We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Gem, Summer Gift”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pfronten
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berghotel Schlossanger Alp
Ranked #1 of 24 Pfronten B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Winter Gem, Summer Gift”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We arrived and were immediately greeted by the owners in a manner resembling those incredible visits to my grandmother's large house in my youth. Upon entry in the late afternoon, we were surrounded by the redolence of a sumptuous feast, which we later learned was the usual evening fare, which to us was unusual in the number of rich offerings of the German hunt.

Our room was terrific, with a balcony, which gave us personal access to the Bavarian Alps. We were informed by the staff that our spacious lodgings were usually reserved for a regular visitor, who had given up his lodgings, without our knowledge, so we could occupy them. Such is the incredible generosity of the Bavarians in general and Herr Bernd S. in particular.

Be sure to ask the owners about enjoying a special taste of the spirit of the mountains and ask for a tiny glass to enable you to do so.

Following dinner, over dessert and an aperitif of your choice (I have learned through bitter experience to avoid Grappa), ask one of the owners to speak about the history and activities of the mythical Wolpertingers, who are said to inhabit the deepest of the Alpine forests and are occasionally seen in the Schlossanger Alp environs, according to locals.

In closing, the Berghotel Schlossanger Alp is a real gem, nestled in the foothills of the Bavarian Alps, with views galore, fantastic service, an amazing choice of the finest Bavarian cuisine, with sufficient offerings for the children.

Room Tip: When it comes to rooms, as far as I know, all offer grand views are superbly appointed. However for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannes-Juergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    9
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
44
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miller Place, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We spent our wedding week here in the summer of 2008, after having dinner here in 2005 (it left quite the impression). We returned last week (2012) and were as pleased as ever with our experience. This is a family owned and run (several generations) hotel of the Schlachter-Ebert family. I cannot say enough about the location, the friendliness of the staff, the hospitality of the owners, and the beautifully appointed hotel/restaurant/rooms/spa/wine cellar, children's play areas, etc... Barbara Schlachter-Ebert is the chef/owner and her food is simply delightful!! Every single thing I have ever eaten here is divine and delectable, an experience and an event!! This wonderful woman cooks and prepares with such passion that I consider myself fortunate to have had the opportunity to taste her creations! As a family, they are always expanding and improving Schlossanger Alp. There is a new tree fort (booked every weekend this summer), a new pond, new outdoor furnishing... If you have the good fortune to be in the area of Pfronten, Germany I cannot emphasize enough that you must, must, must, stay here, visit here, eat here...... I assure you that it will leave a lasting impression.

Room Tip: In 2008 we had the wedding suite and spent an entire week at this most amazing place. Both Barbara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 10acious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I'm not a person that usually sits and writes reviews but this hotel deserves it. The whole hotel is clearly geared for families and has all the small touches to keep the children happy as well as the adults. The location is of course stunning which adds to the experience but the best part of it all is the food. My taste buds were surely more than satisfied at this place thanks to the owner's passion for cooking, and an impressive wine cellar completes the gastronomic experience.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmichaelides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
178 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Wonderful hotel. Variety of rooms. Good for walking. JRE restaurant with innovative cuisine. Check the different rooms in the website. View of the castle ruins and mountains. Parklike setting.

Room Tip: website to see the pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We arrived at Schlossanger-Alp hotel on a snowy evening in late October. We were given a warm welcome and excellent service (including help in arriving), and relaxed in their lounge in front of a wood log fire where we could have easily spent the evening. Luckily we ventureinto the resturarant for a superb local meal with delicious wines to accompany each course before retreating back to the lounge for coffee. The quality of service, the standard of accommodation and the relaxing atmosphere makes this a truely special hotel to get away from the pressures of day to day life. If you desire such an experince occassionally I would definitely recommend Schlossanger Alp.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteBassetGriffon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Beatiful and a great location for seeing the rest of Bavaria. We had one of the Alpine Suites which had a fantastic view from the balcony. Don't miss the tasting menu at the restaurant - excellent food and great wine. Very friendly service, and most staff speak English well enough. Great breakfast selection with just about anything you could want, and we appreciated that when you walk into the breakfast room your party has a name tag on a table so you don't have to search for seats. Ideal location for family reunions, but also private and romantic enough for just the two of us. Would love to go back in the winter. Will definitely be back regardless of the season, though.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mabelVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Schlossanger Alp is a wonderful hotel in the Alps. The location is absolutely beautiful. The hotel staff and owners are very friendly. The rooms are very comfortable. I was on a business trip but would recommend it for families and anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.

  • Liked — views and location
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akaskero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pfronten
1.5 mi away
Alpenhotel Krone
Alpenhotel Krone
#2 of 14 in Pfronten
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pfrontener Hof
Pfrontener Hof
#4 of 14 in Pfronten
51 reviews
2.3 mi away
Der Landgasthof Roefleuten
Der Landgasthof Roefleuten
#6 of 14 in Pfronten
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 14 in Pfronten
48 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hubertus Alpin Lodge&Spa
Hubertus Alpin Lodge&Spa
#1 of 7 in Balderschwang
350 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel Schlossanger Alp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Schlossanger Alp

Property: Berghotel Schlossanger Alp
Address: Am Schlossanger 1 | Obermeilingen, 87459 Pfronten, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Pfronten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Pfronten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Berghotel Schlossanger Alp 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear visitor, honored guest!We welcome you on the pages of the mountain Schlossanger Alp, a 4 starsuperiore hotel in the Allgäu, Bavaria. Situated at 1130 meters above sea level, surrounded by meadows and bordered by the mountains of Pfrontener, lies the castle Alp.We are always actively involved as a host to keep the equipment and services, within an attractive and contemporary levels.Daily we are enthusiastically for you, you give a piece of home in the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berghotel Schlossanger Alp Pfronten, Germany - Bavaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing