We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay with local charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Griesbrau zu Murnau
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Murnau
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay with local charm”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our rating is probably a little harsh on this hotel. There was a big hotel going on when we arrived and I think the staff were a little stretched as a result e.g. another guest was put mistakenly in our room, the choice of food was a bit lacking, and they ran out of desserts. Our experience the next night was a lot better because we use their restaurant (previously closed) rather than the brewery buffet.

The room was very good and spacious and overlooked the courtyard which was bustling with activity. It was a bit noisy on the first night because of the wedding, but the cycle-touring had tired us out too much for this to be much of a problem.

This hotel was part of our cycle package tour, so we cannot comment on value.

Room Tip: Choose Alte Tenne?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreacleMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    40
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
26
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A traditional style hotel built around an old courtyard. We were fortunate enough to have a room on the top floor of the rear upgraded accommodation which had an exceedingly spacious lounge attached to it. The main restaurant is excellent although it is closed on Monday and we dined in the beer hall which was a complete disappointment and more reminiscent of school dinners.
Breakfast is served in the main hotel and is in typical Bavarian style and could not be faulted.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgraded rooms at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our overnight stay at this combination micro (and I mean micro) brewery was a real experience! We participated in a group tour of the beer brewing operation guided by Wolfgang - the very entertaining and friendly brewmaster. Sampling each of the current beer products was the hightlight of the evening, followed by a pretty authentic Bavarian feast of schweinhaxen and roast chicken, vegetables and knoedel. Our rooms were located in both the older and newly-renovated portions of the hotel. Only complaint was that WiFi was not available in the older section. Breakfast was Outstanding! Everything you could possibly expect from a European country inn was available. Wish we could have stayed longer. Highly recommend this unique, somewhat out-of-the-way destination.

Room Tip: If you want reliable, in room wifi, ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaparral24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were a group of 50 for a tour and have to say the place was wonderful. Wolfgang gave an outstanding tour of the place and the samples of beer, tasty dinner leave me wanting more. I obviously didn't by enough for my next week in O'gau. You have to visit and see for yourself, you will not be disappointed. Thanks again Wolfgang!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ilndhpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Big rooms, we were in a triple, with small bathroom and creaky floors. Great location in city center, easy walking access to all markets, shops and restaurants/bars in between. Appeal of traditional beer hall, microbrewery right on property actually across courtyard from guest house. Reserved parking handy as well for those who have a room. Overall very happy with this city, and the Griesbrau!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We always come here for a great beer! Due to the fact that they are locally owned and operated, their beer does not get distributed and is only available at their location.

Highly recommend their Dragan blut beer or any weizen...amazing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloKitty143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were booked in here as part of a tour. We paid extra to upgrade to Alte Tenne rooms but this was the worst room we had in two weeks touring Germany. The shower was so weak it was ridiculous. Also the soap dispenser in the shower was missing (broken) but the area where it should be / used to be was grungy and black with mould and hair. It was disgusting and we got the cleaner in the next morning to give it a scrub - I don't know how any one could have missed it.
NOISE was the biggest problem though - Saturday night was punctuated by drunken and boorish behaviour in the street outside on a periodic basis right through to 4 am. Then at 7.30 on a Sunday morning the extraordinarily inconsiderate housekeeping staff started chatting very loudly to each other as one worked in the corridor and the other in the laundry room.
The next night was quieter in the street but the housekeeping staff came and knocked at our door at 7.45 (why!).
The food in the Brewhouse was excellent as was the service. I would definitely eat here again but would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank transom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murnau
0.8 mi away
Alpenhof Murnau
Alpenhof Murnau
#1 of 5 in Murnau
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Angerbraeu
Hotel Angerbraeu
#3 of 5 in Murnau
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post Murnau
Hotel Post Murnau
#4 of 5 in Murnau
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Klausenhof am Park, Hotel garni
1.0 mi away
Gasthof zum Stern
Gasthof zum Stern
#1 of 1 in Seehausen am Staffelsee
43 reviews
7.9 mi away
Seehotel Grauer Baer
Seehotel Grauer Baer
#1 of 8 in Kochel am See
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griesbrau zu Murnau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griesbrau zu Murnau

Property: Griesbrau zu Murnau
Address: Obermarkt 37, 82418 Murnau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Murnau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Murnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Griesbrau zu Murnau 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Griesbrau zu Murnau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing