We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class for a 3 star.”
Review of Hotel Ochsen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ochsen
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Uberlingen
Reviewed July 18, 2014

When you find a hotel online you do wonder how good it really is. Well, we arrived at the Ochsen Hotel and were very pleasantly surprised at the general decor and of the standard of cleaniness. Our rooms had a balcony over the courtyard and we had no noise that affected us. The bed was very comfortable - the room large and airy with very up-to-date ensuite. It was just a stones throw from the lake which made it ideal for our early morning trips on the ferries. Our rooms were made up each day with fresh towels etc.
I wish that some of our English hotels could see what they are up against for a fraction of the price charged!

Room Tip: ask for room 201
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ochsen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 43 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights 2 weeks ago and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We arrived and was greeted by a lovely receptionist who showed us where to park free of charge and we then took the lift to the second floor to our room. it had a side view of the lake and road. There was little noise except on the night Germany won a match in the world cup!!! We didn't use the lift except to take our case up because there was a wide grand staircase with huge landings that we appreciated. From the 1st floor you can get out onto a shared balcony with seats to enjoy the sun. We liked Uberlingen with all it's restaurants and the ferries. We visited Meersburg and Maineau island easily on the ferry. You could spend all day on the island as the gardens are extensive. The breakfasts were good and we enoiyed 1 dinner sat in the garden

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Hotel Ochsen is a traditional German hotel in historic Uberlingen, run by the same family for more than 100 years. Excellent central location; garage for bicycles, Wifi, very nice breakfast included. Hotel also provides good sized guest lounge/library with computer; lots of stairs might be a problem for some visitors; nice little supermarket across the street for wine, snacks, picnic lunch etc.
We started with a small but reasonably priced room and had planned to stay just overnight. But due to unforeseen circumstances, we decided to stay 2 more days and moved to a larger room with a balcony (an expensive treat) with lovely views of street/ square/ lake/town. Our only disappointment was the one evening we ate in the hotel dining room, overpriced and not to our taste.
This is a very popular area for German tourists in the summer and is often fully booked with visitors who return annually; destination for walking, cycling, touring, boat tours, wineries, spas… Nice place to visit, but we probably won’t be back. Recommend? Maybe.

Room Tip: room with balcony is lovely!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JML544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My long return nothing to do with the hotel, the staff where very helpful and welcoming. The evening meal in the restaurant was good, I had a single room which was a good size and well kept. Hotel is on the main street but only open to pedestrians, Uberlingen is a good base to start from, I went to the Insell Mainau which is a ferry ride away, Lindua Island which was a very good day out and I had a day in the town (Uberlingen) which I enjoyed. I was a little unlucky with the weather but still saw all that I wanted, only there for 3 nights but worth it.

Room Tip: My room looked out over the main pedestrian way, I was on the 2nd floor but no issues with noise
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

On our way home driving from Italy we stopped at Lake Constance and the town of Uberlingen, had not booked and just picked this hotel as it had parking. Very pleasant one nights stay, easy walking distant to the lake, staff were very helpful. Hotel established we believe in the late 1800's nice feel with modern rooms and good breakfast. They had their own private car park across the road which was helpful for us. Hotel has a lift.
One small niggle, bigger towels please.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wenwud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Comfortable hotel within easy walking distance of the lake and good shopping in Uberlingen. Immaculately clean and well serviced room although a little small in the bathroom. A tiny bit noisy at night, but as it was after the German v Italy football match, can only blame noisy Italians for celebrating well into the night - and then a huge thunderstorm... followed by a nightingale singing at 4.30 in the morning - which was a joy.
Excellent breakfast and quiet efficient service by all staff. Free parking in hotel car park.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for room at side of the hotel not overlooking the road - although exceptional circumstance...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 89BeeW89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Laurence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uberlingen hotels
1.0 mi away
Parkhotel St. Leonhard
Parkhotel St. Leonhard
#2 of 21 in Uberlingen
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bad-Hotel
Bad-Hotel
#1 of 21 in Uberlingen
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seegarten
Hotel Seegarten
#7 of 21 in Uberlingen
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Burgerbrau
Hotel Restaurant Burgerbrau
#3 of 21 in Uberlingen
52 reviews
1.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Johanniter-Kreuz
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Garni
Hotel Alpenblick Garni
#8 of 21 in Uberlingen
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ochsen

Address: Muensterstr. 48, 88662 Uberlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Uberlingen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Uberlingen
Price Range: $98 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ochsen 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing