We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed... Reserve a spot on tour BEFORE arriving”
Review of Weihenstephan

Weihenstephan
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Freising
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
573 reviews
302 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Disappointed... Reserve a spot on tour BEFORE arriving”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

After multiple email conversations between the Weihenstephan and myself, we were unable to get a tour. The website says tours are Mon, Tues & Weds at 10am and Weds at 1:30, but they hire out for the tour guide. They need reservations for the tour set up with a minimum of 15 paying people and a max of 25 AHEAD by a few days at least or they don't run the tour. With our group coming from different locations at different times, I had confirmation for 15 on Monday at 10, but the brewery couldn't get a guide for that time. They offered another time, but it was too late for us to coordinate w/ the 15+ people. You CAN book the tour without 15 if you pay the fee for 15. They've got to cover their guide's fee.
I was disappointed I missed it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank OklahomaMomOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    42
    13
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Little Elm, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Get reservation for tour, Excellent food”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Missed the tour because I didn't reserve in time. Still made it here for lunch though. Ate in restaurant instead of beer garden. Started with the beer sampler which is excellent. Daughter and I had Finkenwerder style fish while my wife had ox cheeks. Excellent meal and service. Bought a cheap beer mug on the way out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A pilgimage for all beer drinkers”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Come see the oldest brewery in the world! Operating since 1040 they have been making great beer here in Freising at Weihenstephaner Brewery. A university has even built up around the brewery to create world class brew masters so it has a cool college town feel to it as well. Take a tour and relax afterwards at the beer garden. You can bet I will be back for Oktoberfest in 2040!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location to enjoy great beer”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I tried most of them!! And thoroughly excellent they all are. The vitus especially. The location is excellent (smack in the middle of the university grounds) employees of the university are allowed a large number of free crates every year. We went to the self service bar in the bier garten and the food was not to our taste. But who cares.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jayteacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great brewery just outside munich”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were staying close to the airport for an early flight out in the am, and knew this was close, so we stopped in. Apparently, this is the oldest brewery in the world! The grounds were nice, and the beer and food were excellent. Nice little find, just north of Munich!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chksrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weihenstephan also viewed

Freising, Upper Bavaria
Freising, Upper Bavaria
 
Freising, Upper Bavaria
Freising, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Weihenstephan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing