We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Wonderland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Schwangauer Hof Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during January 2012. It is a very nice and clean hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Bed was comfortable.
Very close to all the attractions. When we were there it snowed during a night so we woke up to an absolute beauty of the countryside covered in snow.
Very simple breakfast is included. The food was fresh.

We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JolantaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    47
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
46
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
greeley, CO
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our family had two rooms - one king bed, one twin. The king room had a view of Neuschwanstein castle, from the other room it was blocked by a tree. Both rooms had nice balconies. The beds were very comfortable. the king room had a shower, the twin a bath. No bar soap but liquid soap from a dispenser. Located a hundred feet from the second bus stop from Fuessen, it is a 1.6 km walk to town. It is 3 bus stops from the castle ticket office. Breakfast was good but not superior. no Wifi at hotel - there is a nice one not too far from the train station in Fuessen. Hotel desk is not staffed between noon and 3:00 pm which influenced our choice of trains to the area. We paid 72 Euro for each room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The hotel itself is lovely. The room was very spacious, bathroom clean and modern, and (as far as I can tell) every room had a large balcony with a table and chairs. We only spent one night there and barely spent any time in the hotel, but both felt that it would be nice to stay for a few days.

As the previous reviewer notes, the hotel reception is only staffed during the morning (until noon, I think) and then between 3 pm and 8 pm. Our reservation did note, however, that if we needed to check in outside of these hours, we should call. We did call and as a result, an addressed envelope awaited us on the hotel door, with directions to their quite glamorous sister hotel just up the road, where another envelope contained our room key and some more information. This reception is manned 24/7, should guests need anything.

Breakfast left a bit to be desired. Nothing particularly bad but nothing outstanding, either, and no warm food.

Service was not rude but nor was it particularly friendly (save for the chap I talked to on the phone about checking in late).

Overall, if we did go back to that part of the world, we'd stay there again. It is not as close to the castles as its sister hotel or others in Hohenschwangau, but it's less than a five-minute car ride away and I believe the price is much more reasonable than in those hotels.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiousn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Bavaria, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Great little hotel! Really easy to find and close to the castles. The rooms were clean and updated. The price was great for the touristy area and included your typical European breakfast - rools, bread, meat slices, cheeses and yogurt. We will definitely stay again when more family visit us here in Germany.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wantanother1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

The rooms were large enough, very clean, located in a quaint area directly on the bus route to the castles, included a nice German breakfast, and were reasonable priced. However, I believe they have a cat on the premises which they do not advertise. I am not allergic to anything except cats and I had a terrible reaction after spending about a half hour in the room; I had to sit on the balcony for a half hour and was only able to sleep by leaving the window and balcony door open. So I would not recommend it to people who have cat allergies, otherwise it is a perfect hotel to visit the castles from.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daytonengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Selected this hotel based on reviews read here...Price was good for a resort area. This is a typical German Gasthaus....clean, neat, fairly austere. Rooms had balconys, beautiful flower boxes contributed to the decor of the exterior. Room was spotless. Remember to bring bathcloths, shampoo, hair dryer and lotion -- these are not typically provided in a German Gasthaus. They also gave us tickets for reduced prices of admission tickets to the local attractions, including the castles. Nice breakfast buffet. Staff was quite pleasant as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJPVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2009

We booked a Swan Room as we wanted extra room with our 2 year old son. We were not disappointed as the room was clean, and big enough. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel is about a 5 min drive away from the castles and 5 min away from Fussen town centre where you can find restaurants and shopping.
Parking is available on site for free and breakfast is included. We paid about Euro 150 for 2 nights.
The beds in the room were so comfortable - provided the best night sleep we had the whole trip!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theleavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
672 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#8 of 16 in Schwangau
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landhotel Guglhupf
Landhotel Guglhupf
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#3 of 16 in Schwangau
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schwangauer Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schwangauer Hof Hotel

Property: Schwangauer Hof Hotel
Address: Fuessener Str. 113, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Schwangauer Hof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schwangauer Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing