We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Karma Bavaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karma Bavaria
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Schliersee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2010

As usual with properties owned and managed by Diamond Resorts International, cannot fault the place in anyway.
The front desk staff were excellent and extremely helpful. The maintenance staff when required were also very efficient.
This was highlighted by the fact that the paths and car park were cleared of snow before we were up and about in the morning.
Dimitri (the manager) is passionate about the place and if he takes you out on a tour explains everything in great detail
The service in the restaurant, was what you expect with very good service and reasonable prices.
The leisure facilities are also very good.
The closeness of the supermarkets, train station and all the other facilities in the village are a bonus. The views from the plave and the village are stunning
In conclusion, I would fully recommend a stay at the Alpen Club.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul_Merrywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 570 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2010

This was our 2nd visit to the Alpen Club, having previously been in Oct 2009.
We had a 2 bedroom apartment this time and I cannot fault it for comfort, cleanliness and equipment. I still rate the accommodation as 4*.
We did not try the restaurant as we had a poor experience on our first trip and with being out and about, we preferred to eat out.
The wifi internet was my only problem. It is firstly not cheap at about 28 euros for a week and then it did not work in our apartment block. It was fine as soon as I went out the main door into the the garden but it was -5 out there and ok if i went to the reception area. Despite complaining about it most days and reception contacting the provider, promises of a fix never materialised. I did get a partial refund.
As our trip was at the end of November, it coincided with the start of the Christmas Markets. We used the Bayern Ticket or the local group BOB ticket to get to markets at Chiemsee, Rosenheim, Bad Toelz, Augsburg, Regensburg and Munich. Although it snowed, we had no issues with the trains.
We will certainly return, perhaps in summer next time to do lots of hiking.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CazMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

My family (11 people) rented 3 apartments here for a week in June. The best thing about the Alpen Club is the location. Schliersee town is in a beautiful area, the lake is lovely, and it is very walkable, with several walking/hiking trails nearby. There are 2 decent supermarkets within walking distance and another larger one in a shopping complex just a short drive down the road. Getting to Munich by train is easy enough and we also made day trips (by car) to Salzburg, the Eagle's Nest and Fussen. We had 2 large vans and didn't have any trouble parking them at the hotel. There is space on the side of the building for parking when the hotel is busy.

We loved the pool at the AlpenClub - I think the kids were in it every day. Beware of the saunas - they are extremely hot. Nice hot tub that fits 6-8 people. We did not use the spa, but they have specials that seem like a good deal.

Our stay wasn't completely without problems. We had been told that our rooms would be ready for check-in after 3:PM, but none of them were ready when we arrived. I think it took 2 hours until we could finally get into all the rooms. Some of the rooms had a very unpleasant smell, which might be a cleaning product or possibly something to do with the plumbing. The rooms are cleaned and towels and linens changed twice during your stay, which is fine and you can request other towels at any time. You may want to ask for extra toilet paper if you have 4 or 5 people in the room. There are extra linens in the closet in the room for the pull-out sofa. The staff apparently think its quite safe here, because they left our ground-floor window open and patio door unlocked one day after they cleaned.

We used the self-service laundry, which I think was 3 euros for each (small) machine, wash and dry. The cycles are both over 1 hour - quite ridiculous - so do laundry on a rainy day. The restaurant is average and doesn't serve lunch. On theme nights, they do not offer the regular menu, so you have to pay $20 for the buffet. The Italian buffet was quite good. The free drink coupons you receive at check-in cannot be used at the bar, and if your card is for 5 people, you have to get 5 drinks or you lose them (ex. only 3 people want a drink, you lose the other 2). The charges for Internet access are steep and it is better to buy a card for 3 days at a time (we had a computer that we used in the room). Be aware that we could not use iTouch or iPhone through this service. The Internet computer in the lobby is also ridiculously expensive.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and I think it had a lot to do with the fantastic weather and having vehicles at our disposal. I would stay at this property again, but there are also several other places in town that looked nice, but probably not suited for such large groups.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoamingTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The Hotel
We have stayed at the Alpine hotel for two years running now. I have to say that our stay there on both occasions has been thoroughly enjoyable. The hotel is very clean, (possibly the cleanest I have stayed in) modern and has excellent facilities. Staff all speak good English and are very hospitable, friendly and willing to help, the German people are very warm and welcoming and efficient in their general running of the hotel – everything is on time and services delivered with a smile. The waiter makes meal times somewhat entertaining with his colourful personality and good humour. Food is very good indeed, catering for a range of tastes – restaurant dinners are often themed. We had a Bavarian buffet and Italian night accompanied by entertainment, all very good. The owner of the hotel I believe is Greek – and you can feel the influence reflective of the food and entertainment…these are areas that the Greeks do very well and it shows here.

The Location
The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of Schliersee and is in walking distance to local Bavarian bakeries, cafes, restaurants and a home-made liqueur shop. We recommend the Italian restaurant (whose name escapes me) which makes the most amazing fresh pizzas, the size of a dustbin lid! The town also has a supermarket for amenities. The hotel offers a range of excursions…you can take a horse and cart ride around Lake Schliersee whilst sipping a hot cup of Gluwein. Winter is a great time to visit, December sees the Xmas markets in the village come to life, and with locals staging musical shows and selling home baked pastries and bratwursts. Snow is often forecast which adds to the exquisite charm of Schliersee. Many of the buildings in the village are traditional; locals forbid the construction of modern builds, which would blight the landscape. It is well worth hiring a car and exploring the local mountains – Spitzingsee is a magical place with its frozen lakes and natural beauty – you can even ski there in the winter for as little as 15 Euros a day! Take a cable car to the top of a mountain and admire the view whilst sipping a hot chocolate in the summit restaurant. You can also take a drive into neighbouring Austria and take in the breathtaking views of the Bavarian alps and surrounding forests. Schliersee also features a shuttle train which takes you straight into Munich – a city well worth visiting, steeped in history, and ideal for shopping and sampling the beer in the Ratzkeller! Tours are available in Munich – the hotel has further details, just ask!

The Verdict
The hotel is fantastic and is a great base for sight seeing and exploring…or just relaxing in the spa whilst watching the snow fall and enjoying the facilities. Schliersee is indeed a hidden gem, located in a truly beautiful and unique part of Europe. I have German heritage but, from an English perspective I was pleasantly surprised at how friendly and hospitable the Germans are, even outside of the hotel. All in all a great hotel which is clean, modern, welcoming and has a very charming vibe about it. Highly recommended – book now for a holiday you will truly remember!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rob198318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We recently spent a week at AlpenClub Schliersee and we only have positive things to say about our stay. We exchanged a week with Interval International so we had an "apartment" with a bedroom/2 baths/kitchenette and living room. This was a great place for exploring the Bavarian countryside. We joined two exursions, one to Munich and the other to Salzburg, we thought we would want to stay longer which was an option available but by the end of the tour and our free time we were ready to head back with the group. Silvi is great to do tours with, she is very personable. We cant stress how perfect this location was for exploring, we hopped into our car and within an hour we were in Austria, two hours we were in Northern Italy. We will certainly return to AlpenClub on our next trip to Bavaria.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

The pool was closed and when I complained it was not told on booking.com the front desk girl said yes it was, it took her 10 min to find something I never saw and cannot find on that website anywhere. She would not give us a discount and my kids were so looking forward to cooling off in the pool after a hot day. Booking.com said free wifi but apparently thats not in the rooms. There were bees in the apartment. We would have stayed somewhere cheaper if we had known. The food is mediocre at best. Rooms are outdated and beds uncomfortable. Rooms are hot, we did not sleep well at all. The setting was pretty, is the only good thing I can say.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobietyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

This was the second visit to the Alpenclub, staying in a club suite, rather than family room this time. On both occaisions, the welcome on arrival is friendly and staff seem to genuinely want to both help and to ensure the stay with them is enjoyed. Throughout the stay, whether booking a restaurant, checking if roads are clear (snow) and advising on transport arrangements to munich or elswhere, the advice and service was superb.
The rooms are comfortably functional rather than luxurious but are spotlessly clean comfy and full of amenities, I can't fault them at all. The hotel also has a pool, sauna etc available to guests.
The two trips there have been for skiing, which whilst not a huge ski area and about a 20 minute drive away, are good fun, challenging enough and incredibly quiet even at the weekends. If it is busy nightlife you are after, the town does seem to shut down in part until the end of March so it was quiet, but all shops are open and there is a fair choice of restaurants if you are not eating in the hotel. Munich is on ly 50 minutes away by train if you want the city. If you want to try something different for a winter sports I would recomend this without reservation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schliersee
4.9 mi away
Das Tegernsee
Das Tegernsee
#1 of 9 in Tegernsee
467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seehotel Schlierseer Hof
Seehotel Schlierseer Hof
#4 of 6 in Schliersee
158 reviews
5.6 mi away
Arabella Alpenhotel am Spitzingsee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
#2 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
904 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gastehaus Hubertus Hotel Garni
5.9 mi away
Hotel Bachmair Weissach
Hotel Bachmair Weissach
#1 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Bavaria

Address: Kirchbichlweg 18, 83727 Schliersee, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly AlpenClub Schliersee Hotel &Spa)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schliersee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Schliersee
Price Range: $106 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karma Bavaria 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the foothills of the Bavarian Alps, close to the tranquil lake Schliersee, Karma Bavaria is blessed with some of the most stunning mountain scenery. Karma Bavaria in Schliersee has all the facilities to make your vacation a success. This recognized health resort has a unique setting and offers something for everyone. It has an excellent restaurant and bar, along with indoor and outdoor sporting and other leisure activities. The resort consists of 82 beautifully appointed units with modern facilities, equipped with kitchen(partly)and tasteful living space with Satellite TV, DVD and balcony. The resort is also near the bus and train connections to both Munich and Salzburg, so sightseeing tours of both are within easy access during your stay. Popular activities available near to the resort include hiking, and many different winter sports. Whatever time of year you travel, and whether it is winter sports or summer relaxation - Karma Bavaria is a wonderful place to visit at any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Karma Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenclub Schliersee Hotel Schliersee
Alpenclub Hotel Schliersee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing