We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Uberlingen
Darlington England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for two nights on our Summer Holiday. Room 20 on the 1st floor near to the side entrance which was only a few yards away from the lakeside promenade...very pretty.
Room was spacious immaculately clean and with a very large bathroom containing shower,toilet and wash basin. No bath if you like a soak which didnt bother us.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Didnt eat in the hotel other than breakfast which was very good and in a beautiful dining room, but the restaurant always seemed to be full at night.No parking at the hotel so you had to pull up outside, unload your luggage and then take the car to a multi storey car park about 15 minutes walk away but for which the hotel give a discounted rate for guests...5 Euros per night. Didnt have a problem but it could be a bit of a hassle for some guests...older/families with young children. Paid 104 Euros per night for bed and breakfast which for the standard of the hotel I thought was very good.
Uberlingen is a very pretty harbour town with plenty going on. We had a trip to nearby Meersburg...caught the bus at the station near the multi storey car park, about a twenty minute ride and about6 euros I think. Meersburg was very pretty and worth a visit.
Overall, a very enjoyable stay at this lovely hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wood-burners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
154 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is just off the lakeside promenade, and a short walk away from both the centre and the park and Bodensee Therme. The only minus point is that their reserved parking spaces have been moved from the nearby West parking to Stadtmitte, following a fire in the West parking. This is only a 5-6 minutes walk, but you are advised to just park in front on the sidewalk to unload your luggage, get a parking chipcard from the hotel and then go to the parking. Leave your warning blinkers on and you will have no problems with the local police. Same procedure in reverse for checking out.

Rooms are clean and spacious, flatscreen TV has many German but only two English-language channels, prices of minibar are surprisingly reasonable. Pillows are thin so don't hesitate to ask for more if you need extra neck support. There is a sauna (free of charge) that we didn't use because you have to notify an hour in advance as that is the time for it to heat up. Didn't really need it as the Bodensee Therme with 5 saunas and 1 steambath is nearby.

We booked a package deal that included half-pension (breakfast & dinner), a day ticket for the Therme and 2 nights. Good value for money. Breakfast was good with sufficient choices, dinner consisted of a 4-course menu where you had 4 choices of main course including a vegetarian main course. Soup, starter and dessert were fixed but staff was flexible if you get my drift ;)

The quality of the food was good to very good, the only problem we noticed was an excessive use of salt on some dishes, especially on the french fries that were served pre-salted. I would recommend that you ask for unsalted fries with salt on the side. Portions are German size so big. Staff is helpful and speaks English well. You will know when Gabriela is on duty ;)

Note: Hotel doesn't take credit cards, but there are ATMs from the Sparkasse and Volksbank nearby, and also a Deutsche Bank ATM near Stadtmitte parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2008

While on a three week holiday in Germany we knew we wanted to stay on the Bodensee (Lake Constance) and we drove into town and located this little Gem! I would recommend anyone looking for a spectacular little inn with fantastic food and staff to stay here! This was truly a wonderful choice! Great location, good walking, perfect for photographers wanting to capture a great little German village feeling! We could not say enough about how wonderful our stay was! Fantastic linens on the beds too!

  • Liked — The overall feeling you got when you walked in the door!
  • Disliked — The tiny shower...
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank islandgirlpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2006

web site: [--]

Subject: Hotel Schapfle
Location: Uberlingen, Germany
Title: Wonderful hotel-restaurant only steps from the promenade


We stayed at this 3 to 4 star otel on a bike tour around Lake
Constance. The hotel, above a very wonderful and popular restaurant, had a cozy
but large lobby and clean, modern rooms finished in a lot of pine wood
and pine furniture. The hotel was one of the best of our trip and just
steps from the people packed promenade but up a small pedestrian alley
where you leave the crowds of the cafe lined waters edge. Some rooms
may have a lake view but ours was on a main street one block off the lake
shore but it was absolutely quiet in the room. The hotel restaurant was
very reasonanble and tremendous regional food. The restaurant was
filled with locals as well as a big tour group from Germany.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank parrybike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uberlingen hotels
0.1 mi away
Bad-Hotel
Bad-Hotel
#1 of 21 in Uberlingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Parkhotel St. Leonhard
Parkhotel St. Leonhard
#3 of 21 in Uberlingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seegarten
Hotel Seegarten
#8 of 21 in Uberlingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Burgerbrau
Hotel Restaurant Burgerbrau
#2 of 21 in Uberlingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cafe Restaurant Mokkas
Hotel Cafe Restaurant Mokkas
#13 of 21 in Uberlingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Johanniter-Kreuz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle

Property: Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle
Address: Jakob-Kessenring-Str. 12-14, 88662 Uberlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Uberlingen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Uberlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing