We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent meal but problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zum Goldenen Ochsen
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Aschaffenburg
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“excellent meal but problems”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed here and had dinner on our last night of a winter week in Germany. We arrived about 7 PM to check in and for our 7:30 Dinner reservation , only to find that the promised parking for Hotel guests was not available as it was occupied by restaurant diners. When I asked for suggestions the receptionist had very little interest in my problem and no suggestions regarding where I could leave my car. I attempted to find street parking within a reasonable distance with no success, and then informed the frontdesk that I was putting the car in their private lot and would move it if and when someone needed to leave. What I expected was an offer to take care of the problem themselves by moving my vehicle and parking it in the promised vacant spot when it became available, but instead they were annoyed and then proceeded to come and get me to move the car and repark it in the lot just as my dinner arrived at the table. What really added to the insult was that a number of the occupied parking spots were taken up by hotel and restaurant employees including the owners. Fortunately the dinner was quite good and our waitress was wonderful apologizing for the interuption of my meal by the front desk clerk. The room was spartan and the bed the worst of our 8 nights in Germany. Perhaps the owners need to decide if they want to limit themselves to the restaurant business or provide their lodging quests with a better overall experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank spiegs882016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    46
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
46
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Visited the town for a class reunion and former classmates arranged for a group stay. I have been surprised how easy and informal the reservation process was handled.
Our group had a fabulous dinner at the restaurant and breakfast couldn't have been better.
Kudos for everybody involved in this place from the reception to the housekeppers/cleaning staff.
Yes the cobblestone streets could add to a problem during the night, but I guess even in Germany this was one of the first great weekends for this summer.
I would come back in a heartbeat, especially for the price I have been charged

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reinhold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

I've stayed in this hotel as part of a large group on 3 occasions, would make it 4 next year but they are fully booked! I live thus hotel and can't fault it. I've only had an evening meal there once but it was first class. Only fault I can think of was a few noisy passers by but nothing the hotel could do about that!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgepb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth (the original Scottish one!)
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Stayed 3 nights here with a party of 41, aged from 11 to over 70, whilst performing in the Aschaffenburg Kulturfest with Perthshire Brass. Check in of such a large group was unbeleivably speedy and efficient; due to traffic and weather delays we were running very late and as such had only 15 minutes to re-appear in full uniform ready to head to our first concert venue. Rooms varying in character between the "old" and "new" parts of the hotel, which was atmospheric if possessed of an idiosyncratic room-numbering system.
My room (14) spacious and comfy although a distinct "smoky" atmosphere noted, there being no smoking ban in German hotels. Spotless bathroom, good wardrobe space. Air conditioning wold however have been a boon in the extremely warm weather.
Beautiful breakfast room, delightful young lady on duty there and good selection of breads / rolls / cereals / cold meats etc. All in all , a welcoming base - we have used it as a band before and will doubtless do so again, Aschaffenburg and Perth being "twin cities".

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faircityrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aschaffenburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Landhotel Klingerhof
Landhotel Klingerhof
#2 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
City-Hotel Aschaffenburg
City-Hotel Aschaffenburg
#3 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wilder Mann
Hotel Wilder Mann
#4 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novum Hotel Post Aschaffenburg
Novum Hotel Post Aschaffenburg
#7 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pfaffenmuehle
Hotel Pfaffenmuehle
#8 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
34 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#5 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zum Goldenen Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zum Goldenen Ochsen

Property: Zum Goldenen Ochsen
Address: Karlstr. 16, 63739 Aschaffenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Aschaffenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Aschaffenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zum Goldenen Ochsen 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Zum Goldenen Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing