We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Landhotel Maiergschwendt
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Ruhpolding
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What can I say!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The previous contributor has said it all - and I whole-heartedly agree with their comments - so there is little point in saying it all again! A big thank you to all the staff at the Hotel Maiergschwendt for making our stay so enjoyable. I would add that a visit to the lovely spa town of Bad Reichenhall, which is free on the bus, is well worthwhile.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BozNorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    27
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I’d never come across such good reveiws for a hotel on Trip Advisor but having stayed there I can confirm it really is that good!

The room was very spacious and included a table and chairs, sofa and flat screen television. Plenty of coat hangers. The balcony was large and had a table and two seats with cushions. On the advice of an earlier comment I took a bar of soap and shower gel (also a shower hat). The shower trays are really deep so after a day’s walking you can put the plug in a soak your feet whilst showering. We couldn’t hear anything from the other rooms. The room was very clean as was all areas of the hotel.

The food was excellent. Lovely continental/buffet breakfast plus freshly cooked eggs and bacon if you wanted it. At breakfast you chose your four course supper for that evening. The food was always home cooked and we were never disappointed. The hotel also gives you a voucher for a complementary coffee and cake in the restaurant.

The hotel is about 25 minutes walk to the centre of town with some quite amazing views. There are numerous ways to walk down. If it was dark I wouldn’t be confident finding my way back by just the light of a torch. We went for a relaxing holiday and the hotel/location was perfect for this. If you want to go clubbing this clearly isn’t the resort for you!

The X tra card provided to all visitors in Ruhpolding allows free local bus travel (5 times a day from the front of the hotel to the town) but could not be used to get a discount on the train. The card also allows for entrance into some local amenities including the swimming complex "Vita Alpina". They need ID to confirm your name on the X-tra card. The token they give you gets you through the turn style and then you use it again for your locker. You need to bring your own towels. The heated/salted outdoor pool (not a swimming pool) is amazing – you look up at the wonderful scenery.

To get to Salzburg for four euros return you need to take the bus from outside the train station. It goes once a day (Monday to Friday only) and makes a couple stops on route. The trip by train is much quicker – one 20 minute journey and then a 30 minute one. The cost of this return trip in eleven euros.

Traunstein is a 20 minute train ride costing four euros fifty cents return. There’s some shops there and some nice places to eat in the town square.

Veronika is a lovely welcoming host and was very kind in helping with a medical emergency.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CM_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in July 11 and found the location of the hotel excellent. The veiws are fantastic all round. There is a 20 min walk into the village and you need to take a torch with you for getting back in the dark after an evening stoll into the village the brilliant Village Evenings held in the Kurhaus. The food was very good and interesting although some guests found some of the food combinations strange. We didn`t find the staff wanted to get to bed early and they were always very happy to serve us sitting out or in the lounge. The X tra card that you are given also includes the bus, lifts and most of the local attractions and gives good discounts on longer distance travel. We are booked again for the this July. We did have a bit of shock sat in the dinning room on the first evening, thinking we had seen a wounded deer, with an arrow sticking out its back, but realised as it wasn`t moving it was an archery course set up in the hills behind the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed at the Landhotel for one week in mid Sept 2011 and have no hesitation in recommending it. Our booking was half-board through Thomson.
We were greeted on arrival by the owner and were made to feel welcome throughout our stay. All of the staff are very friendly and their English was far better than our German!
There was a wide variety on the buffet breakfast and even a choice of freshly cooked eggs. The evening meals were delicious with at least 3 courses and always a vegetarian option on offer if required. Our room on the ground floor at the rear was very clean and a good size, although we did pay to upgrade to a larger room at the time of booking. We did not see any of the upstairs rooms so could not comment on their size but all had balconies. From our room we had direct access to the garden area at the rear where swings, a trampoline and sun loungers were available and we managed to fit in a couple of hours of peaceful sunbathing at the end of a day’s hiking. The Landhotel is in the X-tra Card scheme which gives free access to local bus travel, the Unternberg chair lift, Rauschberg cable car (which gets very busy with coach parties), the Vita Alpina swimming complex and more.
The hotel is a little way out of the town centre but there’s a beautiful 15-20 minute walk into town along a quiet and scenic path. There’s a free local bus service but we much preferred the walk. There are many walks and mountain paths around the area including a particularly nice one along the river.
Being slightly out of town puts you closer to the fantastic views of Rauschberg, Unternberg and the surrounding mountains which provides a fantastic vista while enjoying a quiet drink on the sun-terrace as the sun sets.
Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday so enjoyable. A one week stay was too short and we definitely hope to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rovers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

OK, This is my honest opinion of the hotel , having been to other hotels in the area i would say they are all to a goodstandard. The problem wiyh this hotel is that on an evening after 9 pm the staff want to go to bed, so the bar is closed to go to the village to seek further entertainment is a good 25 min walk down and 25 min walk back in the dark,so this is only an option on special times
I and several other quests believe that a salad buffet each evening would benifit the meals and some guests were really anoyed at having to pay extra for a piece of bread with soup in the evenings.
i do not believe that the owners wish to make anymore income from the bar in th evenings hence the early closing.
The owners i thought were helpfull and eager to help and talk to the quests but other people thought that they would only talk to when asked questions and not in a social way.
I would stay in this area and hotel again but i do think you need a car as the local transport is ok but the location is verygood and you can explore several areas within an hour which sometimes can take 3 hours to get to by public transport.If you can go in September the ST Georges Day parade of horses and villagers is a good thing to see as is the Village Festiival held in the ice rink arena.
Overall a nice hotel , good food, quite location which would benefit from a more frequent bus servce but i believe english guests have only been coming to the area for about 5 years so perhaps things will improve.
I informed Veronika who runs the hotel that i would be putting on this review and as said before its not just my opinion but a view from other guests at the time.

Room Tip: Top floor very good rooms 7,8,9, 10 the best veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

A couple in our late twenties we stayed here for a week in August 2011. We booked half-board through Thomson, and paid a little extra for a "family room" which was certainly larger than we really needed. As you would expect in Germany it was very clean and tidy. Our room was on the top floor to the rear of the hotel with a great view of the Rauschberg. There will be no bad views from this hotel but we would recommend this side as it is very quiet.
The food was always fresh with up to 4 courses at dinner, a good variety, portion and quality. They have a lovely outdoor area if you wish to dine al fresco under the mountains, and a reasonable Bavarian beer selection to wash it down with! Also a nice touch when you arrive is a voucher for free coffee and cake one afternoon of your stay.
The staff are very friendly and are all fluent or good at English so it's not a problem if you don't know any German. Despite clearly being very busy Veronika took the time to keep us company in the bar one evening when we asked to watch the Bayern Munich game. There is a games room with table tennis table and electronic dart board plus a trampoline in the garden if you/children need entertaining. They also have a small library and chess board for the more subdued.
The hotel is situated about a 15/20 mins pleasant walk by footpath from Ruhpolding (or you could get a bus), which makes for a very peaceful setting without being too isolated. If you go on any organised Thomson excursions they will pick you up and drop you off at the hotel which is very handy.
It is part of the Ruhpolding Xtra Card scheme which saved us a lot of money while we were there, we can't praise this enough (free cable car ride, chair lift rides, buses, swimming pool etc etc). If you have children there is even more to exploit and will save a bundle. We were very lucky with weather - 6 days of sun in the mid to high 20s and only 1 overcast/rainy day. Ruhpolding is a good base to explore the Chiemgau, Munich, Salzberg and for hiking/cycling. The bus and train connections are fine if you don't have a car.
We would absolutely recommend this hotel to both couples and families. We imagine during the skiing season the hotel is a lot more lively so should appeal to a younger crowd then too. It certainly wasn't the most expensive hotel in the area and we felt it provided good value in summer high-season.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank atypicalbritsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The Landhotel is situated in one of the most idyllic places we've ever visited. Every window from the hotel frames the beautiful countryside with endless walks, directly from the hotel or within a short drive. Simply breathtaking! Our room was on the top floor of the bio house and the view from our balcony, with the pleasant sound of a cow bell ringing in the distance, was truly uplifting. Veronika's family and staff made us feel very welcome and relaxed. The spa in the basement was very clean and comfortable, providing an excellent wind-down at the end of the day. Our meals were delicious, sitting inside or out on the patio surrounded by mountains. This family-run hotel, in our opinion, definitely deserves 5 stars! Thank you Veronika and all who served us, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruhpolding
1.7 mi away
Wohlfuhlhotel Ortnerhof
Wohlfuhlhotel Ortnerhof
#1 of 18 in Ruhpolding
209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpenhotel Wittelsbach
Alpenhotel Wittelsbach
#2 of 18 in Ruhpolding
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Zum Hirschhaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Steinbach Hotel
Steinbach Hotel
#5 of 18 in Ruhpolding
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ruhpoldinger Hof
Ruhpoldinger Hof
#8 of 18 in Ruhpolding
48 reviews
5.6 mi away
Novum Alpenhotel Bayerischer Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhotel Maiergschwendt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhotel Maiergschwendt

Property: Landhotel Maiergschwendt
Address: Maiergschwendt 1, 83324 Ruhpolding, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Ruhpolding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Ruhpolding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Landhotel Maiergschwendt 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landhotel Maiergschwendt by DEVA is idyllically situated in the beautiful Chiemgau. The center of Ruhpolding is easily reached in 1.2 km.The hotel has 27 comfortable and cozy rooms. To relax invites a sauna area with Finnish sauna, steam bath and infrared cabin.In our restaurant "Maiers" can choose between half board (3-course menu) or a la carte dinner menu from the great guest.Our "Frank Sinatra" hotel bar invites to relax in the evening.In winter the house is the ideal base for winter sports. No matter on skiing, cross-country skiing or go with the whole family sledding. There is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HRS, Hotel.de, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Landhotel Maiergschwendt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing