We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, good value,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Goldener Karpfen
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Aschaffenburg
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed on a recent business trip to Germany. From the outside, I was worried about this hotel, but once inside, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is run in conjunction with the Wilder Mann across the street. Breakfasty is there too.

Overall, will do in a pinch, but there are nicer hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mw368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 15 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is really an annexe of the larger Wilder Mann hotel directly across the road. This means that the reception and facilities are also located across the road which can be busy at times so sometimes you have to cross the road like a startled cat to avoid the traffic. As a result I gave this one less star for location which is otherwise excellent as it is within a few minutes walk from the lovely old town and also the Schloss Johannesburg which is where we ate as it has a lovely restaurant with a reasonably priced menu. The restaurant in the Wilder Mann had rather a limited menu but otherwise looked good but obviously I cannot score it as we didn't use it.
The room was a bit small compared to, say, those in its sister hotel Klingerhof, but was otherwise very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
The spa, consisting of steam room and two saunas, was excellent though there was no pool, which was a disappointment. No jacuzzi either although there was plenty of room for one. As the facilities were across the road one couldn't just slip into a robe and walk along the corridor to the spa meaning that you have to use the changing room to get undressed. However, this really isn't a problem, as towels are supplied and I believe slippers are also supplied if asked for and there are lockers. A massage service was available which we did not use.
Breakfast was excellent though, surprisingly, there was no toast available.
Would we go back? Yes, but we would prefer to stay across the road in the Wilder Mann so everything is under the same roof. Then again, that costs more so....you pay your money etc....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lfromleighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel is located on the edge of the wonderful Aldstadt in the charming town of Aschaffenburg.

It is basically an extension of the Hotel Wilder Mann, where the reception and restaurant are located.

Rooms are spacious and well-appointed and the inclusive breakfast has a good range of options.

Aschaffenburg is a lovely, unspoilt German town well worth a visit - only 45 minutes by train from Frankfurt.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulianFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: möglichst nicht zur Strasse raus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radfahrermkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWilderMann, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Goldener Karpfen, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: am besten ein Zimmer, das nicht zur Straße hinausgeht verlangen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eslak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWilderMann, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Goldener Karpfen, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Bonzai11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aschaffenburg hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#5 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wilder Mann
Hotel Wilder Mann
#4 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
118 reviews
3.9 mi away
Landhotel Klingerhof
Landhotel Klingerhof
#3 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dalberg Aschaffenburg
Hotel Dalberg Aschaffenburg
#7 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zum Goldenen Ochsen
Zum Goldenen Ochsen
#1 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novum Hotel Post Aschaffenburg
Novum Hotel Post Aschaffenburg
#8 of 15 in Aschaffenburg
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Karpfen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Karpfen

Address: Loeherstr. 20, 63739 Aschaffenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Aschaffenburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Aschaffenburg
Price Range: $82 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldener Karpfen 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Goldener Karpfen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing