We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorint Hotel & Sportresort
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Winterberg
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The Dorint Hotel is situated a few kilometers outside the town. It has hotel rooms and also apartments. Though we booked a hotel room, staff wished us to "upgrade" to a apartment. It took some time to persuade them that we really wanted to stay "inside" the hotel building. The hotel bar has a nice atmosphere. The restaurant served only average food.
Our room had enough space and was heated properly (by -15 degrees Celsius). Enough storing place. Even a small kitchen unit and a fridge were available.
Had a nice sleep.
The nice thing is that the hotel is direct on the skiing slope and non-skiers can enjoy nature by walking on prepared routes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veranderaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 143 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

A very nice hotel, with pleasent service and customer friendly people. Nice restaurant, pool and saune. Enviroment and views are walk-friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank avist80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend out of season and were really pleased with our chalet. It was clean, had loads of space and everything we needed with a great view as well.
The hotel staff were keen to help us with any queries, the breakfast was good, but the food in the 'pub' in the evening a little bland..
The indoor pool is great (with a smaller pool for our (then) 5 month old daughter) and the location was great with lots of beautiful scenery on the doorstep.
My only reservation is that it isn't very pram friendly - we had a mountain of steps to get up to get in and out of the restaurant, and out chalet was at the bottom of a very steep hill which we had to walk up to get to the car park every time we wanted to use the car. So if you have a pram, try and book one of the chalets which are closer to the car park!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanomog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in January with a family of four in a one bedroom apartment, which was very spacious and well equipped. Lots of storage space. The only little con about the apartment was the kitchenette, it had seen better days (very old, bit rusty and tap was leaking).

The food in the restaurant (we used the buffet restaurant upstairs for breakfast and dinner) was good and staff friendly. There are many families with (small) children and the place caters very well for them. There is a little play/tv room next to the restaurant which we found ideal.

The facilities we used were all good, nice pool and grounds are well-kept. We are definitely going back next year. Overall very good value

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussiemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

After having been in the Dorint Winterberg for an entire week, I think I have an idea of the hotel in a serial of aspects. Let's briefly explain them:

HOTEL: In general the place is nice and you would easily notice that during summer and snow it most probably meets the expectations of a leisure vacation. But we were there in a very dark, very rainy, very cold november; where the snow, if any, lasted a couple of hours and melted or vanished under more and more rain. In such weather frame, the hotel was dark, very little to do if not going to the pool, or simply staying at the room, or eating. That's all, and after 8 days and 7 nights, you are desperately looking for a change of scenery and finish the holidays in the same way you left home. Sorry to say... but this could have been improved if the hotel anticipated this and offered a more rich spectrum of activities for the guests (in English at least).

ROOM: The room is clean and well furnished. Coffe maker, waterboiler, dishes and the rest are in the kitchenette, but no clock in the room; TV with only German channels and an ununderstable telephone dealing makes it less cozy. Internet is so expensive and not in room (!!!) In my personal case, the beds were unbearably hard and I was happy to have the sleeping couch as alternative for such matrasses. The pillows, funny to say, were all too soft, melting under my head. My husband wants me to mention he instead slept very well on the beds, and hereby I write it down.

RESTAURANTS: We found the food of the Restaurant (affordable one of the ground floor) particularly good. Affordable prices, well served, delicious food. Only small thing is that the menu has little choice and is in German, they dont have ONE translation to any other language and staff doesnt speak a word of another language. They do what they can but not enough for reasonable communication and though they are adequate, they are also a bit dry.

POOL: Good, very strong jacuzzi, nice little pool for children. Sleepery grounds though and the little dinosaur in the children pool must be cleaned... but also the air is very hot and smelling to chlorine... I could stand it one hour, no more.

KINDERCLUB (Children club): When I came here to check this aspect, didnt find any review mentioning these facilities: here it is my feedback for the families with children: The place is big, spacious, well furnished with a serial of games and even a small playground/slide indoor. The outdoor playground is good! Pity that there were not enough children and the assistant even asked us "when we would pick up ours", giving the impression she wanted to close earlier. As everything during this stay the place was too quite and too dark, and too far from the building: we reached it under cold, windy, heavy rain and sometimes found it closed. Oh well...

BREAKFAST: Simply great. The one real "event" of the day, haha.

SAUNA AND WELLNESS: Sauna quite small and hot for what found in other places; massages pretty average but at not too expensive prices. Quality not the best though. The gym space is at the very beginning of the main building (I mention this because it was very hard for me to actually find this space, the hotel is like a sort of labyrinth on stairs); but you can use the very few machines in particular times of the day as the one room for gym is also used for pilates, cardio and other things. So you must find a "schedule" for the machines, which anyway are not many and not very new.

LOCATION: There is no commercial surrounding around the hotel, you must go to Winterberg in order to vary your possibilities for food and shopping and most of the shops are PRICY as hell. Anyway there is a discount supermarket and easy shops as well, look outside the main street. You wont find ONE shop with maternity clothes.

Well, I hope this experience will be useful. The hotel is good but it was a mistake to go on November, and for many little things I couldnt finish to feel myself at ease.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

stayed in a roomy lodge. Bit of a pain you had to park the car away from the lodge. Decoration is old fashioned but didn't bother us.
Quite expensive for summer given that the main season is the winter ski season.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank united_always_score
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

It is located in a beautiful area, with good facilities, nice alpine architecture, relaxing views and very helpful staff.
Big rooms with a 70’s style furniture and very good beds. The tv set was very small and there were no English channels.
The shower was the best I had in any of the hotels I have been to – simple and with good pressure.
The restaurants were too expensive – maybe because the hotel is not located in a walking distance to Winterberg. £30 for a carafe of house wine?!!!
Nevertheless , the breakfast (included) was divine.

Good area for walking – we hope to be able to come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marininlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winterberg hotels
3.3 mi away
Hapimag Resort Winterberg
Hapimag Resort Winterberg
#8 of 53 in Winterberg
88 reviews
2.7 mi away
AVITAL Resort
AVITAL Resort
#4 of 53 in Winterberg
147 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Nuhnetal
Hotel Nuhnetal
#18 of 53 in Winterberg
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Winterberg Resort
Hotel Winterberg Resort
#12 of 53 in Winterberg
103 reviews
2.5 mi away
Central-Hotel
Central-Hotel
#3 of 53 in Winterberg
50 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Liebesglueck
Hotel Liebesglueck
#11 of 53 in Winterberg
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Hotel & Sportresort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Hotel & Sportresort

Address: Dorfstrasse 1 / Postwiese, 59955, Winterberg, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Winterberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Winterberg
#15 Spa Hotel in Winterberg
Price Range: $100 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Hotel & Sportresort 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Dorint Hotel & Sportresort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorintresorts Hotel Winterberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing