We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
85
96
35
13
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
85
96
35
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite black forest there is no air conditioning breakfast and dinner overlooking the lake lakeview bath
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 241 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

DO NOT GET NEAR! This is a tourist trap! A very unpleasant hotel and service and most of all they had us book TWO ROOMS with saying there is no room for an extra bed. At the morning we discovered that each room has a built in DOUBLE extra bed. While bringing this up they said it's a matter of hotel "policy" and that they have a footage of saying it in advance. Asking to see that footage they said the service Manager is suddenly not around and insisted on getting full paid for two ROOMS. This is the first time we encounter such a behaviour of a German hotel. We will also address the German tourist ministry Do yourself a huge favour - GO To OTHER Place!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Tomer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

We found the hotel in tripadvisor. We booked directly at the hotel. We reserved 2 rooms seven months ahead - one Compfort rooms with lakeview for 2 adults and one Family Junior Suite for 2 adults and 2 children. We requested in the reservation that the rooms will be close to each other, but when we arrived to the hotel we found that our rooms were far from each other. We asked to move, but a closer room was not available. The hotel requested a 50% prepayment to be done by bank transfer one month before arrival (no credit card accepted for prepayment) and I had to pay all bank costs (in my country and in Germany) which does not seem fair to me. Some of the details in tripadvisor were wrong: there is no air conditioning in the rooms (and it was hot in the room) and the parking is not free. Location and breakfast are very good. Rooms are very nice. Maintenance level of rooms was relatively poor (many lamps were not functioning in the Junior Suite). Hotel staff is polite and helpful. The main thing that negatively affected our overall hotel experience was the fact that in one of our first nights when we returned to the hotel after a long day, at about 9 PM, we found that our room was not cleaned that day (beds, towels, floor, etc). The hotel had no solution for that - We called reception but they have no cleaning service at night. We went to sleep angry in a very expensive hotel in an unclean room. I asked to talk to the hotel manager. I could not reach her in any way, and all the answers I received from her were through messengers. She offered a compensation of 10% of the price of that night, which I thought was not enough. I transferred the message to her, but again could not reach her - very annoying and not acceptable. My final bill reflected only these 10%.
In general the hotel is too expensive for what it gives.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moshego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

It’s expensive - €350 per night including food and it was irritating to be charged to park there. We also had to wait until 3:00 pm for our room.
The location is excellent and the food (breakfast and dinner) very good and the friendly and helpful staff an asset.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Rodcambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018

Why don't more English people visit the Southern Black Forest? It is beautiful and Brugger's hotel is fantastic.

We had a small suite - it was huge! One big bedroom with a bathroom bigger than a lot of hotel rooms; a dressing area with lots of wardrobe space and proper coat hangers and a large balcony with a wonderful lake view. The bed would have easily slept four! The room was well furnished with all sorts of tables and chairs and sunbeds and a large TV. Free mineral water and coke were left each day in our fridge.

The bathroom was amazing. A large bath, a separate shower area, two large wash basins, toilet and bidet - and the plumbing was perfect. You couldn't even hear the toilet flush from the bedroom.

The whole front wall was a Patio window, which filled the room with light and you could lie in bed and see the beautiful view. Once the doors and curtains were closed everything was so quiet.

The staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was superb.

Of course, there were a few very minor things which were not perfect but they did not distract from our five star enjoyment of this establishment.

Room tip: The more expensive rooms are best.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle-Nazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017

This hotel did not meet expectation or price. The room was pleasant but quite small. Next time we will book on the lakefront. The restaurant was also overpriced for average food. Overall we were disappointed and our 3xpectations were not met.

Date of stay: June 2017
Thank michellesI7648AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews