We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and good location by Munich Airport”
Review of Gasthof Lerner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gasthof Lerner
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Freising
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife had a very early flight out of Munich airport in October so we decided to find a place near the airport as Munich was too far away. Well, we discovered the town of Freising and the Gasthof Lerner. The hotel was only 15 minutes by car from the airport and it fit our needs. Stayed just one night, but found the hotel and our room quite comfortable, The staff was accommodating and helpful. The breakfast served was quite good with the usual food we had encountered on our trip--hard boiled eggs, ham, cheese, coffee, rolls, etc. Also, we ate at the hotel's restaurant for dinner and had a thoroughly enjoyable dinner, The restaurant was populated with locals from Freising and the serving staff were 2 delightful young women. We enjoyed our stay at the Gasthof Lerner and recommend it for anyone who needs a good, reasonable place to stay at near Munich Airport.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trip-Review01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Gasthof Lerner
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 71 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

We attended a graduation ceremony at the University and made our reservation a month ahead of time. On arrival the owner poked her head from behind the computer screen in the next room. "Right there," she said. When she came to the desk, she greeted us with, "Yes?" Not a friendly start. We went to our double room, and found a single bed and a settee. I returned to the desk and reported that I had specified a double room. At that moment, another new guest returned to the desk with the same complaint. The owner replied that all of the doubles in the hotel were furnished like this. We both expressed disbelief, but she accepted this lame explanation. My wife then arrived at the desk and expressed her amazement and disbelief. The owner finally agreed to give us another room. Surprise! It had a double bed. Her lie was exposed. Since our event was in two hours, so we had no reasonable alternative but to stay. The room was certainly not worth the 79 Euro charge. It was warm and humid. With no other ventilation, we had no choice but to open the street-side windows. I am a heavy sleeper but was still disturbed by continually awakened by the noise. The cheap spongy mattress made sleep difficult. The room was not nearly as tiny as the first, but it was Spartan, cheaply furnished and poorly lit. The bathroom was clean, but rather old and the toiletries were limited to watery, unpleasant-smelling, wall-dispenser soap. On the positive side, the breakfast was almost average.
At our event, we met other people staying at the hotel. It is hard to reconcile the unanimity of their displeasure with the favorable reports of the other Trip Advisor reviewers.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are very noisy. Perhaps those in the rear are not, but I do not know that.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I decided to spend the extra money on my second stay at Gasthof Lerner and get an ensuite room with a balcony (cost 55 Euros/night for 2 nights, including breakfast). The room was a nice size for a single, had a good TV, a modern and clean bathroom with soap dispenser, and comfortable bed. A nice-colored booklet in my language about Freising was on the table.

The Gasthof is efficiently run, as I had previously noticed the first time I stayed (3-4 years ago). As is often the case in Gasthofs in Germany, the same manager was present as before. The first time I stayed, I had to leave very early before breakfast, and she took off the cost of the breakfast, which I thought was very nice. The breakfast buffet was good, with plenty of meats, cheeses, eggs, breads, and other commonly-served items. I ate dinner in the restaurant one night, and it was delicious, with good service.

I chose this particular Gasthof because of the modest price. Compared to other accommodations of this quality located closer to the center of Freising, this one is much less expensive, and a bus stop is right across the street. Running every 15 minutes, it cost only 1-2 Euros to the train station. Then, one could switch to the bus to the airport for under 10 Euros. This certainly beats the 25-30 Euros it would have cost for a cab to the airport from Gasthof Lerner.

If you book through www.booking.com, all the rules are clear, and the cancellation policy is clearly spelled out, in this case, very liberal.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are toward the back; the street out front is busy and loud at rush hour. By the time...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuggeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Close to the International airport, with easy transport access. Very clean, good restauant. Best continental breakfast, included. Interesting town to visit. Comfortable, quiet rooms and friendly, courteous staff. Bicycle friendly.

Room Tip: Easily booked online, and all our emails were answered promptly and in english.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean. We stayed here our first night in Germany because we arrived late to the Munich airport. Very close to the Weihenstephan Brewery, a must for dinner and a fresh beer. The hotel also has a nice little biergarten.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfinney5646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

A clean and simple older Gasthof/Hotel close to the Munich airport. The room was quite basic, but more than adequate. They have wireless Internet and an elevator. We had to leave to catch a plane before breakfast was available, so we were given a discount on the rate.

The restaurant is closed on Sat and Sun; but they sent us to the BräuStüberl for the Weihenstephan Brewery, which is the oldest still operating brewery in the world - founded in 1040. The food was most excellent and reasonably priced.

Very much worthwhile for easy access to the Munich airport.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DUTCH_Van_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

My room was category 2 so it was very small but very clean. Bathroom was very clean maybe newly equipped. and a large balcony. the managing was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elmiray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freising hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#1 of 11 in Freising
175 reviews
1.7 mi away
Isar Hotel
Isar Hotel
#5 of 11 in Freising
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Munich Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Corbin Feng Shui Business Hotel
10.4 mi away
Hotel Pension Abenstal Garni
1.5 mi away
Mercure Munchen Freising Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Lerner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Lerner

Address: Voettinger Str. 60, 85354 Freising, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Freising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Freising
Price Range: $94 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Lerner 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gasthof Lerner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing