We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel, Neuschwanstein can be seen from the balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Schwangauer Hof Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel one night at new years eve 2012. The location is good, in the main street of Schwangau, easy to arrive by car and quite many parking places at the front of the hotel. Room was really simple and first cold, but after turning the heating(batteries) on, it was nice and warm and night. The main attractions (the castles of Ludwig II) are close by, we drove there but at good weather it would have been nice to walk. Neuschwanstein could be seen from the balcony, which was a nice bonus:)
About 2km from Füssen city centre, possible to walk(sidewalks all the way).
The staff was helpful, but did not have a map of the area to give us which I found weird. They did give us a map of the castles area though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 96 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

Magical place.
Quite close to Neuschwanstein castle, this place is a good choice in romantic route. Nice building, well made and well maintained.
The room are big, clean, silent and warm. The bathroom is really good! definitely a comfort place where you can recharge your batteries.
The breakfast is quite good and well done. But the point of this hotel is the view. For my suprise, when i opened my window i just face the Neuschwanstein castle! I spent couple minutes contemplanting that view.
Overall, this hotel is 5 minutes driving to Fussen and 10 from the castle and palace. Quiet place and really good choice where everything seems so magical.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lincoln G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night in December. The hotel is quiet & our room was clean with a large shower and enough space matching the countryside open spaces.

The hotel has a lift and it was useful to access our room on the 2nd floor.
The receptionist was friendly and gave us easy instructions on how to reach the Castles and were to spend the evening.

We drove into Fussen in 2-3 minutes and reached the castles in no time.
Overall, a nice hotel & good location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlo U U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is simple, clean, the shower is pretty big but squeaky.
The position is great to visit the castles (about 8 min from neuschwanstein) and the area is full of nice German restaurants, not too expensive.
I stayed only one night, and I would go back. Seems very accommodating, the staff very helpful (we forgot toothpaste and they gave us one for free).
Breakfast was very good. Overall you get MORE than you pay for :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie1990nau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our family of 4 adults stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in September. The hotel is lovely & quiet & our 2 rooms were beautiful & had the best showers. The hotel had a lift. I had noticed on their website that reception was closed mid afternoon & that was when we would be arriving. I emailed them & they said to just ring the bell & someone would let us in & we could leave our bag & check in later, which was fine. As it turned out, when we arrive we could check in anyway, even better.
We had easy instructions on what bus to catch from the station & where to get off & the hotel is 1 minutes walk from the bus stop. We walked into Fussen on a pathway which took about half an hour & also walked to the castles in the other direction the next day, which also took about half an hour. Not alot of places to eat around the hotel, but there was one restaurant over the road & we ate there both nights.
The only downside, is that bus tour groups stay there & the people on these tours had no consideration for other guests, talking at the top of their voices early in the mornings & banging doors. This however is not the fault of the hotel, just rude guests who should realize that there are guests in the hotel other than themselves.
Overall, a great hotel & good location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here one night in 2007. It was a very nice place, but the staff is not very friendly. The breakfast was good, the room clean and the location versus the castles ok.
Overall it is a good place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoemiIancu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here one night. excellent location if one is driving. Good parking. However, staff only speaks german so can be a problem if you are non german speaking! The breakfast is average --all cold food

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leisure1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
624 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
692 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
214 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,638 reviews
1.1 mi away
Das Koenig Ludwig Wellness & SPA Resort Allgaeu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schwangauer Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schwangauer Hof Hotel

Address: Fuessener Str. 113, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Price Range: $75 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schwangauer Hof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schwangauer Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing