We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly awesome, hotel and house beer is great, breakfast average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brauerei-Gasthof Hotel Post
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nesselwang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Close to being a 5 star, but breakfast falls a little short. Served as our base camp for 3 nights while we explored more of the Alpine Road. Post is a family run (Meyer) traditional brewery guest house and the hotel itself is adorable. Styled with dark woods and Bavarian decorations, our room, 28, was a nice size with a comfortable bed, desk, additional chair, lots of storage with large windows. Bathroom was a nice size and clean, typical small shower.. As is usual with traditional smaller hotels, there is no elevator and no A/C (we were here in September and room was very comfortable, nice breeze during the day with open window, kept window closed at night). Room overlooked beer garden but weather was rainy so we didn't have an opportunity to sit outside.
Nice touch is the complimentary bottle of beer and water in the room, even replenished each day. Karl Meyer, who is featured on the beer label, visits the dining room each night to say hello to the guests, another personal touch.
An unbelievable feature is the quick and bargain price on laundry service. Another family member (we assume, didn't get her name) is unbelievably efficient, she took care of everything we needed and washed 3 pairs of jeans in just 2 1/2 hours. When we went to pay at check-out, we assumed it was 5€ per jean but they insisted on only charging us 5€ total! She is fluent in English, lived in California for a number of years. Most of the staff spoke at least some English and they do have English menus on hand.
WIFI is free even though the receipt you are given says there is a charge. My guess is that they recently stopped charging.
There is a parking lot behind the brewery, on a side street. We were able to find parking, but it was limited. Do not try parking in the parking garage - it's really tight and cars had a lot of difficulty getting in and out. The hotel recommended we park in the lot and we followed their suggestion after seeing the garage. It's best for bikes and motorcycles.
Restaurant is very popular with locals, make dinner reservations upon arrival. Tuesdays through Thursdays, the dinner special is Schweine Haxe, a full pork knuckle, with a dumpling, cabbage salad and 2 free beers of your choice. They run out early so be sure to reserve your Haxe when you make the dinner reservation. Our Haxe were beautifully prepared, very moist and came right off the bone. Sauce was a little salty for our taste. Menu is traditional Bavarian and everything we tried was very good.
Their house brewed beer is helles, dunkles and dry double hopped beer (Hopfen Royal). Their beers are excellent, really enjoyed the Hopfen Royal which is considered an aperitif.
Only disappointment was the breakfast which to me is a defining feature of a guest house. Nothing bad, but just average and not as good as the rest of their operations. It's a typical breakfast, no complaints about choices, just that the meats, cheeses were of average quality, not as good as comparably priced guest houses. What bothered us most was the chopped fruit salad that was mushy and tasted canned. But they did have some fresh fruit available. Had hard boiled eggs sitting out, none to order.
Overall, a really nice experience at a Bavarian guest house with wonderful family service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLostTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 73 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

We ate out in the beer-garden, and it was lovely! They do have an English menu and the service was very helpful and friendly. This place is really cute, with authentic German food. Parking is nearby across the street near the church. Portions are large, so you may even want to share. If you are visiting the area castles, it's about 1/2 hour from Fussen, with some nice scenic roads.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LeeCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday the restaurant serve a pork knuckle with kraut salat and a dumpling. Included are two beers of your choice. All this for €14:80 which is not bad considering the quality of the beer and food. As it was Easter I had the Easter beer and a Gold beer. Really good. The room we got was the last available (25) and has two single beds end to end. The stairs are steep especially if you are on the second floor like us. Parking is 4 € which really should be free for guests. As room and breakfast was 108 € plus kurtax. Not disabled friendly. All in all location is good being right in the centre. Room was clean. Internet you need access code and they ask whether you want 1, 3 or 6 hours access, I would strongly recommend the hotel to simply provide 24 hour access when you check in, this would fit in with the needs of today's traveller. Water and a bottle of beer in the room is a nice touch as well as an apple each - who needs chocolate ! All in all not too bad but prices a little high for what you get, especially when you pay to park.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Griso_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We came here several years for one night as we went to Italy. The last two years the quality has diminished. So we won't go anymore. Price/quality is not anymore OK. Last year parking was not cleared and very icy. But we got an excuse and a 30 euro to spend this year.
Food and service is not so good as the other years. But still acceptable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the roadsite are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mig55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by the very friendly staff who showed us to our designated parking space and then to our room, which was spacious, clean and well equipped (and included a free bottle of beer and water), if a little traditional in terms of decor.

The restaurant was excellent, multi lingual menus (German, French, Italian and English) and both the food and the beer fantastic. They offer a multitude of take way beer so you can bring a few bottles back home with you too!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the front as you get a view of the church across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank sumpfbiber999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHPTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nesselwang
0.3 mi away
Explorer Hotel Neuschwanstein
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose
Hotel Alpenrose
#6 of 9 in Nesselwang
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nesselwanger Hof
Hotel Nesselwanger Hof
#2 of 9 in Nesselwang
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Vitalhotel Die Mittelburg
Vitalhotel Die Mittelburg
#1 of 4 in Oy-Mittelberg
38 reviews
4.0 mi away
Berghotel Tirol
Berghotel Tirol
#1 of 2 in Jungholz
89 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Birkenhof
Hotel Birkenhof
#6 of 14 in Pfronten
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brauerei-Gasthof Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brauerei-Gasthof Hotel Post

Address: Hauptstr. 25, 87484 Nesselwang, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Nesselwang
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nesselwang
Price Range: $95 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brauerei-Gasthof Hotel Post 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brauerei-Gasthof Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing