We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not more than okay.”

Konigliche Kristall-Therme
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not more than okay.”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The prices are not nice for a Spa. You could find better places to relax and spend your time.
The food is way to expansive and not fast.
All this little pools are to small and no places where you can enjoy the different kind of water.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastianus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    91
    46
    20
    18
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppland
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Pleasant sauna experience with a view of Neuschwanstein.”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We visited Königliche Kristalltherme on a Friday night when there is nude swimming in all pools. It is not a very huge complex compared to many German saunas that we have visited, but it is quite pleasant. There is also a beautiful view from the outdoor pools to the Neuschwanstein and Oberschwangau castles.
We also took part in an Aufguss (the ceremony when water is poured on the hot stones of the sauna) which took place in a very big sauna. This had the advantage that it wasn't difficult to get a seat, but the Aufguss was not very hot, something that is not so easy in a large sauna.
We had delicious salads in the restaurant in the sauna part.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank kartul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Extremely relaxing, good value and a unique experience with wondurful scenic surroundings. Beware - some choose to be textile free prior to 7pm! Cocktails whilst in the pool was really fun but probably not wise from a health and safety perspective!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 369JenniferC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“The charm of an amusement park, well past its prime!”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

A few years ago, we discovered the fabulous therme in Erding, which led to a new hobby - seeking out the elaborate thermal spas of Germany. Turns out there are LOTS of them. We (intentionally) showed up on Friday night knowing that come 7:00 pm, the chimes would toll and the entire facility would become texteil frei (or in other words - no swimsuits allowed) The place was pretty crowded, (with a strong leaning toward the 'older crowd' 70+ set) but we finally found a couple chaise lounges to call home base.

As to the allusion to the amusement park? Well, I couldn't help but think of those children's parks built around mother goose rhymes with the intention of emulating Disney's Fantasyland but missing the mark in the first place; looking REALLY dated in the last place. The decorations were overtly tacky, ranging from huge faux chandeliers to crystal laden, sparkly mermaids. There were several pools of various temperatures, but only a couple were warm enough for us softies who really prefer WARM thermal baths. And they all felt a bit crowded even when only a few people were present. The themed saunas we looking dated as well.

Had we come here before visiting several other spas in Germany it's quite possible we would have felt differently, and the place was adequately clean, but all said, neither of us could imagine a single reason why we would return in the future, knowing there are at least three other amazing spas within a two hour drive. Glad we tried it; happy we don't have to go back!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank PDCE-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonville, MA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Relaxing way to spend a few hours”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My husband and I were in Schwangau to see the two castles and decided to go to the Therme for a relaxing evening. We had a wonderful time in the 5 different mineral pools available (some indoor some outdoor). My husband's favorite was the high-saline pool (12% salt) where he was able to float easily for the first time ever. One of the pools has a swim up bar and there is a restaurant available. Very relaxing.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank JMCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konigliche Kristall-Therme also viewed

 
Schwangau, Upper Bavaria
Schwangau, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Konigliche Kristall-Therme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing