We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zum Hofhaus am See

Zum Hofhaus am See
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Schliersee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had a meal for my wife's birthday with our two young children. Had an excellent meal overall. I had the 3 course set menu of fish, which on hindsight, would not have ordered. Had 2/3 courses each, two rounds of drinks and bill was €95. Was very busy, Friday night, and good atmosphere and service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    35
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West country
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Must Try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great restaurant and beer garden. A comprehensive menu with an English translation if required. Great fish and local Bavarian dishes at a good prices. Sitting in the beer garden is great but you need to arrive early or after 1430. Lovely view of the lake. Food is delicious, well presented and portion size just right. Inside, the restaurant is typically Bavarian, plenty of fascinating things to look at whilst waiting for your meal. A great experience all round, we had to keep coming back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaymad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hnl
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elegant meal, kid-friendly touches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a very nice meal here with our two children. The seating in the Biergarten was relaxed but nicer than your average picnic-table style place. The fish was excellent, the Hirsch (deer) also quite good, though it could have had a bit more flavor. The restaurant is oriented towards adults but has some child-friendly elements, including kids' meals (the usual chicken nuggets / fish sticks / french fries / Spätzle, but tastier than average and fresh), which the waiter brought out right away, and a small step-stool & kid-size potty seat (hanging next to sink) in the bathroom. There was also space to park our stroller, though I imagine it gets a lot more crowded in the height of summer. Overall, we'd definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cithri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

There was a really friendly welcome at Hof Haus. The service was good and the waiter tried to help translate the menu to English. The food was excellent and nicely presented. I would love to go back in the summer and sit in there beer garden which over looks the Schliersee lake

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 001barbara001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely setting overlooking the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Staff great, very friendly and attentive. Food choice good with well-priced set menu and lovely local specialities.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Hofhaus am See also viewed

 
Schliersee, Upper Bavaria
Schliersee, Upper Bavaria
 
Schliersee, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Zum Hofhaus am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing