We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Excellent service in Murnau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Griesbrau zu Murnau
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Murnau
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Excellent service in Murnau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

We arrived in Murau on a Thursday night with no reservation and this hotel appeared to be the only one with an available room after trying two other Gasthaus'. The girl at the front desk even called a few other hotels for us before checking us into the room here. We found the room very clean, crisp in a building with a courtyard where the Brauhaus and other shops had tables set up. The location was perfect, however in the courtyard there appeared to be a club or bar of some sort that music came from whenever a patron entered. The solid hotel windows, when closed, kept the noise out, but by the middle of the night the room was warm. Fortunately when we opened the window the patrons had departed and all was quiet again. The other drawback which we found at another hotel was the pillows - they are a style we just aren't used to but have come across twice on this trip before. On the service, two days after leaving we found we had left something in the room. We called the hotel and they had recovered it from the room and offered to post it to us at another address in Germany without charge. They were extremely friendly, spoke excellent English, and without hesitation I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boonema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
25
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

My husband and I were travelling with his sister for a holiday in Bavaria, the focus of which was the Passion Play in Oberammergau. We chose Murnau for it's ease of access by train from Munich, but were sold by the amazing buildings and the proximity of the Staffelsee for boat trips / walking / swimming.

We loved the hotel. Thje rooms, single one included, are a great size. They are sparsely (as per a previous review) furnished but gorgeous with wooden floors, fittings and furnishings - and how much furniture do you need in a hotel room?

The whole complex is family owned and run, and feels like it.

The bar, brewery and restaurant were all very friendly and I'm sure the courtyard in the sun (we managed to arrange mainly rain) would have been a lovely place for a drink. The hotel is on Obermarkt, a really pretty street of traditional Bavarian buildings and our room overlooked the church and the Schloss. Oh, and did I mention that the brewery produces great beer?

Breakfasts were lovely with a wide selection of cereals, breads, spreads, ham, cheese eggs etc.

On the downside, all the rooms are up at least one flight of stairs, if not two, and the Staffelsee is a 20min+ walk away so it wouldn't be ideal for anyone with mobility problems.

Overall, though, we loved it. We didn't want to leave and are trying to work out how to get back for a long weekend in th near future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

We only stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Oberammergau for the Passion play. Hotel is small more like a B&B really but the room was spacious clean and comfortable.
We only had one evening meal which was ok but not outstanding. Breakfast was good.
There is a nice bar in the courtyard of the hotel I'm not sure if it's part of the hotel but it is a nice place for a quiet drink.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polokildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulldog Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

Stayed at the Griesbrau for 3-nights in September 2009. Very friendly staff. Opted for the apartment rather than the standard double room. It had a separate bedroom, a living room, and bathroom with shower and tub. Very comfortable with a nice view of the city and mountains. The living room was a bit sparse, with a couch/pull out bed, coffee table, television, and writing table with a few kitchen chairs. In the bedroom a double bed and a low crib. Price was 110-euro which was very fair. The included breakfast was very good with a nice selection of cheeses, cooked eggs, meats, cereals, fruit etc.
The restaurant had excellent food as well. The waitstaff were very friendly and helpful. We had roast chicken and roast pork with noodles and potato dumplings and it was so good. The beers brewed on site, in fact in the dining room area with the brewmaster checking the kettles from time to time. Very cozy atmosphere and many local people and visitors enjoying the eating and drinks (once again very reasonable prices). There is free parking in a private parking lot across the street from the Griesbrau.
The city of Murnau has excellent walking areas, shopping, and dining.
The location was a 7-minute walk from the Murnau main train station, and a 1-hour ride from Murnau to Munich where we attended the Oktoberfest. Nearby Garmisch and Etal a short drive and spectacular mountain scenery.
So, the Griesbrau, loved it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IbetchaYubetcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murnau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Angerbraeu
Hotel Angerbraeu
#4 of 5 in Murnau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpenhof Murnau
Alpenhof Murnau
#1 of 5 in Murnau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post Murnau
Hotel Post Murnau
#3 of 5 in Murnau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Klausenhof am Park, Hotel garni
1.0 mi away
Gasthof zum Stern
Gasthof zum Stern
#1 of 1 in Seehausen am Staffelsee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
7.9 mi away
Seehotel Grauer Baer
Seehotel Grauer Baer
#1 of 8 in Kochel am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griesbrau zu Murnau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griesbrau zu Murnau

Property: Griesbrau zu Murnau
Address: Obermarkt 37, 82418 Murnau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Murnau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Murnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Griesbrau zu Murnau 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Griesbrau zu Murnau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing