/View of castle

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: This was the disappointment. Beds were hard and felt inexpensive. Linens could have been better and the bed has one huge pillow and one tiny pillow. Where’s the size in the middle like all other hotels have?

LIGHTING: Tons of lighting in bedroom and bathroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Bathroom is small but made good use of the space. Shower is a normal shower (not the tiny corner shower enclosures popular in Europe). Rain shower and handheld only. OK shower pressure. Consistently hot water.

TOILETRIES: High quality.

CLEANLINESS: Spotless. Hotel is so clean that it seems very new.

A/C: No A/C and we had trouble sleeping because the room was too hot (even with windows open). This has been a common issue in many hotels in this area.

STYLE OF ROOM: Excellent. Wood floors and very comfortable room (minus the hard beds)

COMMON AREA: Nice bar and restaurant and a great balcony. There is a pool for guests. Great views of the castle and nearby farm.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Although some noise can be heard from the cars on the nearby road it is not bothersome. Morning light can be blocked with curtains.

FOOD: Breakfast is amazing. Some of the best pancakes/waffles I have had in a long time with tons of breads, jams, 3 types of honey, eggs, many cereals, coffee, cappuccino, really impressive. Be sure to arrive in time to enjoy the view of the castle. We showed up the second day for breakfast 30 minutes prior to it closing and most of the food had been picked through and they didn’t replace items… made for a more disappointing experience.

TV/INTERNET: TV is large and a good size for the room (didn’t turn on). Internet is free and better than average speed.

SERVICE: Staff was excellent and very helpful when around. Skeleton crew in the evening is not helpful as they wouldn’t provide a wake up call for us. Bad service at breakfast one morning. They didn’t setup our our table, never asked us if we wanted coffee, and mostly ignored us.

SUMMARY: Definitely one of the best hotels around. If you have a car, since it is a 4 minute drive to Fussen (tons of restaurants), this is definitely a great option to be away from town and have great views of the castle. If you like to be around tons of shopping and restaurants (or don’t have a car), you may prefer to stay in Fussen. Book a room here and you will surely feel you made the right choice.

Room Tip: Get a room with a castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a fantastic place to visit/stay in, we chose this as our honeymoon location and it surpassed all our expectations. If you want a beautiful and relaxing holiday this is the place to be, night life was quiet and relaxing which suited us perfectly.Bikes are free from the hotel reception and even though we are not cyclists we really enjoyed the freedom they offered and it allowed us to discover the area in more depth. We found it easy to get around and will definately be visiting again. The staff are all excellent and cant do enough to help, perfect.

Room Tip: it would be difficult to choose a bad room, a lovely place to stay however castle views are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
0.3 mi away
Landhotel Guglhupf
Landhotel Guglhupf
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Das Koenig Ludwig Wellness & SPA Resort Allgaeu
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#8 of 16 in Schwangau
73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#3 of 16 in Schwangau
288 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruebezahl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruebezahl

Property: Hotel Ruebezahl
Address: Am Ehberg 31, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Schwangau
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Schwangau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
#4 Family Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ruebezahl 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rübezahl - a special romantic hotel with a royal view of Neuschwanstein Castle and Hohenschwangau. Individualistic and romantic, the hotel is located right in the middle of the Bavarian Alps. As a member of the renowned Hideaways Hotels Collection, the Wellness and Gourmethotel combines discreet luxury with an alpine lifestyle. Creative and regional delicacies from the exquisite gourmet kitchen, combined with alpine-inspired spa treatments with an outdoor pool invite you to relax and pamper yourself. Near Munich and Innsbruck (Austria). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ruebezahl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellvital Hotel Schwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing