We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid room #3” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alpenhof

Hotel Alpenhof
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alpenhof
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Bad Toelz
London, U.K.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Avoid room #3”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Even though we had made our reservations three months in advance, we were given the worst room in the hotel, room # 3, which is at street level, near the entrance to the hotel. Guests literally sat outside our glass door, talking, laughing, so it was impossible to open the curtains or the door for air (which we needed because there is no AC). We asked for another room but were told the hotel was full.

The bathroom window also opened right to the front of the hotel, so guests might congregate under it while you were showering or flushing! Avoid that room at all costs.

Staff were friendly and breakfast was good, but unless you can be assured of a flower-bedecked balcony on an upper floor, do not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank czarina21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel owner, courteous, hospitable, giving the feeling that you are in your home.
Very good location, large rooms and a very good level of cleanliness. Rich breakfast ,and free convenient parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeev k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

An amazing hotel with all of the facilities you could need for relaxing and enjoying this part of Germany! The staff where very friendly and helpful, the room was large and clean with an excellent balcony. Pool was great, sauna and jacuzzi where perfect - we had them all to ourselves! Location is good, just a 10 min wander down to the town and river. Free parking, no problems with the internet and a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJGNLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The hotel is impeccable and you will sleep very well in the beds. There is plenty of room as well. The family who owns this hotel is genuinely warm and friendly, even for those of us who can only speak a bit of German which you may find unusual in some places in Germany (especially in Munich which is about an hour or so from Bad Tolz). The fitness room, sauna, jacuzzi and swimming pool are are also very well maintained. The breakfast is outstanding and you will find friendly service throughout the hotel. If you want to enjoy your time in Germany, stay here and take day trips to other places. We wish we had spent our entire week here instead of only staying a few days here and moving on. Be sure to bring a good map with you and do bring a survival phrasebook with you if you don't speak German very well. All in all, you'll really like this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aikotoba99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Good location close to the center. Free parking. Free Internet. The breakfast was phenomenal. The hotel was a little bit expensive. Would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
231 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

Very comfortable mid-size hotel. The Ostermann family who run it go out of there way to give you everything you want. Excellent breakfasts, plenty of choice. Close to Kursaal, (free concerts every day), plenty of nearly restaurants. Wifi internet free. Swimming pool and wellness facilities.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Afterbrunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2007

Friends,
I thought it would be nice to tell you about this hotel in Bad Tölz.
We are here because we didn't found anything near Munich during the BAUMA fair. Of course, we didn't expect it to be so welcome as they did. Hotel Alpenhof in Bad Tölz: family Ostermann, welcome our people (brazilians) very good. All the wishes (even the most difficult) it was realized. Even the dog is friendly. :)
Breakfast is very good and you can always ask if you like somethingelse.
Nice swimmingpool and hidromassage.
Middle of the mountains.

Helpful?
1 Thank Obelix/Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Toelz hotels
0.1 mi away
Eberl's Vitalresort
Eberl's Vitalresort
#9 of 19 in Bad Toelz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posthotel Kolberbrau
Posthotel Kolberbrau
#1 of 19 in Bad Toelz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#4 of 19 in Bad Toelz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Toelzer Hof
Hotel Toelzer Hof
#10 of 19 in Bad Toelz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Am Wald
Hotel Am Wald
#6 of 19 in Bad Toelz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leonhardihof
Leonhardihof
#12 of 19 in Bad Toelz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenhof

Property: Hotel Alpenhof
Address: Buchener Str. 14, 83646 Bad Toelz, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Toelz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bad Toelz
#1 Spa Hotel in Bad Toelz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alpenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpenhof Germany/Bad Toelz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing