We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room and Service”
Review of Gasthof Lerner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gasthof Lerner
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Freising
Saginaw, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Room and Service”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I decided to spend the extra money on my second stay at Gasthof Lerner and get an ensuite room with a balcony (cost 55 Euros/night for 2 nights, including breakfast). The room was a nice size for a single, had a good TV, a modern and clean bathroom with soap dispenser, and comfortable bed. A nice-colored booklet in my language about Freising was on the table.

The Gasthof is efficiently run, as I had previously noticed the first time I stayed (3-4 years ago). As is often the case in Gasthofs in Germany, the same manager was present as before. The first time I stayed, I had to leave very early before breakfast, and she took off the cost of the breakfast, which I thought was very nice. The breakfast buffet was good, with plenty of meats, cheeses, eggs, breads, and other commonly-served items. I ate dinner in the restaurant one night, and it was delicious, with good service.

I chose this particular Gasthof because of the modest price. Compared to other accommodations of this quality located closer to the center of Freising, this one is much less expensive, and a bus stop is right across the street. Running every 15 minutes, it cost only 1-2 Euros to the train station. Then, one could switch to the bus to the airport for under 10 Euros. This certainly beats the 25-30 Euros it would have cost for a cab to the airport from Gasthof Lerner.

If you book through www.booking.com, all the rules are clear, and the cancellation policy is clearly spelled out, in this case, very liberal.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are toward the back; the street out front is busy and loud at rush hour. By the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuggeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    38
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
23
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Close to the International airport, with easy transport access. Very clean, good restauant. Best continental breakfast, included. Interesting town to visit. Comfortable, quiet rooms and friendly, courteous staff. Bicycle friendly.

Room Tip: Easily booked online, and all our emails were answered promptly and in english.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean. We stayed here our first night in Germany because we arrived late to the Munich airport. Very close to the Weihenstephan Brewery, a must for dinner and a fresh beer. The hotel also has a nice little biergarten.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfinney5646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

A clean and simple older Gasthof/Hotel close to the Munich airport. The room was quite basic, but more than adequate. They have wireless Internet and an elevator. We had to leave to catch a plane before breakfast was available, so we were given a discount on the rate.

The restaurant is closed on Sat and Sun; but they sent us to the BräuStüberl for the Weihenstephan Brewery, which is the oldest still operating brewery in the world - founded in 1040. The food was most excellent and reasonably priced.

Very much worthwhile for easy access to the Munich airport.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DUTCH_Van_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2010

My room was category 2 so it was very small but very clean. Bathroom was very clean maybe newly equipped. and a large balcony. the managing was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmiray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freising
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#1 of 11 in Freising
165 reviews
1.7 mi away
Isar Hotel
Isar Hotel
#3 of 11 in Freising
71 reviews
1.2 mi away
Munich Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Corbin Feng Shui Business Hotel
1.9 mi away
Am Klostergarten
Am Klostergarten
#7 of 11 in Freising
23 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Munich Airport
Hilton Munich Airport
#29 of 382 in Munich
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Lerner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Lerner

Property: Gasthof Lerner
Address: Voettinger Str. 60, 85354 Freising, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Freising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Freising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Lerner 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Gasthof Lerner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing