We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winding Hallways”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zum Goldenen Ochsen
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Aschaffenburg
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I checked out 4 rooms at the hotel but it is inconvenient for parking and a handicap person. NO elevator and many stairs. The hallways are very narrow - smaller than average and the halls wind around the building. Carpet changes and there is no consistency in room decor. Restarant is very good with old traditional German decor. Very convienent in altstadt and bahnhof.

Room Tip: No Airconditioning is typical in Germany/Europe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bcr8tve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 159 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

In searching for a quaint and reasonably priced place to spend a night close to the Frankfurt Airport, I came across Aschaffenburg. In another hotel review, I saw mention of Zum Goldenen Ochsen. What a treat! It has the quaintness of the wood paneled rooms of German Gästehauses of days gone by, but with bathrooms in the room (not down the hall). The restaraunt was modern with wonderfully updated German cuisine while still offering the old favorite weiner schnitzel.

The location is ideal: close to the train station, in the old town, near the river and castle, across from a park. There is a laundromat one block away. The Frankfurt Airport is a 45 minute ride (20 Euro) away. I couldn't find an airport hotel for less than 200 Euro/night at the airport so I started looking for towns on the nearest rail lines. I usually go west but Mainz hotels were full or also expensive. It was my first visit to Aschaffenburg and I liked it.

If you're looking for a good value in a hotel near the Frankfurt Airport, try this hotel. Several Aschaffenburg train times are direct to the airport but others require one change at Frankfurt's main station. Plan according to your schedule and luggage burden. (Extra luggage can be stored at the airport for 5 Euro/day.)

The price for this hotel is right, too. I saved half of the Airport hotel cost on this hotel plus my round-trip train tickets. I think I found much better food here too. And I definitely got better rest in this quiet town and I got to briefly enjoy old town Aschaffenburg. The old hotel does contain narrow hallways and lots of odd stairs, no elevator. Most of the staff spoke excellent English; others just a little bit. I look forward to staying and eating here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 12km_commuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed here and had dinner on our last night of a winter week in Germany. We arrived about 7 PM to check in and for our 7:30 Dinner reservation , only to find that the promised parking for Hotel guests was not available as it was occupied by restaurant diners. When I asked for suggestions the receptionist had very little interest in my problem and no suggestions regarding where I could leave my car. I attempted to find street parking within a reasonable distance with no success, and then informed the frontdesk that I was putting the car in their private lot and would move it if and when someone needed to leave. What I expected was an offer to take care of the problem themselves by moving my vehicle and parking it in the promised vacant spot when it became available, but instead they were annoyed and then proceeded to come and get me to move the car and repark it in the lot just as my dinner arrived at the table. What really added to the insult was that a number of the occupied parking spots were taken up by hotel and restaurant employees including the owners. Fortunately the dinner was quite good and our waitress was wonderful apologizing for the interuption of my meal by the front desk clerk. The room was spartan and the bed the worst of our 8 nights in Germany. Perhaps the owners need to decide if they want to limit themselves to the restaurant business or provide their lodging quests with a better overall experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank spiegs882016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Visited the town for a class reunion and former classmates arranged for a group stay. I have been surprised how easy and informal the reservation process was handled.
Our group had a fabulous dinner at the restaurant and breakfast couldn't have been better.
Kudos for everybody involved in this place from the reception to the housekeppers/cleaning staff.
Yes the cobblestone streets could add to a problem during the night, but I guess even in Germany this was one of the first great weekends for this summer.
I would come back in a heartbeat, especially for the price I have been charged

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reinhold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

I've stayed in this hotel as part of a large group on 3 occasions, would make it 4 next year but they are fully booked! I live thus hotel and can't fault it. I've only had an evening meal there once but it was first class. Only fault I can think of was a few noisy passers by but nothing the hotel could do about that!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgepb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Stayed 3 nights here with a party of 41, aged from 11 to over 70, whilst performing in the Aschaffenburg Kulturfest with Perthshire Brass. Check in of such a large group was unbeleivably speedy and efficient; due to traffic and weather delays we were running very late and as such had only 15 minutes to re-appear in full uniform ready to head to our first concert venue. Rooms varying in character between the "old" and "new" parts of the hotel, which was atmospheric if possessed of an idiosyncratic room-numbering system.
My room (14) spacious and comfy although a distinct "smoky" atmosphere noted, there being no smoking ban in German hotels. Spotless bathroom, good wardrobe space. Air conditioning wold however have been a boon in the extremely warm weather.
Beautiful breakfast room, delightful young lady on duty there and good selection of breads / rolls / cereals / cold meats etc. All in all , a welcoming base - we have used it as a band before and will doubtless do so again, Aschaffenburg and Perth being "twin cities".

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faircityrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer zum Schlosspark wählen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nadine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aschaffenburg hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#5 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
46 reviews
4 mi away
Landhotel Klingerhof
Landhotel Klingerhof
#4 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dalberg Aschaffenburg
Hotel Dalberg Aschaffenburg
#6 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wilder Mann
Hotel Wilder Mann
#2 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novum Hotel Post Aschaffenburg
Novum Hotel Post Aschaffenburg
#8 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pfaffenmuehle
Hotel Pfaffenmuehle
#9 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zum Goldenen Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zum Goldenen Ochsen

Address: Karlstr. 16, 63739 Aschaffenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Aschaffenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Aschaffenburg
Price Range: $112 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zum Goldenen Ochsen 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Zum Goldenen Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing